New York City is divided between two Catholic dioceses.  

The Archdiocese of New York consists of :
Staten Island
Manhattan Island
(as well as several upstate counties)

The Diocese of Brooklyn consists of :
(and prior to 1957 it also included Nassau and Suffolk Counties, 
which are now part of the Diocese of Rockville Centre.) 

The Chancellor of the Diocese of Brooklyn is 
Fr. Andrew Vaccari
75 Greene Avenue
P.O. Box C
Brooklyn, NY  11202
phone 718-399-5900.

Anyone wishing information regarding the
appropriate parish of record for parishes in the 
Archdiocese of New York
should contact its archives as follows:

Archdiocese of New York
St. Joseph's Seminary
201 Seminary Ave.
Yonkers NY 11704

Researchers should also be made aware that prior to 1898 
New York City referred only to Manhattan Island.
(and, in the late 1800's, a section of what is now the Bronx which it had annexed.)  
Until 1898 Brooklyn was an independent city entirely separate from New York City.

For contact information regarding the Archdiocese of New York,
I suggest that you contact :

Director of the Archbishop Hughes Archives and Heritage Center.  
All queries should be directed to :

Sr. Marguerita Smith, O. P. at St. Joseph's Seminary in Yonkers.  

If individuals are not satisfied with the response they receive, 
they should put their complaint in writing to the :

Chancellor of the Archdiocese of New  York 
1011 First Avenue, 
New York NY

For Nassau and Suffolk, contact :
Jean Wassong of the Rockville Centre Diocese at

They are better equipped to tell you how their diocese would
prefer to handle genealogy requests.

Back To WORSHIP Main