enter name and hit return
LONG ISLAND - NOTABLE FAMILIES
Nassau & Suffolk Counties
** Names listed here are inquiries from the Main Index Page
Long Island NOTABLE FAMILIES Index of Names
ABBOTT, Thomas P.
There was a time when Thomas P. Abbott was known as "The Child Magician" and
walked the vaudeville boards from coast to coast one of the most successful
and popular performers in that medium. But long before the vogue for
vaudeville waned. Mr. Abbott had deserted the theater for the field in which
he has so successfully operated since, real estate. To this field he has,
brought the charm and personality which won him acclaim on the stage, and
from the theatrical world too he brought a style of advertising appropriate
to his personality and unique in the real estate world. As Tom Abbott he is
headquartered at Merrick, but he is known throughout the South Shore and
indeed all of Long Island as a real estate man, a Lion, a lay churchman and
a Democratic party leader.
Mr. Abbott was born at Millville, New Jersey, on July 31, 1889, the son of
Harmon J. and Mary (Branon) Abbott, both also natives of that New Jersey
community and both now deceased. The elder Mr. Abbott was also a stage
magician and it was from him that the young Tom Abbott learned the
sleight-of-hand and the legerdemain which earned him the soubriquet of "The
Child Magician." Before he began to give full time to a stage career, Tom
Abbott went to elementary school in his native millville, then to high
school at Camden, New Jersey.
In 1934 Mr. Abbott came to Long Island and opened a real estate office in
Bellmore. After six years he transferred the business to Merrick, where, as
has been noted, the name of Tom Abbott has been made synonymous with a
unique and arresting style of advertising.
He is married to the former Maude E. Schuler of Colorado. There are four
children, William , Thomas, Robert, now a partner with his father in the
real estate business, and Mrs. Dorothy Abbott Johnson. The three sons are
also married. There are eight grandchildren.
Name of Requester: Bonnie Ames
ALBERTSON, Albert W.
Like his father before him, Albert W. Albertson was a native of
Southhold, Suffolk County, and spent his whole life there, successful in
business, active in political, religious and social life, honored by public
trust and faithful in the discharge of office.
The late William Conklin Albertson established a grocery business in
Southold about seventy-five years ago and became one of the substantial
merchants of that village. He also participated in banking affairs, and for
much of his lifetime he was a trustee of the Southold Savings Bank. By force
of character no less than by virtue of his reputation as a successful
business man, William Conklin Albertson became one of the leading men and
most respected citizens of his community. He married Jennie Wells, and they
were the parents of Albert W. Albertson, born at Southold on September 7, 1882.
Educated in the public grade and high schools of Southold, Albert W.
Albertson completed his studies at Hudson River Institute before entering
business in his native town, as a painting contractor. From 1900 to 1916,
this was his occupation, but in the latter year he established a grocery and
provision business, which he owned and managed with eminent success for
upwards of thirty years. Like his father he was a trustee of the Southold
Savings Bank, and was vice president and a member of the board of directors
of the Bank of Southold. Mr. Albertson also had an interest in the Suffolk
County Mutual Insurance Company, and was a member of its board of directors.
In politics a member of the Republican party, and a member of the
Suffolk County Republican Committee for more than a quarter of a century,
Albert W. Albertson accepted the responsibilities of public office, serving
for more than seventeen years as welfare officer of the town of Southold,
and also holding the position of chairman of the board of education of the
Southold public school. If in business, in politics and in public service
the Albertsons were accustomed to sticking for a long while to whatever they
undertook or to whatever they gave their allegiance, the same thing held
true in matters of religion and in fraternal affairs. Albert W. Albertson
had been a lifelong member of the Presbyterian Church; and fraternally was
affiliated for forty-two years with the Southold Lodge, Independent Order of
Odd Fellows, in which he was a Past Noble Grand.
On September 14, 1904 Albert W. Albertson married Genevieve Phillips
Merwin, at Cutchogue. Genevieve (Merwin) Albertson is a daughter of James
Cannon Merwin, a native of New Haven, Connecticut, and of his wife, Florence
(Jennings) Merwin, who was born at Aquebogue, Suffolk County. Mr. and Mrs.
Albertson became the parents of seven children: 1. Jennie Wells, born July
1, 1905, at Southhold; married LeRoy Hammond, of Greenport, Suffolk County.
2. Marion Merwin, born October 16, 1906; married Harold Daniel Winters, of
Southhampton and has three children ; Harold Daniel, Richard Albertson, and
Gary Thomas Winters; a fourth child Peter Rogers is deceased. 3. Flora
Eveleyn, born April 22, 1908; married (first) Russell P. Silleck, who died
February 22, 1938; married (second)June 20. 1942, Walter F. Luce. By her
first marriage, she is the mother of Betty Albertson, Barbara Ann, and
Walter Russell Silleck. 4. William Corey, born August 25, 1909; married
Elizabeth Havens Tasker, of Greenport, and they have two children: Joan
Ethel and Chester Rich. 5. Pauline Alberta, born October 22, 1913 married,
June 5,1937, Charles F. Guilloz, of Southampton, and they have two children:
Charles F.V. and Gerard Albertson Guilloz. During World War II, Mr. Guilloz
enlisted in the United States Navy, saw service in the Aleutian Islands, and
held the rank of chief warrant officer. 6. Lester Merwin, born September 17,
1918; for five years, including World War II, he was a member of the United
States Army, holding the rank of master sergeant; served overseas for one
year and was awarded the Bronze Star for gallantry in action; married Hope
L. Meredith, of Peconic, Suffolk County, and they have a daughter, Nan
Elizabeth. 7. Albert Wells, Jr., born October 8, 1928; he enlisted in the
United States Navy, in February 1946, and since his honorable discharge is
now at home.
ALKER, Henry A.
Mr. Alker is president and a director of the Port Washington Safe
Deposit and Storage Company and the Manhasset
Safe Deposit and Storage Company.
Mr. Alker was born at Great Neck on July 5, 1886, the son of Alphonse
H. and Florence A. (Ward) Alker. Both parents, now deceased, were born in
New York City. The elder Mr. Alker was a lawyer.
Henry Alker was graduated from Yale University in 1907. He has been
president of the Port Washington National Bank and Trust Company and of the
two safe deposit and storage companies since 1934. In addition, he is a
director of the Northern Insurance Company of New York and the Assurance
Company of America, as well as the Long Island Lighting Company.
A veteran of World War I, he always has been active in the Port
Washington Post, No. 509, American Legion, of which he is a former
commander, in World War II he was chairman of Selective Service Board No.
714 and of the board's re-employment committee. In another phase of his
activities, the health and welfare field, he is a member and secretary of
the board of managers of Meadowbrook Hospital. Mr. Alker's other
affiliations are with the Yale Club of New York City, the Cedar Creek Club,
the Havana Country Club and the Manhasset Bay Yacht Club. Sailing is his hobby.
Mr. Alker married Charity M. Rose, daughter of Andrew W. and Emma
(Hayward) Rose, in New YorkCity, in 1908. They are the parents of two
children and the grandparents of four-their sons being: 1. Henry A., Jr.,
who serviced in the Navy in World War II, and is the father of Susan E. 2.
Hayward R., graduate of Yale, class of 1936, who was a lieutenant senior
grade in the Navy in World War II, and is the father of Hayward R., Jr.,
Henry A., III, and Charity E.
BAUMANN, C. Arthur
Born at Richmond Hill, Borough of Queens, New York City, on February 21,
1910, being thus a native Long Islander, C. Arthur Baumann, after completing
his elementary schooling, attended the Borough Hall Academy in the Borough
of Brooklyn, receiving there an excellent grounding in commercial subjects,
and graduating with the class of 1929. In the following year he took his
first employment, with the Prudence Company of New York, and with this
investment corporation he remained for some seven years. In 1937 Mr. Baumann
joined the Stirling Bank and Mortgage Company of Mineola, Nassau County, in
an executive capacity, and was also elected to membership on the board of
directors of that financial institution. He remained with the Stirling Bank
and Mortgage concern until October, 1945. During World War II he became a
member of the New York State Guard, holding the rank of a lieutenant and
being connected with the headquarters battalion of the Fifth Brigade,
stationed at the armory in Jamaica, Borough of Queens. He continued to serve
in the State Guard from 1942 to some time in 1945. In October 1945, Mr.
Baumann became president of the Sag Harbor Savings Bank, in the Suffolk
County village of that name. He also sits on the board of directors of this
bank, and must be considered an important figure in banking affairs in that
wealthy area of prosperous and ever-growing Suffolk County. He is a member
of the Sag Harbor Round Table Club. He is also a member of the local school
board and of the Episcopal Church of Sag Harbor, and his fraternal
affiliation is with a unit of the Free and Accepted Masons in his native
Richmond Hill. At Richmond Hill also, on June 25, 1931, C. Arthur Baumann
married Elizabeth L. Weil of that place, a daughter of William H. and Clara
(Oesting) Weil. Of this marriage the children are: (1) Alice M., who was
born at Richmond Hill on April 28, 1933. She is now a student at St. Mary's
Academy in Sag Harbor. (2) Eileen W., born at St. Albans, New York, on
January 4, 1937. (3) Mary J., born at St. Albans, on May 22, 1942. Eileen
W. and Mary J. attend the Pitkin School at Sag Harbor.
BELL, M.D., Albert M.
One of the older physicians of Long Island who was active in practice
and fully abreast of all developments of medical science, was Albert M.
Bell, M.D. of Sea Cliff. During more than thirty-three years in that
community, Dr. Bell, while acquiring a very extensive practice and earning
the gratitude of a host of patients, participated in many phases of social
as well as professional life.
Dr. Bell's father, the late Charles W. Bell, was a native of City
Island, New York, who came to Glen Head on Long Island in 1891 and
established a general store. At that time Long Island was for the most part
as rural an area as one could find in all the state, and Charles W. Bell
dealt largely in feed and other merchandise appropriate to an age when two
horse power meant two horses in the shafts of a wagon, and to an area where
crops grew and cattle browsed over the acres which were not yet cut up into
subdivisions and building lots. Bell's store became known for miles around,
and Charles W. Bell was an important and popular man in the community, whose
appointment as postmaster by President William McKinley in 1898 was
gratifying to the people of Glen Head. Mr. Bell held that office for many
years, and upon his retirement was the oldest postmaster on Long Island in
point of years of service.
Charles W. Bell married Eliza Jane Corner, who is now also deceased.
Of this marriage Albert M. Bell was born at City Island on November 26,
1885. His schooling began on Long Island, in the public schools of Sea
Cliff, and continued at the Boys High School in Brooklyn. Having early
decided on a career in medicine, he entered the Medical College of Cornell
University, from which he received his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1908.
After an internship at the Methodist Hospital in Brooklyn, the young
physician set up in practice in that borough of New York City in 1910, but
on April 1, 1913, he removed to Sea Cliff, where he has continued in
practice , eminently successful and highly respected by professional
colleagues and laymen alike. Dr. Bell engaged in a general practice.
Dr. Bell was one of the founders of the old Community Hospital in Glen
Cove, and later was likewise an organizer of the present North Country
Community Hospital. From the inception of this hospital until 1945 Dr. Bell
was chief of obstetrics. In 1946 he became president of the Nassau County
Obstetrics Society. Since 1921, when the Nassau County Sanatorium for
patients afflicted with tuberculosis was founded, he was a member of the
board of directors of that institution. For more than twenty-five years he
was attending physician at the Country Home for Convalescent Babies at Sea
Cliff. Dr. Bell's other professional affiliations included membership in the
Nassau County Medical Association, the New York State Medical Association
and the American Medical Association.
As a member of the Glen Cove Rotary Club, Dr. Bell participated in the
civic affairs of that section of Long Island, and he enjoyed the
recreational and sporting facilities of the Brookville Country Club and the
Sea Cliff Yacht Club, in both of which he held membership. He was long a
member of the Methodist church and interested in its good works, and
politics he was a supporter of the Republican party.
On July 28, 1910, Albert M. Bell was married to Isabel R. Chellborg,
of Sea Cliff, New York, a daughter of C. Sackett and Alice (Lane) Chellborg.
Mrs. Bell is a member of the Seawanhaka Chapter of the Daughters of the
American Revolution. To Albert M. and Isabel R. (Chellborg) Bell, five
children were born:
1. Albert M., Jr., who answered the call to the colors in the second
World War, becoming a first lieutenant of infantry in the United States
Army, and serving overseas in the European Theater of Operations. He is
married to the former Dorothy Stell, of Sea Cliff and they are the parents
of one child, Kathy. 2. Ward S., who married Lucille Darrah, of Brooklyn,
by whom he is the father of two daughters, Nancy Isabel and Barbara Lane.
3. Constance L., music supervisor, New Canaan Country Day School at New
Canaan, Connecticut. 4. Charles F., who during World War II joined the
United States Navy and served as a chief pharmacist's mate in the Pacific
theater of war. He is married to the former Castine Swanson of Boston,
Massachusetts, and they have two children, Vicki and Roger Albert. 5. John
M., who is a doctor of dental surgery. During the recent war he joined the
United States Army, being commissioned a first lieutenant, and serving in
the United States and in the Pacific Theater of Operations. He is now
established in practice at Sea Cliff. Dr. John M. Bell is married to the
former Jane Doran of Geneva, New York. Dr. A.M. Bell died July 19, 1946.
Barbara Bell (requester)
BLAKELOCK, Chester Reeve
Mr. Blakelock has held the post of executive secretary for nearly ten
years, of the Long Island Park Commission, which under the leadership of
Robert Moses, has contributed much to making Long Island one of the favorite
playgrounds of America. Mr. Blakelock is a grandson of the late Ralph Albert
Blakelock, who was one of the most admired of American landscape artists,
and a son of Carl E. Blakelock. Born at Springfield, Massachusetts, on
November 30, 1907, Chester Reeve Blakelock spent some of his boyhood years
at Catskill, Greene County, New York, where he graduated from high school.
He attended St. John's University. In 1925 Mr. C. R. Blakelock entered the
service of the Department of Public Works of the State of New York, being
situated in the Albany office of that department. Employed until 1930, when
he first became associated with the Long Island State Park Commission, in
the engineering Department. In 1932 appointed he was appointed to the
position of contract engineer, and at the same time he served as special
assistant to the commission's counsel and as executive secretary of the
commission. These several combined duties he discharged until February,
1938, he was appointed to executive secretary. Officially stationed in
Babylon and residing in that same Suffolk County village, he participates in
local affairs as a member of the Babylon Lions Club, also member of the
Babylon Yacht Club. At Catskill, Greene County, New York, on April 5, 1931,
Chester Reeve Blakelock married Marjorie DuBois Goodrich, a daughter of Dr.
Frederick W. and Gertrude (DuBois) Goodrich. Two children have been born of
this union. (1) Chester Reeve, Jr., on April 7, 1932. (2) Frederick
Goodrich, on February 17, 1940.
Mr. Boettjer is now since 1926 general superintendent of the Long Island
State Park Commission, with headquarters in Belmont Lake State Park,
Babylon. In this work he is associated with Arthur E. Howland. Mr. Herman
Boettjer was born in New York City on July 15, 1888, and began his education
there. Completed high school in 1906. He attended the Famed Cooper Union
Institute until 1910. He graduated with a degree of Bachelor of Science in
civil engineering. Immediately thereafter Mr. Boettjer accepted appointment
as engineer in charge of surveys, design and construction for the New York
State Highway Department. In 1922 he was promoted to county assistant
engineer in charge of state highway construction and maintenance work in
eight easterly towns of suffolk County. This position he held until 1926.Mr.
Boettjer is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Knights of
Columbus, and in both of these he is past secretary. He is also a member of
the Rotary Club of Babylon. With his family he worships at the Church of St.
Joseph, Roman Catholic, in Babylon. Mr. Boettjer and Helen Earley were
married in New York City on June 26, 1912. They are the parents of six
children: Joseph H., born 1913; Charles J., born 1915; Arthur F., born
1917; Robert L., born 1922; William J., born 1925; and Helen J., born 1930.
BROGLIO, Frank L.
In a field of public entertainment where only continuing excellence is
rewarded with success, Frank L. Broglio carries into the second generation
of his family a talent and skill which have won high reputation. As owner
and operator of the Swan Club obn Shore Road, Glenwood Landing, he directs
an enterprise that is duplicating the outstanding fame of his earlier
establishment, the Plandome Garden Restaurant at Manhasset.
Mr. Broglio is the son of Benjamin and Martha (Pitti) Broglio, both natives
of Italy and both deceased. His father was a restaurant owner at West Park,
Ulster County, New York, and it was in this atmosphere that Frank L. Broglio
was reared. Born at Val d'Acosta, Italy, March 15, 1901, he came to the
United States in 1919, having received public and high school educational
training in Italy. Until 1928 he was employed in various New York City
hotels, gaining the background of experience and knowledge in this branch of
catering to the public that has been the sound foundation of his later
accomplishments. For five years thereafter he operated his own restaurant,
located uptown in New York City; but in 1933 transferred the scene of his
activities to the growing suburban area of Long Island. In that year he
opened the Plandome Garden Restaurant in Manhasset, which became known the
world over for its famous food, during the ensuing fourteen years of Mr.
Broglio's management. it became a Long island Institution that gained and
held the patronage of many of the noted families of the region, and under
approval of this type won an enviable reputation that attracted a large
resident and traveling clientele. It was a landmark in the dining-out field,
and until 1947 Mr. Broglio guided it to a repute that made it known to world
travellers for the finest in food, service, and decor, with the element of
personal interest and consideration that transforms a restaurant into a
favorite eating place.
Since 1947 Mr. Broglio has owned and conducted the Swan Club on Shore Road,
Glenwood Landing, which has become as popular as his earlier venture.on the
former Plandome Garden site in Manhasset, Mr. Broglio has completed the
building of eleven stores of modern design and thus has made a further
contribution to the building of the modern community of Manhasset. He
manifests great interest in all activities for the benefit of the community.
He is a member of the Manhasset Chamber of Commerce, and of the Kiwanis Club
of Manhasset. A member of the Masonic order, Mr. Broglio's lodge is Paumanok
No. 855, of Great Neck.
In New York City, April 19, 1924, Frank L. Broglio married Lillian Glauda, a
resident of that city, and daughter of Charles and Clementina Glauda. Of
this marriage there are two children: 1. Eligio L., who served during World
War II as pilot in the United States Army Air Forces. He is married to
Barbara Sommerville and they have one child, Beverly. 2. Evelyn, now a
student at Skidmore College.
Laura A. Glauda (requester)
Anyone researching the "GLAUDA" surname, please contact the above.
CERMAK, Joseph W.
For years Joseph W. Cermak has served his fellow citizens in various
public offices. Now town clerk of Huntington, he is a former postmaster of
the village of East Northport and justice of the peace of Huntington. He was
also a member of the District No. 4 Board of Education, at Northport. Mr.
Cermak served in the Seabees in World War II.
He was born in New York City on June 9, 1898, the son of Charles and
Anna (Grimm) Cermak. His father, who died some years ago, was a merchant.
Mr. Cermak was educated in the public schools of New York City and in
the Mechanics Institute there. In 1917 he came to Long Island and entered
the construction field at Huntington. He remained in this industry for ten
years. From 1927 to 1936 he was postmaster for the Village of East
Northport. In 1936 he was elected justice of the peace in Huntington, and
held this office until 1940, when he returned to the construction field. For
the next three years he participated in an ambitious program of building
homes and developing large areas of East Northport. In October, 1943, Mr.
Cermak entered the United States Navy's construction battalion as a chief
carpenter's mate. He remained in the navy until July, 1945. The following
November he was elected to his present office, town clerk of the Town of
Huntington. He was on the District No. 4 Board of Education from 1933 until
Mr. Cermak is past master of Alcyone Lodge, No. 695, Ancient Free and
Accepted Masons, at Northport and a member of the Lions' Club of East
Northport. With his family he attends the Methodist church.
He married Pauline Scharble, of East Northport, and to this marriage
Ann Cermak was born in 1926. Ann, a graduate of the Northport High School,
was attending Pratt Institute in Brooklyn in 1947. Mrs. Pauline Cermak died
in 1939. Mr. Cermak remarried in 1941, his second wife being the former
Adele Baker, of Northport. They are the parents of Adele, born in Huntington
in July, 1942.
COLLINS, Henry John Alderton
Judge Collins has been a resident of Seaford, for more than forty-five years.
He is a son of Henry Alderton and Sarah Martin Collins, his father having been
engaged in real estate and construction operations with offices in New York City.
Judge Collins was born on April 23, 1895, at Hoboken, New Jersey, where his parents
lived for about one year. He resides in the home purchased by his father at Seaford,
where his grandfather Henry A. Collins settled and where his father resided, and he
and his children now reside, making four generations in the one homestead. After
beginning his education in the public schools of the borough of Manhattan, New York City,
the young Henry John Alderton Collins attended preparatory school at Culver, Indiana,
where he was in the class of 1914. From Culver he went to Dartmouth College at Hanover,
New Hampshire, from which he received his degree of Bachelor of Arts as of the class
of 1918, having served in World War I. With his ambition set upon a career in the law,
he enrolled in the Law School of Columbia University in New York City, where he received
his Bachelor of Laws degree in 1923.
Upon being admitted to the bar, Mr. Collins entered the law offices of the Hon.
Samuel Seabury in New York. This was in 1923, and Mr. Collins was accepted as a
junior member of the staff of this eminent jurist on the recommendation of the
Hon. Harlan Fiske Stone, at that time Dean of the Columbia University School of Law,
and later Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court until his death in 1946.
Mr. Collins was associated in the general practice of the law with Judge Seabury for
a period of more than thirteen years, from 1923 until some time in 1937, and during
this time he participated in many important trials. He was an assistant counsel in
the investigation of the magistrates' courts of the city of New York, conducted
under an order of the Appellate Division of the supreme Court, First Department, in
New York City, and he was an associate counsel in the investigation of the office of
the district attorney of New York County under the commission given Judge Samuel Seabury
for that purpose by the Governor of the state of New York.
At the outbreak of the first World War in 1917, Henry John Alderton Collins,
having completed two and a half years of his college studies, enlisted in the armed
forces. He attended the first officer's training camp at Plattsburg, New York, from
which he was commissioned a second lieutenant of field artillery. Going overseas with
the 77th Division of the American Expeditionary Forces, he saw much active service
during the campaigns in France, and earned promotions from second to first lieutenant,
and from first lieutenant to captain of field artillery.
Judge Collins is a charter member of Wantagh Lodge of the Free and Accepted Masons.
Of this lodge he is a past master, and in 1940 he was appointed district deputy grand
master of Masons in Nassau County. He also belongs to the Freeport Lodge of the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In religion Judge Collins and his family
are Episcopalians and members of St. Michaels and All Angels Church of that denomination
at Seaford. He is a vestryman of that church.
In 1923 Henry John Alderton Collins was married to Agnes Hunter Boyd,
daughter of John Boyd and Elizabeth Hunter Boyd. Of this marriage there are three
COMMERDINGER, Walter S., Jr.
Mr. Commerdinger was born September 16, 1897, at
West Hoboken, New Jersey, son of Walter S. and Grace (Crolius) Commerdinger.
His father settled at Nesconset in the late 1890's, served for 18 years as
an assessor of the town of Smithtown, and is the oldest member of the
Suffolk County Democratic Committee. On June 23, 1948 he celebrated his 89th
birthday. His mother was a native of New York City, died in February, 1946,
who was a member of an old family, early members of which were pioneers in
the manufacture of pottery in the United States. Walter S. Commerdinger,
Jr., received his education in the local grammar schools of Nesconset. He
served two years in the United States Navy , World War I as a machinist mate
first-class and saw overseas duty. After returning to civilian life, he
established a plumbing and heating enterprise in Brooklyn for two years. In
1922 he organized a real estate and insurance business at Nesconset, which
he carried on with great success. From 1923 to 1933 he served as postmaster
of Nesconset. In the later year he was appointed appraiser for the Home
Owners Loan Corporation, which position he relinquished in July, 1946. Mr.
Commerdinger is active as a member of the William Merritt Hallock Post of
the American Legion of which he is a former commander. Member of the New
York State and Suffolk County Democratic Committees. For 15 years, served as
member of the Board of Appeals of the town of Smithtown, and for 10 years he
acted as clerk of Nesconset School District. Active in the Free and Accepted
Masons, affiliated with the Star of Hope Lodge No. 430 in Brooklyn, the
Orient Chapter of the Royal Arch Masons in Brooklyn, holding the
thirty-second degree of Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. In religious
affiliation he is an Episcopalian, attending the St. James Episcopal Church.
In September 1936, at Elkton, Maryland, Walter S. Commerdinger, Jr. married
Elva Jones, daughter of Freelan Jones. Their children are. (1) Jane, who
married Charles Gimmler of Lake Ronkonkoma; two children were born to them.
Virginia Gimmler and Barbara Gimmler. (2) Elvira, who was born at Nesconset
and received her education there. (3) Grace (4) Walter (5) Elva.
CONWAY, James F.
Born in Brooklyn January 7, 1903. He was son of James F. Conway, an
insurance adjuster who was born in New York City and died there in 1929, and
of Mary (Pritchard) Conway born in Brooklyn and died in 1910. James F.
Conway was educated in Brooklyn elementary schools and Erasmus High School,
graduated in 1922. Attended Fordham University, graduated from its Law
School in 1925 with a degree of Bachelor of Laws. in 1926 admitted to the
bar of the State of New York, where he practised in New York City. until
1928. General Practice in Rockville Centre, since 1928. He was a Rockville
Centre attorney served as vice president and director of the Bee Line, Inc.
Secretary and director of the South Shore Trust Company. He is also a member
of the Nassau County Bar Association and the New York County Lawyers
Association. Member of Rotary Club of Rockville centre, Rockville Country
Club and Massapequa Lodge. No. 822 Free and Accepted Masons Worshipped at
the Congregational Church in Rockville Centre. Mr. Conway married in
Brooklyn, September 1, 1927, Evelyn Fughardt of that borough, daughter of
William C. and Augusta (Felsing) Fughardt. Mr. and Mrs. Conway have two
children--William S., born May 5, 1931 and Sheila J. born January 5, 1935.
also there is an article written about a Daniel Holmes Conway, who was
the mayor of Oswego. This article is located in the Biographical Index of
Notable People of New York State. When I get to the C's he will be
mentioned. Also in the 1930 New York Social Blue Book directory under C on
the Brooklyn Information Page are listed some Conways.
also in the 1931 Westchester County Social Record there is a Mrs. Belle
Marie (Belle Marie Puff) Conway in Tarrytown. at 25 Le Grande Ave. Child,
John Joseph Conway. Clubs. The Verdi, Beechwood Players, Blue Point, Long Island.
CORRIGAN, Charles E.
He was born January 28, 1900, at Southampton, New York, son of Edward
J. and Marie (Lamboley) Corrigan. His father was a contractor at
Southampton. Charles Corrigan received his early education in the local
public schools, and was graduated from the Southampton High School. In
April, 1917, Mr. Corrigan entered the United States Navy, and served as a
quartermaster, first-class, on the transport "George Washington." After the
war he became a yacht captain, remaining in this occupation until 1936, at
which time he organized the Corrigan Docks, Boat Yard, and Marine Sales
Company at Hampton Bays. He has continued to be sole owner of this
organization since then, and under his able management the enterprise has
been greatly expanded. It is now one of the most important and widely known
firms of its type in the region. Mr. Corrigan is active in the life of his
community as a member of the American Legion and the Southhampton Rotary
Club. In religious affiliation he is a Catholic and attends the Sacred Heart
of Jesus and Mary Roman Catholic Church in Southampton. On June 21, 1930,
Charles E. Corrigan married Lucille E. Fahy, daughter of James and Cecelia
Fahy of Bridgehampton.
DARE, Clarence E.
Son of a veteran of the Civil War, Clarence E. Dare has taken an
active part in the civic and social affairs of Suffolk County, just as his
father did before him. Like his father, he farmed the land before he entered
state service. Since 1920 he has been serving as the District Forest Ranger
for the state of New York.
Mr. Dare was born in Selden, in the town of Brookhaven, Suffolk
County, Long Island, on July 26, 1882, a son of Samuel and Henrietta (Wicks)
Dare. His mother, who was a native of Patchogue, died in 1938. Mr. Dare's
father, a native of Selden, served in Company C, 165th Volunteer Infantry of
the Union forces in the Civil War, and before his death, in 1913, he was a
town trustee of the town of Brookhaven. He received his early education in
the district schools of Selden.
Mr. Dare gave up farming in 1915, after his election as Superintendent
of Highways for the town of Brookhaven, a post he held until 1920, when he
was appointed to his present position of District Forest Ranger.
Active in the business affairs of his community, Mr. Dare is vice
president and director of the National Bank of Lake Ronkonkoma, and a former
treasurer and trustee of the Board of Education for the School District of
Selden. During World War I he was a member of the New York State National
Guard. Numbered among his fraternal affiliations are memberships in the
South Side Lodge 493 of the Free and Accepted Order of Masons in Patchogue,
of which Mr. Dare is a life member, the Suwasset Chapter of Royal Arch
Masons in Patchogue, the Patchogue Commandery of the Knights Templar and the
Kismet Temple Shrine of Brooklyn. Mr. Dare worships in the Methodist Church
and is generous in his contributions to religious and humanitarian causes.
At Lake Grove, Long Island on September 26, 1914, Mr. Dare married
Florence Eugenia Gould, daughter of George E. and Eugenia (Hallock) Gould,
natives of Lake Grove.
Nick Chiechi (requester)
DAYTON, Harry Leeds
During his professional career, Harry Leeds Dayton has distinguished himself
in investment, banking and financial circles, both in Queens County and in
Nassau. His ability has won him steady advances in his field, and since 1936
he has been executive vice president and then president of the Bayside
Federal Savings and Loan Association of Bayside.
Mr. Dayton was born on February 13, 1887, in Maspeth, Queens County, New
York, the son of John and Mary E. (Leeds) Dayton. His father, who was born
ninety years ago in Brooklyn, was a leading contractor and builder on Long
Island and is now deceased. His mother, a native of Maryland, was born in
Rising Sun in 1861 and also is deceased. The younger Dayton received his
education in the elementary public schools and at Dwight High School in New
York City. Later he entered New York University.
Harry Leeds Dayton entered the business world as an employee of the First
Mortgage Guarantee Company of Long Island City. Through his boundless
energy, diligence and intelligence, Mr. Dayton advanced from one position of
responsibility to another, until in 1919 he became assistant secretary of
the Long Island City concern. In 1925 he was offered the post of assistant
to the president of the New York Title and Mortgage Company, and remained
with this firm until 1933. Three years later he joined the staff of the
Bayside Federal Savings and Loan Association, and in addition to serving as
president, he is also a director. Another post that he has filled is that of
president of the Metropolitan League of Savings Associations in New York
City, which he held for one year. In 1940 the present building which houses
the Bayside Federal Savings and Loan Association was completed and attracted
national attention for its unique design and appearance for a banking
institution made of Virginia hand made brick and Idaho knotty pine.
Mr. Dayton is a veteran of World War I, having served as second lieutenant,
then first lieutenant and later as captain in the Army of the United States.
Before his two-year army service, from 1917 to 1919,Mr. Dayton had joined
the Seventh Regiment of the National Guard of New York as a private, early
in 1911, and had been promoted through ranks of corporal and sergeant.
Formerly a member, he is now a veteran of the Seventh and Eighth regiments.
As trustee of the Bowne House Historical Society, Inc., Mr. Dayton, together
with his fellow officers, made plans for the celebration of the
three-hundredth birthday of the Old Bowne house, which stands today in
Flushing, as a reminder of our rich, historical past. The first of the Bowne
family settled in Flushing, then known as Vlissengen, in 1650, and their
descendants today cooperated with the officers of the Bowne House Historical
Society for the birthday observance of this cherished landmark. His other
community activities are centered around the flushing Young Men's Christian
Association of which he is a member of the board of governors. He is also a
trustee of the Flushing Cemetery Association. Fraternally he is affiliated
with the Bayside Lodge, No. 999, Free and Accepted Masons, of which he was
the first secretary and a life member, and he holds membership in the
Chamber of Commerce of Queens, and the American Legion. Mr. Dayton is a
Republican by political affiliation, but has never, thus far, taken a
leading position in the party. By faith he is an Episcopalian.
On May 7, 1925, Mr. Dayton married Anne Heidenheim, daughter of Niels and
Anne (Coverly) Heidenheim, in Maplewood, New Jersey, and they are the
parents of two children: 1) Anne Leeds, born October 23, 1929. 2) John Nils,
born October 7, 1933. Mrs. Dayton died September 23, 1938.
DIMON, Herbert W.
Back of former large building projects in Suffolk County were such
lumber companies as the Southampton Lumber Corporation, with which Herbert
W. Dimon has been identified since the year 1933. A native and lifelong
resident of this town, he knows its people and annals and has cooperated
heartily through the years with numerous community activities.
Born in Southampton, Suffolk County, Long Island, on December 15, 1883,
Mr. Dimon is the son of Samuel and Anna Marie (Jagger) Dimon, his father
being an agriculturist and substantial citizen. The son of this record was
educated in the grade and high schools of his birthplace and early in life
learned telegraphy and worked for the Western Union Telegraph Company. After
a year of experience, he was appointed station agent at Southampton for the
Long Island Railroad, but after two years entered the employ of the New York
Telegraph Company, in his home town.
In the old "trust busting" days, the New York Telegraph Company was
ordered under the Sherman Act to dissolve its connections with the New York
Telephone Company, and Mr. Dimon went with the latter corporation, first as
a clerk, later becoming commercial manager at Southampton. Altogether Mr.
Dimon was associated with the New York Telephone Company for more than two
decades. In 1933, however, he joined the staff of the Southampton Lumber
Corporation, of Southampton, and from 1942 has been a director of the same.
He likewise served on the board of directors of the First National Bank of
Southampton. In municipal affairs Herbert W. Dimon is a former president of
the village of Southampton. Fraternally he is affiliated with Old Town Lodge
No. 908, Free and Accepted Masons, of which he is a Past Master; he is a
member of Nunnakoma Chapter,. No. 308, Royal Arch Masons; and attends the
Herbert W. Dimon married Angelena Whitman, of Southampton, daughter of
Walter and Matilda (Bennett) Whitman. Mrs. Dimon is a member of the Order of
the Eastern Star. Mr. and Mrs. Dimon are the parents of two sons: 1) Harris
W., born at Southampton, a graduate of the local grade and high schools, is
now associated with the Southampton Lumber Corporation; he married Lillian
Behler, of this place, daughter of George and Grace Behler, and they have
two sons; i. Paul. ii. Sam. 2) Robert W. educated in local grade and high
school. He joined the United States Army for service in World War II,
serving with a medical detachment unit in the Pacific area; he married
Regina Soah, of Sag Harbor, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Soah.
DODGE, Lloyd Pillsbury
A native and lifelong resident of Long Island, Lloyd Pillsbury Dodge is a
prominent attorney at Patchogue, where he has also made a reputation as a
sponsor of the work of the Boy Scouts of America and as a leader in veterans'
affairs. He served in the United States Navy in World War II.
Mr. Dodge was born at Bellmore, in Nassau County, on March 22, 1915, the son
of famed William C. Dodge and Lavinia E. (Hunt) Dodge. William C. Dodge is now
in private legal practice in New York City, but for years he was either
district attorney of New York County or on the magistrates' bench of that
county. He won national fame as a prosecutor. He is a native of Manchester,
New Hampshire, and was educated at Stevens Institute and New York University
Law School. Lavinia Hunt Dodge was born and educated in New York City. Besides
Lloyd Pillsbury Dodge, two daughters and another son were born to the
marriage, Mrs.Anna Dodge Mowry, of Morris Plains, New Jersey; Mrs. Jean Dodge
Pollock of Fort Myers, Florida, and William C. Dodge, Jr. of Santiago de Chile.
Lloyd Pillsbury Dodge was taken by his parents to Blue Point, in Suffolk
County, when he was two years old. That community has been his home ever
since. He was graduated from its elementary school and then went to the Dwight
School in New York City. In 1936 he was graduated from Amherst College with
the degree of Bachelor of Arts and in 1939 from the Yale University Law School
with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. Immediately on leaving the law school, he
became associated with the New York City law firm of Winthrop, Stimson, Putnam
and Roberts, at 26 Liberty Street. In 1940, he was admitted to the New York
State bar. Leaving the New York law firm, he became associated with Ralph J.
Hawkins of Patchogue and worked for Mr. Hawkins until he entered the Navy in
Mr. Dodge was commissioned an officer in the Naval Reserve and served four and
one-half years principally in the Asiatic Theater of Operations, until
September, 1945. When he went into the inactive reserve he was a lieutenant
Returning to Patchogue and Blue Point, Mr. Dodge re-established himself in his
profession and has since then maintained an independent practice. In January,
1947, he became assistant district attorney of Suffolk County. He also resumed
all his former interests and activities and is now chairman of the
organization and extension committee of the District No. 7 Council of Boy
Scouts of America. He is also past commander of the Patchogue Post of the
Veterans of Foreign Wars. He is a member of the Suffolk County Bar
Association, the Rotary Club of Patchogue and the Domino Yacht Club. With his
family he attends the Methodist church. His hobby is yachting.
In August, 1941, at Patchogue, Mr. dodge married Margaret Chapman, daughter of
Dr. and Mrs. Willetts W. Gardner of that village. Mr. and Mrs. Dodge are the
parents of one daughter, Sybil Chapman, born in Patchogue on April 13, 1945,
and a son Lloyd P., Jr., born March 23, 1947. Mrs. Dodge, a graduate of the
Patchogue High School, was for a time a student at Vassar College.
DOWNING, Benjamin Winans
Date of Birth: October 5, 1871, at Littleworth, now Sea Cliff, in the
family homestead, on lands to which his forebears had received a deed from
the Indians in 1666. He represented the ninth generation of Downings on Long
Island and was a direct descendant of George Downing, who at an early date
settled in the Roger Williams colony of Rhode Island.
The Downing family on Long Island were farmers and also engaged in the
shipping trade. Mr. Downing's grandfather, George Downing, took hay,
potatoes, cabbage and other produce raised on the farms of Glen Head and
Brookville to the New York Markets. His grandmother Emeline (Lewis)
Downing, was very active on the farm. Mr. Downing's father, Henry Downing,
was born in Littleworth and grew up on the farm. He was a birthright Quaker.
In 1870 he was married to Sara S. Hurd, the ceremony being performed at his
home by the pastor of the Dutch Reformed Church at Brookville. Sara S.
(Hurd) Downing was the daughter of a Congregationalist missionary at Beaver
Dam, Wisconsin. She taught school in Long Island, first at Black Stump, and
then at Glenwood Landing. Henry and Sara S. (Hurd) Downing were the parents
of three children: (1) Benjamin Winans, (2) George, (3) Grace deceased.
Henry Downing died in or about 1884, when Benjamin was thirteen years old
and his brother George was six. Four years later, his grandfather died. The
family lived on the farm at Glen Head.
Mr.Benjamin Winans Downing's first job as a carpenter , worked at such
William G. Whitney's, Wheatley Hills, the Vanderbilt home at Hyde Park and
Newport, Rhode Island, and the Farmers National Bank at Pittsburgh.
1902-1910 Contracting business
1910 He and his brother George started the Downing Brothers lumber yard
at Locust Valley.
Treasurer of the coal and lumber firm of Titus, Bowne & Downing of Glen
1920 Director of Glen Cove Trust Company.
1922 Director of the Matinecock Bank of Locust Valley
1922 Director of the Ntional Retailers Insurance Co.
1925-1936 Director of the North Shore Trust Company of Oyster Bay.
1940 appointed member of the New York State harness racing commission.
1916 to 1928 President of the Board of Education of Locust Valley.
From 1920- He had been president of the Locust Valley Cemetery Association.
1921 to 1928 President of the North County Community Hospital.
Glen Cove Lodge of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons.
1895 Benjamin Winans Downing married (first) Annie Kirk of Locust Valley.
She died in 1930.They lived at Glen Head until 1904, when they removed to
Locust Valley. CHILDREN: (1) Grace, (2) William Kirk Downing, a member of
the firm of Titus, Bowne & Downing, coal and lumber dealers of Glen Cove.
His second wife(1932) was Rose Beard, former superintendent of the North
County Community Hospital of Glen Cove
Benjamin Winans Downing Date of Death : April 20, 1948
Home: Munsey Park, Manhasset. lifelong resident of Long Island's North Shore.
DOWSEY, James L.
During the religious persecutions in Belgium during the last half of
the sixteenth century, large numbers of its inhabitants found their way into
France where there was at least a temporary religious tolerance. Here in the
little parish of Loudon, Paul de Haze was born in 1600. His oldest son,
Paul, before reaching his majority, sailed for the new world. For a time he
lived at what is now the city of Quebec, and later resided at Montreal.
Upon the walls in Mr. Dowsey's office there hangs a deed dated 1662,
granted to this ancestor by the priests who then ruled Canada, to a piece of
land on the St. Lawrence, somewhat west of the city of Montreal. Some
descendants of Paul de Haze still reside in this locality. Mr. Dowsey's
direct ancestors soon found their way across the St. Lawrence, and settled
in what is now St. Lawrence County, New York. Mr. Dowsey was the first one
of his family to leave St. Lawrence County when he located in Nassau County
in 1902. A few years later all members of this large family were residents
of this county. His mother was Anna Sophia Hess, born in Galveston, Texas,
the daughter of one of the early settlers of that state. In 1900 he married
Jennie Georgina Coote of Lawrence, daughter of the Reverend James Coote,
Doctor of Divinity. Dr. Coote, was of the family of Sir Richard Coote, Earl
Bellomont, who was Governor of New York from 1698 to 1701. Mr. Dowsey was
admitted to the bar in 1903 while principal of the Manhasset School.
Several years later he formed a partnership with several lawyers in the city
of New York under the firm name of Dowsey and Parsons. While still in the
active practice of the law he became president of the Autographic Register
Company in 1925, and the following year of its Canadian Associate,
Autographic Register Systems, Limited, of Canada, and for twenty years
directed these and other business and industrial corporations. In 1933, with
Comptroller Frank C. Moore, he organized the Association of Towns of the
State of New York, which became the largest and most potent organization of
its nature in the country. For many years he was Republican leader of the
Town of North Hempstead and Second Assembly District, and a member of the
New York State Republican Committee.
His children are Dorothy D. Gay, now residing in Florida, Mrs. Leonard
W. Hall, of Oyster Bay, James L. Dowsey, Jr., of Manhasset, and C. Malcolm
Dowsey, of Mineola. Mr. Dowsey has offices at 200 Plandome Road, Manhasset,
New York and resides at 44 George Street, Manhasset, with summer home at
Long Lake, Hamilton County, New York.
DRANITZKE, Jacob, Dr.
Dr. Dranitzke was born in Gitonir, Russia, on January 14, 1903, the son
of Benjamin and Gertrude (Godoff) Dranitzke. Both parents were also natives
of Russia. When he was two years old the future physician and surgeon was
brought to the United States by his parents. The family settled in
Patchogue, which has since been the scene of most of its activities and the
site of its home. Jacob Dranitzke began his education in Patchogue. In 1918,
he was graduated from the Patchogue High School. Four years later he took
his degree of Bachelor of Science at Columbia University in New York, and in
1924 he was graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of
Columbia University with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. His junior
internship, was begun in his senior year in medical school, at City
Hospital, New York. For further experience before launching himself in
private practice, he interned another three years at Beth Israel Hospital,
New York. Since 1927 he has been in practice in Patchogue, specializing in
surgery. He is on the surgical staffs of both John Mather Memorial Hospital
at Port Jefferson and Southside Hospital at Bay Shore. He is also a member
of the Rotary Club of Patchogue and the Suffolk County Medical Society and
the New York State and American medical associations. Dr. Dranitzke married
Ruth Holstein at Syracuse, New York, on October 15, 1939. Mrs. Dranitzke,
the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. David Holstein of Syracuse, is a graduate of
the University of Syracuse. She and the Doctor have two children: Richard,
born December 26, 1940; and Joan, born November 27, 1942, both in Patchogue.
EDMONDS, Selina (Whiting)
The article with all genealogical and background
information is based on Frederick E. Montfort, President of the Glen Cove
Trust Company. Reference to Selina is as follows:
"Mr. Montfort married Elsie Jane Edmonds of Glen Cove in 1908. She is the
daughter of Frank B. and Selina (Whiting) Edmonds. Mr. and Mrs. Frederick E.
Montfort are the parents of three children: Gertrude L., now the wife of
Stratton Buckhout and the mother of two sons, Stratton, Jr., and Roger M
and Jane Elizabeth, wife of William W. Cocks, Jr., and mother of two
daughters, Judith A. and Susan Sanford and Frederick H., who married
Ethelinda Bartlett and is the father of a son, Frederick C., and twin
daughters Ethelinda and Lucia Rhodes.
ELDREDGE, Daniel A.
The Eldredges settled in Suffolk County, in the early 1700's, where
seafaring was the Island's Typical industry. Daniel A. Eldredge of Hempstead
is one of the largest-scale dealers in automobiles to be found in all of the
Island's four counties. Mr. Eldredge is a native Long Islander, for he was
born in the old city of Brooklyn on July 24, 1878. His father was Henry C.
Eldredge, who was born in New York City on July 15, 1855 and died in his
eighty-seventh year. He married Mary Banks Hull, a native Brooklyn girl
whose ancestry was traced to Jacob Hull, a gallant soldier of the American
Revolution who fought under the command of General Lincoln. Mrs. Mary Banks
(Hull) Eldredge was born on June 28, 1854 and passed away in her
eighty-ninth year. Daniel A. Eldredge was brought to Hempstead in Nassau
County as a boy and attended public school in that village. After leaving
school he became associated with the automobile business as a salesman for
the Garden City Garage. That was in 1916. On July 1, 1919, he secured the
dealership for the Buick car at Hempstead, with an office and show room at
281 Main Street. The Eldredge Buick agency . He is a member of the Hempstead
Rotary Club. Also a long-time member of Lodge, No. 1485 of the Benevolent
and Protective Order of Elks. He is a Presbyterian in religious faith, and a
supporter of the Republican Party. In 1902 Daniel A. Eldredge was married to
Caroline Southard Weeks of Hempstead, by whom he was the father of one
child, a daughter, Florence, who became Mrs. Burgevin and the mother of
three children: namely Jules, Michael and Judy. Mrs. Caroline Southard
(Weeks) Eldredge died in 1925. In 1927 Mr. Eldredge married a second time,
the bride being the former Josephine Meighan of Floral Park, Nassau County.
Of this marriage there is one child, a son, Daniel A., Jr.
who was born on May 19, 1929.
FAHY, Henry T.
The progress of agriculture in Suffolk County has been substanially
forwarded by Henry T. Fahy, owner of the renowned Bayview Farm at
Bridgehampton. For Mr. Fahy is not only a large grower of potatoes,
cauliflower, wheat and rye, but chairman of the Suffolk County Farm
Transportation Committee and a leader in the Suffolk County Farm Bureau. He
has also aided farmers through his work with the First National Bank of
Southhampton, of which he is a director. Mr. Fahy's wife also occupies a
position of importance in the affairs of Bridgehampton and the county at
large. A former teacher, she is a member of the school board and the Suffolk
County Home Bureau, of which she is chairman.
Mr. Fahy was born in Bridgehampton on August 16, 1890, the son of
James W. and Cecelia T. (McGee) Fahy. The elder Mr. Fahy a native of
Ireland, came to Long Island when he was sixteen, settling at Greenport.
Subsequently he moved to Bridge-hampton, where he bought a farm on which he
reared nine children besides the present county farm leader.
Henry Fahy was educated in Bridgehampton's elementary and secondary
schools. Until 1913, he worked with his father on the original family farm.
Then he purchased Bayview Farm, with its one hundred thirty-five acres of
cultivated land and fifty additional acres of woodland. Since its formation
in the early 1920's, Mr. Fahy has been active in the Suffolk County Farm
Bureau and in recent years he has headed the Suffolk County Farm
Transportation Committee as well as served on the Southampton bank's board
of directors. He is also a director of the Southampton Golf Club.
Mr. Fahy married Louise Swett at Southampton on January 7, 1915. She is
the daughter of Mark and Lillie M. (Ward) Swett, the former a native of
Boston, Massachusetts, the latter of Norwich, Connecticut. Mrs. Fahy traces
her ancestry to early American settlers and soldiers of the Revolution. She
was born at Pomfret Center. A graduate of Syracuse University, from which she
received the degree of Bachelor of Arts, Mrs. Fahy was the first high school
teacher in Bridgehampton. She is a member of the Daughters of the American
Revolution as well as of the school board and the County Home Bureau.
Mr. and Mrs. Fahy are the parents of five children:
1) Mary Louise, born February 14, 1916;
2) Paul, born April 3, 1917;
3)Donald Giles, born December 22, 1919;
4) James T., Born November 12, 1922;
5) Nancy N., born March 19,1924.
Mary Louise Fahy, a graduate of the Bridgehampton High School,
received the degree of Bachelor of Arts from Vassar College in 1938, and of
Master of Arts from New York University in 1939. In June, 1946, she was
married to John Luiton Mason, of Berwyn, Illinois, who in World War II
served in the United States Army as a captain.
Donald Giles Fahy is a graduate of the Bridgehampton High School,
Williston Academy, Fordham University and Cornell Medical College. He
received his degree of Doctor of Medicine from the last-named in 1945. In
World War II, Dr. Fahy served in the United States Army Medical Corps as a
lieutenant; he was in the Pacific Theater of Operations through most of the
war. James T. Fahy is a graduate of the Southampton High School and is
associated with his father on the farm. Nancy Fahy is a graduate of the
Bridgehampton High School and Skidmore College. She also attended art school
in New York City.
FALKENBURG, Neil Edgar, Dr.
A recent president of the medical board of Huntington Hospital and
former physician for the Huntington school system, Dr. Neil Edgar Falkenburg
is now chief of the medical department of the hospital. He has long been one
of suffolk's prominent physicians.
Dr. Falkenburg was born in Brooklyn on July 1, 1897, the son of
Ernest and the late Charlotte (Elmore) Falkenburg. His father is a retired
pharmacist. Neil Falkenburg was graduated from Boys' High School, Brooklyn,
and in 1922 from Columbia University, where he took the degree of Bachelor
of Arts. In 1925 he was graduated from the university's College of
Physicians and Surgeons with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. After
completing his internship at Methodist Hospital, Brooklyn, he established
himself in practice at Huntington. In his early days in that community, he
became a visiting physician at the Huntington Hospital and physician in the
public schools. During the war years, he served as chief of the Department
of Anesthesia at the Huntington Hospital, and has recently become chief of
the Department of Medicine. He has several times been elected president of
the Medical Board of the Hospital. His professional affiliations are with
the Suffolk County and American Medical associations, the New York State
Society and the Associated Physicians of Long Island. Other
affiliations are with the Jephtha Lodge, No. 494, Ancient Free and Accepted
Masons, at Huntington and the Huntington Chamber of Commerce.
He is a member of the Methodist Church in Huntington.
On May 3, 1928, at Brooklyn, Dr. Falkenburg married Henrietta
Charlotte Tienken, daughter of John M. and Charlotte (Atkinson) Tienken of
that borough. A daughter and son have been born to the doctor and his wife:
Charlotte Ann, born on March 31, , and Neil Edgar, Jr., born on June 14,
1931. The daughter, a graduate of the Friends' Academy at Locust Valley, and
with two years training at Elmira College, is now a directing major at the
Dramatic Workshop of the New School for Social Research in New York. Neil E.
Falkenburg, Jr., is a member of the class of '49 at the Phillips Exeter
Academy at Exeter, New Hampshire.
Jack Bradley (requester)
Linda Keet (requester)
FISHER, Wellington H.
Mr. Fisher is vice president and assistant treasurer of the old firm of J.C.
Dodge and Son, at 99 Glen street, Glen Cove. In this business he is closely
associated with Herbert K. Dodge, president of the furniture business as
well as of the Dodge Funeral Home at 26 Franklin Avenue, Glen Cove.
Mr. Fisher was born at Ontario, in Wayne County, New York, on June 24, 1875,
the son of Abraham and Ella (Hulbert) Fisher, both now deceased. Abraham
Fisher was born on a sailing vessel which his parents had taken from Holland
to the New World. He was a farmer. Ella (Hulbert) Fisher was born at
Ontario. Wellington Fisher was educated in the elementary and high schools
He entered the furniture business as a young man in Williamson. Later he
obtained work with a furniture firm in Monticello, and then became manager
of the furniture department of a store in Nyack. In 1917, Mr. Fisher moved
to Glen Cove to become associated with the J.C. Dodge and Son furniture
store. When, in 1928, it was separated from the Dodge Funeral Home and each
was incorporated, with the late John Henry Savage and Herbert K. Dodge
heading the mortuary and Mr. Dodge heading the furniture business, Mr.
Fisher became vice president and assistant treasurer. These offices he has
retained since then.
Mr. Fisher is a member of the Glen Cove chamber of Commerce, the Glen Cove
Rotary Club, and of St. Paul's Episcopal Church. Mr. Fisher married
Georgiana Towne, and has two daughters, Mrs. Beatrice Locke and Mrs. Mable
Odell. Mrs. Locke has two children, Eugene and Betty Ann. Mr. Fisher's wife
passed away in March, 1940 and he married, second, Adele Miller of Glen Cove.
FROEHLICH, Francis Bernard
When Francis Bernard Froehlich was graduated from the Fordham University Law
School in 1943, he was an honor student. That distinction he has carried into
his career as lawyer and as a citizen and Catholic layman. For he is prominent
not only at the bar, but as a leader of the Minneola Republican Club and the
Citizens party of Minneola and an officer of the Knights of Columbus.
Mr. Froehlich was born in Floral Park on September 23, 1916. He is a member of
a family that has lived in Nassau County for more than a century. His
grandfather built the first stores on the Jericho Turnpike in Floral Park. His
father, John Frank Froehlich, was a farmer and resident of Floral Park. His
mother was Theresia (Rose) Froehlich.
Francis B. Froehlich was graduated from the Chaminade High School, Minneola,
in 1936. He received the degree of Bachelor of Arts from Fordham University in
1940 and in January, 1943, that of Bachelor of Laws from the Fordham Law
In October, 1942, Mr. Froehlich passed the New York State bar examinations and
in June, 1943, was admitted to practice. He had in the meantime become a law
clerk in the firm of Glass and Lynch, New York. In April, 1943, the firm had
promoted him to managing attorney. Later he associated himself with Elvin N.
Edwards and on January 1, 1946, when James J. McDonough, for many years a
special agent for the Federal Bureau of Investigation, joined them, the new
firm of Edwards, Froehlich and McDonough was formed. It has its offices at
1501 Franklin Avenue, Minneola. The firm is local counsel for Roosevelt Field.
Mr. Elvin N. Edwards, prominent lawyer and former district attorney of Nassau
County who was the senior member of the firm of Edwards. Froehlich and
McDonough, died in July, 1946. Mr. Froehlich and Mr. McDonough carry on under
the firm name.
Mr. Froehlich is attorney for the Carle Place Water District, secretary of the
Minneola Republican Club and vice president of the Citizens party of Minneola.
He is deputy grand knight of the Corpus Christi Council of the Knights of
Columbus, member of the board of directors of the Kiwanis Club of Minneola and
member of the board of directors of Nassau County Cancer Committee and counsel
to same. He is a communicant of the Corpus Christi Roman Catholic Church of
Mr. Froehlich and Carol Hoar, daughter of George Timothy Hoar and Carol
(Williams) Hoar, were married in St. Andrews Church, Flushing, on February 7,
1942. They are the parents of two daughters, Patricia Theresia, born August
19, 1943, and Regina Marie, born September 16, 1944. Mr. and Mrs. Froehlich
live at 372 Jackson Avenue, Minneola.
FROEHLICH, J. Alwin
His grandfather a native of NYC was John D. Froehlich, who married Sophia Meyer .he developed the Bushwick Hill section of Brooklyn.
His son Joseph T. Froehlich was born in Brooklyn on October 6, 1881. In 1905 he entered the real estate business until his death 1942.
Joseph T. Froehlich in 1906 married Lillian Schwencke, daughter of Oscar L. Schwencke, a pioneer among modern developers of
residential property on Long Island, both in Nassau and in Suffolk County. Joseph T. and Lillian Schwencke Froehlich had four children,
namely Joseph, Jr., Marjorie J. Alwin and Virginia. J. Alwin Froehlich was born in the Borough of Brooklyn on June 7, 1912.
The family moved in 1914 to Rockville Centre. J.Alwin Froehlich graduated from High School in 1930. He went to Cornell University
at Ithaca, New York where he took his degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1935. He later enrolled in the Brooklyn Law School, where he
received his Bachelor of Laws degree in 1938, and admitted to the bar the same year. J. Alwin Froehlich's practice has been in
Rockville Centre and vicinity from the beginning, and at the time of the publication of this book was a partner of the firm of
Engels and Froehlich. Mr. Froehlich's brother, Joseph Froehlich, Jr., is superintendent of Eastern Texaco Refineries, the Texas Company.
On July 8, 1939 J. Alwin Froehlich was married to Jane Schwencke, of Bay shore, a daughter of Oscar L. and Emma (Wulfing) Schwencke.
Of this marriage there are three children. 1. John A. Jr., who was born in September, 1940, 2. Emy-Jane, born in June, 1942. 3.
James Joseph, born in August, 1945. In 1939 Mr. Froehlich moved to Bay Shore in 1939, where he resides.
Requested by Sandy Tevaga
GATJE, George Henry, Dr.
Dr. Gatje was born in Jersey City, New Jersey, on June 25, 1900, the son
of George F. and Dora B. Gatje. In 1921 he received the degree of Chemical
Engineer at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York and in 1924 the
degree of Master of Arts from Columbia University. Following further
post-graduate work, he was awarded the degree of Doctor of Education by
Columbia in 1941. He served in the armed forces in World War I. In 1925 Dr.
Gatje became principal of the Bay Shore High School. In 1939 he was elevated
to the superintendency of schools. He was active in such organizations as
the American Society for Engineering Education, the American Association for
the Advancement of Science, the American Association of School
Administrators and the National Education Association. He is affiliated with
the American Legion's Bay Shore Post, the Rotary Club of Bay Shore; Meridian
Lodge, No. 691, Free and Accepted Masons, at Islip, of which he was master
in 1930 and the Royal Arch Masons. He also was a member of Phi Delta Kappa
and Kappa Delta Pi. Religion-Presbyterian. Dr. Gatje married Marion Shand,
daughter of James and Virginia Shand, at Patchogue on April 13, 1930. They
are the parents of two sons: G. Carlisle Gatje, born April.29, 1931, and
David S. Gatje, born May 8, 1934.
GAY, Jr. J. Edward
Prominent for many years as a leading real estate and insurance man,
J. Edward Gay, Jr., made valuable contributions toward the progress and
development of East Hampton and Suffolk County.
Jame Edward Gay, Jr., was born July 29, 1894, at East Hampton, Long
Island, son of James Edward and Margaret G. (Gilmartin) Gay, both natives of
J. Edward Gay, Jr., was graduated from the East Hampton High School in
1913 and from the University of Pennsylvania in 1917, where he received the
degree of Bachelor of Science. In April 1917, when the United States entered
the first World War, Mr. Gay enlisted in the army. However, he was not
called to duty until a few weeks after his graduation from college. He
served as a machine gun officer and as an instructor in the use of this
weapon. Through his ability and efforts he rose to the rank of captain
before his discharge in February, 1919.
After having returned to civilian life, Mr. Gay joined the staff of
the Income Tax Division of the New York District of the Collector of
Internal Revenue. In 1921, he resigned this position to return to East
Hampton and join his father in business. They were associated together until
the death of the elder Mr. Gay in 1924. At this time J. Edward Gay, Jr.,
entered the real estate and insurance business, in which line he has
continued successfully since.
In 1925 Mr. Gay became a member of the Board of Education for the East
Hampton High School, and in July, 1946, he was elected president of this
body. In 1926, he began serving as the village clerk, a position he resigned
when he became head of the school board. During this period he held all the
top offices in the county organization of the American Legion, including
commandership. In the second World War, he acted as chairman in East Hampton
of all War Bond drives as well as chief registrar of the East Hampton
Selective Service Board. He was awarded the Certificate of Merit of the
Suffolk County War Council as a result of his valiant efforts. He was
president of the Suffolk County Chapter of the Long Island Real Estate
Mr. Gay was a member of the Southampton Lodge of the Benevolent and
Protective Order of Elks, and in religious preference he was a Roman
Catholic, attending the church in East Hampton.
In September, 1925, at Queens Village, Long Island, J. Edward Gay
married Helen (Semple) Amaden, daughter of Clarence H. and M. Ella Semple,
of Orange, New Jersey. They became the parents of one son, James Edward Gay
III, who was born November 19, 1927, was graduated from East Hampton High
School, and is a student at Fordham University. On May 26, 1947, J. Edward
Gay, Jr., passed away. His death was a cause of deep sorrow in his
community, and the business world of East Hampton lost a stalwart figure
Chris Amaden (requester)
GAYNOR, Francis M.
Through the efforts of Francis M. Gaynor, Glen head now has a beautiful
twenty-two acre memorial park, donated to the town in 1946 by the Post Brick
Company of which Mr. Gaynor is president. Mr. Gaynor has continued his work
in this enterprise as chairman of the memorial park and building committee.
He was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, October 27, 1894, Francis Gaynor
is the son of Hugh and Jane (Pritchard) Gaynor, both natives of
Philadelphia. Hugh Gaynor, who died in 1909, was a brick manufacturer by
trade; Jane Gaynor died in 1904. Francis M. Gaynor was educated in the
public and high schools of Philadelphia. After attending Temple University
for one year, he apprenticed with his uncle, James Gaynor, in the brick
manufacturing business in Philadelphia and remained there until 1917. With
the advent of World War I, Mr. Gaynor entered the armed services and for
twenty-two months was assigned to the Air Corps at Hazelhurst (now Roosevelt
Field.) In March, 1919 he received an honorable discharge. Upon his return
to civilian life Mr. Gaynor became associated with Jotham Post, a brick
manufacturer of Glen Head. Here his work was so successful and his progress
so marked that he received a partnership in the Post Brick Company in 1924.
Four years later, when Mr. Post died Francis M. Gaynor took over the
complete managership of the company and continued in this capacity until
1942 . In 1936, the present plant was purchased at Farmingdale, the business
was re-named the Nassau Brick Company, and Mr. Gaynor enlarged his
managerial staff. Townsend B. Pettit, Sr., is vice president and Townsend B.
Pettit, Jr., is secretary and treasurer. The only company of its kind in
this area, the Nassau Brick Company employs fifty-five people and has a
yearly manufacturing capacity of twenty-five million bricks. Mr. Gaynor uses
his financial skill as a director of the First National Bank of Glen Head.
He is also a director of E.T. Hoebick, Inc., of Glen Head. Recognized as a
sound businessman with an understanding of the needs for children, as
exemplified by the establishment of the memorial park, Mr. Gaynor has served
on the Glen Head Board of Education since 1936. He attends the St. Boniface
Roman Catholic Church at Sea Cliff. In June, 1920, Francis M. Gaynor married
Madeline (Mettauer) Gaynor, of Queens Village. She is the daughter of
August and Emma Mettauer. Mr. and Mrs. Gaynor are the parents of three
children. (1) James J., married to Patricia (Helwig) Gaynor. (2) Madeleine,
married to John Moulder. They have one child, Ellen. (3) Eleanor, now a
student at Cornell University.
There is no further information regarding other members of the Gaynor name.
GEROCS, Charles and BUDAY, Jr., James
The Bayliss Fuel Oil Company, Inc. dates back to an ice and coal business
established in 1924 by Ira D. Bayliss and sold in 1941 to James Buday, Jr.,
who is now secretary-treasurer of the company, as well as of its sister
concern, the Bayliss Heating Company. The story of that concern is told in
this volume under the title Bayliss Heating Company, Inc. An associate in
the two businesses is Charles Gerocs, who is president of the fuel oil
company and vice president of the heating concern.
Mr. Buday, who is well-known throughout Suffolk County, was the first of the
three partners to enter the business. This occurred when he bought out Ira
D. Bayliss. Mr. Buday was born in New York City on June 29, 1916, the son of
James A. and Rose (Nagy) Buday. Both his parents were natives of Hungary.
The family moved from New York to Ronkonkoma in 1927 and James, Jr., went to
and was graduated form the Central Islip High School. For several years he
was in the employ of the Geza Adam Handbag Company of Ronkonkoma. Then, in
1941, he was instrumental in the entire reorganization of the Bayliss ice
and coal business into the present Bayliss Fuel Oil Company, Inc., and later
in adding the Bayliss Heating Company, Inc., to the business. As
secretary-treasurer of the two concerns he has played an important role in
developing them into important, prosperous enterprises.
Mr. Buday married Helen Gerocs, daughter of his partner, Charles Gerocs, and
Mrs. Gerocs, at Lake Ronkonkoma, on June 30, 1940. They have two children:
Joan, born April 20, 1943, and Charles, born May 31, 1946. Mr. and Mrs.
Buday worship at St. Mary's Episcopal Church in Ronkonkoma. Mr. Buday is a
member of the Suffolk County Police Association and through his business, of
the Oil Heating Institute of America.
Mr. Gerocs was born in Arad, Hungary, on January 6, 1894, the son of Frank
and Susan (Kesiai) Gerocs. He came to the United States in 1922, settling at
first in New York. In 1939 he moved to Ronkonkoma, and several years later
became associated with Mr. Buday and Mr. Habich in the oil fuels and burners
Mr. Gerocs married Mary Veres of Arad, Hungary. Helen, now Mrs. James Buday,
Jr., is their only child. Mr. and Mrs. Gerocs also worship at St. Mary's
GILMARTIN, Richard Timothy
A native of East Hampton in Suffolk county, Richard Timothy Gilmartin is the
son of the late Thomas D. Gilmartin, having been born at East Hampton, and his
mother, who is also deceased, Emma J. (Maran), having been a native of Water
Mill in the Town of Southampton.
Richard Timothy Gilmartin, after graduating from the East Hampton High School,
attended Fordham University in the borough of the Bronx, New York City, where
he received his degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1925. In that same year he
entered the general construction business in Montauk, Suffolk County, which
occupied him until 1930, when he turned to the insurance business in which he
has engaged to the present time, still maintaining his office in Montauk.
Mr. Gilmartin's lively interest in public affairs led to his election in 1932
to the office of town clerk of the Town of East Hampton, which position he
filled until 1940. In the fall of the latter year he was elected commissioner
of welfare of Suffolk County, taking office on January 1, 1941. In this post
he is still serving at this writing.
A Republican in politics, Mr. Gilmartin is a member of the board of directors
of the Suffolk County Republican Club, and holds membership also in the
National Republican Club. In the field of his particular interest as
commissioner of welfare, he is affiliated with the National Conference of
Social Work; with the New York State Association of Local Agents; with the
American Public Welfare Association; with the New York State Conference on
Social Work, of which he was vice president in the 1944-1945 term; and of the
New York State Association of Public Welfare Officials, of which he became
president in June, 1945, continuing to hold that office for two years.
Mr. Gilmartin also belongs to Lodge Number 1574, at Southampton, of the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. A Roman Catholic in religion and a
communicant of the church of that denomination at Bellport, Mr. Gilmartin is a
member of Bishop Molloy Laymen's Retreat Guild of Jamaica, Queens County, City
of New York.
At East hampton, Suffolk County, in 1927, Richard Timothy Gilmartin married
Winifred Jane O'Brien, a daughter of James O'Brien of Amagansett. Of this
union five children have been born, all at Southampton: 1. James. 2. Jane. 3.
Barbara. 4. Richard Timothy, Jr. 5. Thomas
GLOVER, Ralph Latham
Ralph Latham Glover of Southold, was born in that village on March 21,
1902. He was a son of the late John S. Glover, who was a native of Cutchogue
in Suffolk County, a farmer who died when Ralph L. Glover was still in his
infancy, and of his wife Elmira Latham (Austin ) Glover, who was born at
Wainscott, Suffolk County, and is still living. The young Ralph Latham was
educated at the public grade and high schools of Southold, but began working
while still in his 'teens'. His first employment as a draftsman with the
Electric Boat Company at Groton, Connecticut, on the northern shore of Long
Island Sound.His employment was from 1919-1923. Between 1923-1926, Mr.
Glover engaged in various activities around the country, but then returned
in the later year to his native Southold and established himself in a
plumbing and heating business. Mr. Glover is a member of the Custer
Institute, which is a local scientific organization. He belongs to the
Southold volunteer fire department, and his religious affiliation is with
the Methodist Church. At Southold on June 28, 1930, Ralph Latham Glover was
married to Una Belle Young of Kansas City, Missouri, a daughter of R. Lee
and Carrie (Collette) Young. Mrs. Glover is a member of the Rebekahs. The
following children have been born: (1) Ralph Graham, April 22, 1933. (2)
Margaret Elaine, February 14, 1940. Both children were born at Southold.
GLOVER...........Source: 1931 Westchester County Social Register. Page: 71
Mr. Benjamin Guion Glover, 53 Bon Air Ave., New Rochelle; New Rochelle 4431;
children, Mr. and Mrs. John C. Glover (Helen Dietz); Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin
G. Glover, Jr. (Gladys Miller) Mr. and Mrs. Clarence M. Glover (Marie
Volmer), Mrs. H.M. Van Tine (Florence Glover), Mrs. H.L. Morrison (Edith
Glover), Mrs. A.M. Thorne (Marion Glover).
GLOVER......Source: 1930 New York Social Blue Book
Glover, Mr. & Mrs. James A. 36 E. 76
Mr. & Mrs. Franklin F. Olmsted
Miss Suzanne L. Charles
Glover, Mr. & Mrs. John Le Roy, Southport, Conn.
Glover, Mrs. Walter E., 25 E. 86
GRASER, Frank X.
Mr. Graser was born in Bavaria, Germany, On September 16, 1889, the
son of Michael and Theresa (Mayr) Graser. His father was a farmer in
Bavaria. Before coming to the United States, Frank Graser studied in the
German equivalent of American elementary and high schools and worked as an
apprentice in the brewing industry. In 1914, when he was nearly twenty-five
years old, he migrated to the United States, settling in Lindenhurst. There
he became associated first with the Eichhammer Brewery and subsequently with
Piel's Brewery. In 1934 He was one of the founders of the Linden Brewery in
Lindenhurst. He served this concern as vice president until 1946, when the
business was sold to the Fatato Brothers, who have continued it under its
old and original name, with Mr. Graser as an associate. Mr. Graser and his
family are members of the Lutheran Church in the village of Lindenhurst. Mr.
Graser married Johanna Eichhammer, daughter of Otto and Katie (Schmid)
Eichhammer, in Lindenhurst on September 15, 1920. They have two children:
Clara, born June 7, 1922, a graduate of Lindenhurst High School and the
Heffley Business School, Brooklyn, now assistant cashier in her father's
bank and married to Fred Kohmann of Forest Hills; and Johanna, born October
14, 1925, graduate of Lindenhurst High School, now a secretary at the Linden Brewery. (end of article)
Below are links that refer to the Eichhammer name.
In this link appears the name of Otto F. Eichhammer 1916-1920 Linden Brewery, Inc.
This link talks about Otto Eichhammer who purchased a pond from John Feller
when he bought the Feller Brewery.
cypress hills, national cemetery (deceased)
Eichhammer, William, d. 07/08/1934, PVT CO D 308 INF, Plot: 12 14616, bur.07/11/1934, *
Paul Eichamer (requester)
GREENE, Harold J.
He was born in Huntington on January 17, 1916, a son of Joseph H. and
Lavinia Ann (Parmenter) Greene. Joseph H. Greene who was born at Centerport,
Long Island, on March 8, 1888, is a general contractor at Huntington. His
wife is a native of Brooklyn, New York, born there on August 24, 1880,
before it became one of the boroughs of Greater New York. The elder Mr.
Greene is a veteran member of the Jephtha Lodge No. 494 of the Free and
Accepted Masons, meeting in Huntington. Harold J. Greene attended the
public grade schools of his native village and graduated from the Huntington
High School before enrolling for the study of architecture at Cornell
University ion Ithaca, New York. From this institution he received the
degree of Bachelor of Architecture upon graduation with the class of 1938.
From this year until 1942 he was employed by various architectural firms.
Mr. Greene enlisted in the United States Army during World War II. A Staff
sergeant in the 1780th Engineer Parts Supply Company. He received an
honorable discharge in 1946. In 1946 he received his license as an architect
in the state of New York. Mr. Greene is a member of the Brooklyn Chapter of
the American Institute of Architects. He belongs to the Huntington Post No.
360 of the American Legion and is an active member of the Key Men Club of
Huntington, which is an association of young professional and businessmen.
If there was an element of pure chance in the circumstances in which Ernest
Hackwitz first entered the field of banking, there was also, one might say,
the hand of destiny, for banking proved to be his true vocation, and through
one rank after another in the institution which he joined in a humble
capacity nearly forty years ago__ the First National Bank of Farmingdale,
Long island.__Mr. Hackwitz rose to the presidency which he has so ably
filled since 1938.
A son of Emil and Amelia (Cooke) Hackwitz, Ernest Hackwitz was born in
Dayton, Ohio, on February 6, 1886. He began his education in the public
schools of Cincinnati in his native state, but being brought during boyhood
to Farmingdale, finished his schooling there. His first employment was with
the Bausch Picture Frame and Moulding Manufacturing Company in Farmingdale,
rising from errand boy to shipping clerk, after which he worked for six
months as an assistant bookkeeper in the office of a lumber company at
Amityville, New York.
Meanwhile on October 1, 1907, the First National bank of Farmingdale was
organized and opened its doors for business. Within a month the business of
this new financial institution was growing so fast that the cashier needed
an assistant. Ernest Hackwitz attracted attention as an industrious, alert
young man, and was offered, and accepted, a clerkship in the bank, beginning
on November 10, 1907.
The First national Bank of Farmingdale, Long island, started its operations
with a capital of $25,000. Its growth is graphically illustrated by the fact
that today its capital funds are over $450,000 including surplus and
profits. It shows total resources of more than $8,000,000, and is the
custodian of deposits in excess of $7,500,000, as against deposits of
$50,873 on December 1, 1907. As Mr. Hackwitz says. "That is progress; and we
are proud of that record. Our bank has ceased to be a little country bank
(as one man called it)."
Mr. Hackwitz rose from clerk to teller, from teller to assistant cashier, to
cashier and to vice president. Upon the death in 1938 of the former
president, the late Dr. James F. Michel, Ernest Hackwitz became president,
and has held this office to the present time. Much of the growth and success
of the First National Bank of Farmingdale in recent years is attributed to
the far-seeing wise and experienced management of Mr. Hackwitz. In a
brochure issued on October 1, 1942, in celebration of the bank's
thirty-fifth anniversary, Mr. Hackwitz attributed its growth public service
based on three factors: 1. Faith in the Farmingdale community, in its
depositors and clients, and their reciprocal faith in the bank. 2. Courage
in wise and prudent investments in people, their industries and businesses,
their farms and homes. (Farmingdale, the location of a New York State
agricultural school, is the center of a rich farming district.) 3. Vision
in performing our part in making Farmingdale and its adjacent area an
industrial and business center where there is employment in industry, good
business opportunities, and happy comfortable living, with parks for
recreation. Mr. Hackwitz doubtless was thinking particularly of the Bethpage
State Park, adjacent to Farmingdale.
As of the thirty-ninth anniversary of the founding of the First National
Bank of Farmingdale, the officers in addition to President Ernest Hackwitz,
were Aaron Stern and Rudolph H. Weber, vice presidents; John V. Donlon,
cashier; Joseph G. Brune, Jr., Assistant cashier. The board of directors
including Ernest Hackwitz, are Robert H. Bailey, George C. Berger, John E.
Duryea, W. Dwight Nostrand, P. Howard Ohm, Aaron Stern and Rudolph H. Weber.
The bank holds membership in the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
The First National Bank of Farmingdale today is concededly one of the
leading banking institutions, and one of the soundest as well as one of the
most progressive in all of Nassau County. Eloquent evidence of the
astuteness and soundness of its management down the years is the fact that
to the present time, it has paid dividends of $240,000 on its common stock.
Mr. Hackwitz was associated with the late Dr. Michel, his predecessor as
president of the First National Bank and an outstanding citizen of
Farmingdale, in the J.F. Michel Realty Corporation, which developed a plot
of forty acres of vacant land in East Farmingdale during 1925-1930 on which
they erected one hundred and fifteen homes, nearly all of which were sold on
the pay-as-you-go principle__a plan later used and refined by H.O.L.C. and
in the F.H.A. type of home purchase plan.
Mr. Hackwitz has always taken a keen interest in public affairs in his
community. He has served as public affairs in his community. He has served
as clerk of the board of education of Farmingdale and later as a member of
that body, and he has also sat upon the board of trustees of the village
government. At this time he is a member of the Nassau County board of public
welfare. In politics he is an active member of the Republican party. He is
also interested in the work of the Rotary Club, to which he belongs and
finds time for fraternal life as a member of Bethpage Lodge, No. 975, of the
Free and Accepted Masons, in Farmingdale, of which he is a charter member
and a Past Master since 1927. In religion he is a Protestant.
In 1907 Ernest Hackwitz was married to Maud Powell, a native of Farmingdale
and a daughter of Waite and Catherine Maxson Powell. In 1922 Mr. and Mrs.
Hackwitz moved to their home at 9 Clinton Street, in that village where both
reside at this time.
Name of Requester: Pat Shanks
HADDATH, Thomas K.
He was a native of England who came to the United States in his
boyhood days. A son of William Haddath, a farmer, and his wife Phoebe
(Freers) Haddath, both of whom were natives of England and both of whom are
now deceased. Thomas K. Haddath was born at Barrow-in-Furness, England on
August 9, 1887 and came to this country in the year 1900. He settled first
in New York City where he attended the Renouard School of Embalming there
and was subsequently associated with various undertaking establishments in
that city, gaining invaluable experience, until 1936. In 1936 he came to
Hempstead, Nassau County, to join the fim then known as the F.E. Cornell
Funeral Chapel. This business was established by John A. Whittaker more than
one hundred years ago. The founder was succeeded by William Anderson, from
whom Clarence E. Cornell purchased it. The business was incorporated on
January 1, 1923, as the F.E. Cornell Company, Inc., with Mr. F.E. Cornell
becoming President. F. E. Cornell made the establishment which housed his
business one of the most attractive and up-to-date on Long Island outside
the Borough of Brooklyn, with complete modern equipment. Association with
such a progressive ethical firm was a happy one for Thomas K. Haddath, and
when Mr. F.E. Cornell retired in 1945, Mr. Haddath became president and
manager of the concern, which is now known as the F.E. Cornell Funeral
Chapel Inc. The chapel and office, formerly at 268 Fulton Avenue, Hempstead,
is now situated at 375 Fulton Avenue. During the first World War, Mr.
Haddath enlisted in the British Navy and was in service for three years. He
is an Episcopalian in religion and a member of St. George's Church of that
denomination. He is affiliated with Zetland Lodge No. 15, on the Island of
Malta, of the Free and Accepted Masons; with Signet Chapter No. 323 Royal
Arch Masons; with the Nassau Commandery, No. 73, of the Knights Templar and
with the Valley of Newark Consistory. In 1928 Thomas K. Haddath was married
to Kate Clarissa Dyer, a native of Gloucester in England who died in 1940.
In 1943, Mr. Haddath re-married the bride being Emeline Tracy Loomis of
Colchester, Connecticut. Mrs. Haddath is a member of Lord Stirling Chapter
of the Daughters of the American Revolution of Hempstead, New York.
HALL, Leonard Wood
Since his graduation from Georgetown University, Leonard Wood Hall has
made a career of the practice of the law and of service in public official
capacities. He is Congressman representing the First New York District, and
a prominent attorney of Oyster Bay. Mr. Hall was born in this community, on
October 2, 1900, son of Franklyn H. and Mary A. Garvin Hall, and was
educated in local schools on Long Island and Georgetown University, being
graduated from the latter institution in 1920, with the degree Bachelor of
Laws. On May 10, 1934, Leonard Wood Hall married Gladys Dowsey of
Manhasset, Long Island, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James L. Dowsey. He
maintains professional offices at No. 96 South Street while his home is at
No. 147 Antice Street, Oyster Bay. He attends the Protestant Episcopal
Church. He is also affiliated with the Free and Accepted Masons and the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.
From the political graveyard
a.. Hall, Leonard Wood (1900-1979) -- also known as Leonard W. Hall -- of
Oyster Bay, Nassau County, Long Island, N.Y. Born in Oyster Bay, Nassau
County, Long Island, N.Y., October 2, 1900. Republican. Lawyer; member of
New York state assembly from Nassau County 2nd District, 1927-28, 1934-38;
sheriff; U.S. Representative from New York, 1939-52 (1st District 1939-45,
2nd District 1945-52); delegate to Republican National Convention from New
York, 1944 (alternate), 1948, 1952, 1956; Chairman of Republican National
Committee, 1953-57. Episcopalian. Member, Freemasons; Elks. Died in Glen
Cove, Nassau County, Long Island, N.Y., June 2, 1979. Interment at Memorial
Cemetery of St. John's Church, Laurel Hollow, Long Island, N.Y. See also:
HATTRICK, William J.
Originally a native of Canada, William J. Hattrick has been for a
number of years an attorney in Riverhead, engaging in the general practice
of law here. William J. Hattrick was born in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada,
July, 1894, the son of Edward and Mary Jane (Crowley) Hattrick. His father
was a farmer. The higher education of Mr. Hattrick was acquired at the
University of Toronto and the Osgoode hall Law School in Toronto. He was
admitted as an attorney in Ontario in 1925 and in New York State in 1933.
During the first World War Mr. Hattrick was a pilot in the Royal Air Force.
He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the
Knights of Columbus, as well as the Southampton and Ketchaboneck Golf Clubs.
In politics he is a Republican and he attends the Roman Catholic Church. On
October 13, 1927, at Peterborough, Ontario, William J. Hattrick married
Marion Hayes, daughter of John E. and Ellen (Hickey) Hayes. They are the
parents of three children: (1) Constance M., born August 26, 1928. She is a
graduate of Sag Harbor Academy, with the class of 1946 and now is attending
Mary Mount College at Tarrytown, New York. (2) Edward V., born November 27,
1929. He is attending the Riverhead High School with the class of 1947. (3)
William J., Jr., born July 17, 1935.
HAUSRATH, Allan C.
One of the substantial businessmen of the Amityville area of Suffolk
County is Allan C. Hausrath, whose retail establishment in that village has
grown with the recent growth of that county as a select and populous area of
suburban and country homes.
A son of Charles and Katherine (Loughrin) Hausrath, Allan C. was born
at Smithtown, on February 2, 1895. He graduated from the high school at
Central Islip in Suffolk County, and subsequently attended Columbia
University in the City of New York, where he took a number of special
courses. During World War I he was a member of the Seventh Regiment of the
National Guard of New York, with the rank of private.
Since 1925 Mr. Hausrath has been in the retail department store and
specialty shop business, and is at present the proprietor of the Park Avenue
Shop at Amityville, which he established in 1939, where he deals in junior
wearing apparel and other lines of merchandise. This thoroughly modern and
stylish establishment continues to be highly successful, and is one of the
most popular stores of its kind in that part of Long Island.
Mr. Hausrath is an active booster of the business interests and
prosperity of his community, being a member of the Amityville Chamber of
Commerce and of the Amityvile Lions Club, of which he served as president in
the 1946-1947 term. He is fond of out-door sports, his favorite recreations
being golf and fishing.
In March, 1916, Allan C. Hausrath married at Amityville, Ethel M.
Austin, who was born in Copiague, New York, and is a daughter of Stephen and
Sarah (Turner) Austin. The children of this marriage are: 1) Ralph Allan,
who was born in Copiague on June 9, 1918. He graduated from the Amityville
High School and subsequently from the Washington and Lee University in
Virginia, where he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He is now a
newspaperman, editing the Suffolk "Newsday." During World War II, Ralph
Allan Hausrath served in the United States Naval Reserve, and saw service in
the Pacific Theater of Operations, holding the rank of lieutenant, junior
grade. He married Matilda Prince, of Hempstead, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs.
Calvin Prince, and they have one child. Richard William. 2) Gordon Lewis,
who after graduating from the Amityville High School, entered Franklin and
Marshall college in Pennsylvania. During World War II he was in the United
States Naval Reserve, connected with naval aviation.
HENRY, Lindsay R.
A native Long Islander, Mr. Henry was born in the borough of
Brooklyn, Kings County, on July 10, 1900. He was a son of the late Edward
Ewen Henry, who died in 1936, and of his wife Adah (Lindsay) Henry, who is
still living at the age of seventy-two years. Ewen Henry who was a native of
the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, came to Babylon soon after the turn of
the century and was long engaged in a mercantile business there. Mrs. Adah
(Lindsay) Henry was born in New York City. Brought to Suffolk County's
village of Babylon on the South Shore in his infancy, Lindsay R. Henry
attended the public schools of that village and graduated from the Babylon
High School. A Legal career early became his ambition, and to prepare for it
he entered Washington and Lee University from which he received his degree
of Bachelor of Laws. In February, 1927, he was admitted to the bar of the
State of New York. From January 16, 1928 to January 1, 1933 he served as an
assistant United States attorney for the Eastern District of New York. From
January 1, 1933 to January 1, 1947 he served as assistant district attorney
of Suffolk County. The present firm of Henry, Lipp and Rehor of which Mr.
Henry is the senior member, was formed April 1, 1947. Mr. Henry has a record
of service in both World Wars. In the first of these conflicts he as a
machinist in the United States Navy. During the Second World War he was a
commander in the United States Naval Reserve. He commanded, LCI Flotilla 12
in the European Theater of Operations and was awarded the Silver Star Medal
by President Truman for conspicuous gallantry in action on June 6, 1944, in
the Normandy Invasion. There is a martial tradition in the maternal side of
his lineage, for his mother's father, the late William Lindsay, a noted
lawyer, served in the Union Army during the Civil War of 1861-1865, with the
rank of a captain in the 79th Regiment of the New York National Guard, which
was known as the Highlanders, being composed of citizens of Scottish birth
or derivation. Commander Henry is a prominent member of the Suffolk County
Bar Association. He belongs to the Free and Accepted Masons, being a member
of Babylon Lodge No. 793. He is a member of Christ Church, in Babylon, where
he serves as a vestryman. A Republican in politics, he is affiliated with
the Timber Point Republican Club. On November 3, 1925, at New York City,
Lindsay R. Henry was married to Gertrude Blakeman, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas
Blakeman. Of this union there are 3 children: (1) Thomas Edward who was born
on April 7, 1927. (2) Patrick, who was born on August 8, 1929. (3) Margaret,
who was born on May 8, 1943.
HILDRETH, Pierson R.
Born: January 8, 1907. (Native of Suffolk)
Parents: Charles A. Hildreth and Alice (Rogers) Hildreth.
Bridgehampton High School (1924),
Blair Academy, Blairstown, N.J. (1925) attended
Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn.
(degree of Bachelor of Philosophy in 1924.
Law School of Harvard University, Cambridge,Mass.
Graduated class of 1932. Degree: Bachelor of Laws.
Admitted to New York State Bar-1933.
Member of the Board of Education-Amityville
President of the Suffolk County Bar Association-1946.
June 1, 1933 at Malden, Massachusetts, Pierson R. Hildreth
married Kathryn Staples, a daughter of the late Clarence Staples, of that
town, and his wife Ruth (Clarke) Staples.
HOLMES, Henry B.
A successful younger executive among the business of Glen Cove is
Henry B. Holmes, vice president and treasurer of the Columbia Ribbon and
Carbon Manufacturing Company. He has risen rapidly with this concern after a
period of service with the United States Navy during World War II.
Mr. Holmes is a native of Douglaston. He was born April 12, 1913, son
of Alfred Bertram and Ellen North (Winnett) Holmes. His father, who is a
native of Toronto, Canada, has been associated with the Columbia Ribbon and
Carbon Manufacturing Company since 1908, and is now chairman of the Board of
Directors. Mrs. Ellen Holmes is likewise still living.
After receiving his public school education in Douglaston, Henry B.
Holmes entered Westminster School at Simsbury, Connecticut, and is an
alumnus of Princeton University, where he received the degree of Bachelor of
Arts in 1936.
As a member of the Reserve Corps of the United States Navy, Henry B.
Holmes saw active service during World War II, holding a commission of
lieutenant, and remaining in the service for two years.
His connection with the Columbia Ribbon and Carbon Manufacturing
Company of Glen Cove dates from the beginning of his career, and he
familiarized himself with the plant's processes through work in the factory,
and was Eastern sales manager before the war. He advanced to more
responsible executive positions after his period of naval service, becoming
Vice-President in 1944, and treasurer in 1946. Mr. Holmes is also a director
of Columbia Ribbon and Carbon Manufacturing Company Inc.; Harris-Moers
Company of Cincinnati, Ohio; Canada Carbon Company, Toronto, Ontario; and
Nassau Union Bank, Glen Cove.
Mr. Holmes is a Republican in his politics, and is a member of the
Nassau Country Club. He is a communicant of the Dutch Reformed Church in
Douglaston, his birthplace.
In New York City, December 26, 1936, Henry B. Holmes married Virginia
Rawson, daughter of Cecil and Stella (Sutphin) Rawson. Mr. and Mrs. Holmes
are the parents of three children: 1) Virginia Ellen, born October 17, 1939.
2) Margaret Townsend, born May 6, 1941. 3) David Reesor, born May 18, 1948.
The family makes its home in Old Brookville.
KALIN, Lewis J.
He grew up working among and learning to understand flowers, and this early
experience doubtless was the fertile ground of his success as a commercial
florist since he established himself in that field, at Greenport in Suffolk
County, more than a quarter of a century ago.
Born at Glen Spey in the most mountainous part of Sullivan County, New York,
on January 27, 1899, Lewis J. was a son of the late Gustave and the late Ida
H. (Weber) Kalin, both of whom are buried at Glen Spey. Lewis J. Kalin
attended public school in his native village and worked on a large private
estate there before going to Stafford Springs, Connecticut, to take
employment with a commercial florist. This was in 1920, and March of the
following year Mr. Kalin came to Long Island to work for I.M. Rayner, a
leading florist at Greenport. In 1933 Mr. Kalin formed a business
association with Mr. Rayner and the firm became known as Rayner and Kalin.
Finally in 1940 Mr. Kalin purchased Mr. Rayner's interest, and since that
time the business has been conducted in Mr. Kalin's name. Under his
experienced management it continues to be highly successful and is among the
large suppliers of flowers to the commercial market in New York City and
Mr. Kalin belongs to the Suffolk County Farm Bureau and is a member of the
Florists Telegraph Delivery Association. In religion he is affiliated with
the Methodist church. His recreation is baseball and hunting.
At Greenpoint, Suffolk County, New York, on June 24, 1923, Lewis J. Kalin
married Marguerite E. Brown, a daughter of Herbert R. and Viola E. (Brady)
Brown. Six children have been born to Lewis J. and Marguerite E. (Brown)
Kalin: 1) Herbert, on September 24, 1924. After graduation from high school,
he answered the call to the colors in World War II, and as a member of
Company B, 106th Engineers, of the United States Army, he served with
gallantry for three and a half years, seeing much action in the Pacific
Theater of Operations, receiving battle stars and a Presidential citation,
and being promoted to the rank of corporal before his honorable discharge.
Since leaving the armed service Herbert Kalin has been associated with his
father in the latter's business. 2) Robert R., born on June 5, 1927. He left
high school to join the United States Navy, and became a seaman second
class. 3) Donald L., who was born on February 23, 1929, and graduated from
high school. 4) Lloyd C. born September 14, 1931. 5) Marjorie R., born on
August 16, 1932. 6) Barbara L. born on April 29, 1935.
JOHANKNECHT, Edwin, Jr.
He was born at Jamaica, Queens County, on October 20, 1879, long before
Queens became a part of New York City. Mr. Johanknecht is a son of Edwin and
Sarah K. Johanknecht. The elder Edwin Johanknecht had been a merchant in
Patchogue for many years. Edwin, Jr., entered the service of the Union
Savings Bank of Patchogue as a clerk in 1901. Throughout the years he has
given his faithful service to this financial institution and has risen
through various ranks to the office of president, which he has ably held
since 1943. Mr. Johanknecht served the village of Patchogue as treasurer for
twenty-seven years. He has been active in business and civic circles and is
a member of the Patchogue Rotary Club. In Religion he is a
Congregationalist. Masonry has been one of his great interests throughout
his lifetime. He belong to the South Side Lodge of Patchogue, Free and
Accepted Masons, of which he is a former treasurer. He is a past high priest
of Suwasset Chapter No. 195 of the Royal Arch Masons of Patchogue, and a
past Commander of Patchogue Commandery No. 65 of the Knights Templer. He is
also affiliated with Kismet Temple, Brooklyn, New York, of the Ancient
Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine.
The following record is that of Alanson Ketcham, builder, native and
life-citizen of Farmingdale, of his children and of ancestral origins.
According to family records, Edward Ketcham who came to Ipswich,
Massachusetts Bay Colony, in 1635, was the progenitor of the Ketcham family
in America. Edward Ketcham died in Stratford, Connecticut, and his will was
proved June 17, 1655. On Long Island, one John Ketcham, Sr., is named as one
of the grantees in the Nicholl's Patent of Huntington, November 30, 1666.
One of his children, David, was born in Huntington, just two hundred years
before the birth of Alanson Ketcham of this record.
Joshua Ketcham (David, John, Edward), was married, June 6, 1737, to
Jerusha Whitman. Their second son, Zebulon Ketcham, was born October 21,
1782, and died February 18, 1858. He married, January 9, 1803, Hannah
Snedicor, who was the daughter of John and Charity (Conklin) Snedicor, born
April 10, 1782, and died August 13, 1871. She was the great grandmother of
Alanson Ketcham. Charity Snedicor died April 23, 1839, at the age of
eighty-three years. Mr. and Mrs. Ketcham were the parents of ten children.
From the family Bible of Alanson Ketcham, Nathaniel, son of Daniel,
married, October 31, 1834, Charity Ketcham, daughter of Zebulon Ketcham.
Nathaniel Ketcham was born May 5, 1807, and died September 21, 1883, at the
age of seventy-six years, four months and sixteen days. Charity Ketcham was
born December 16, 1819. They were the parents of the following children: 1)
Phebe Eliza, born September 13, 1835; she married John Albin, and they were
the parents of seven children. 2) Hannah M. born July 4, 1839, who married
Joss Edwards. 3) Mahlon J. born December 26, 1842 married Martha E. Walters
who was born April 25, 1853, and they were the parents of four children: a)
Stewart W., born June 27, 1871. b) Norman D., born November 28, 1874. c)
Raymond, born November 3, 1877. d) Alanson, of whom further. 4) Antinett
C., born November 10, 1846; married Harry Tuttle of Amityville and they had
Alanson Ketcham, son of Mahlon J. and Martha E. (Walters) Ketcham, was
born at Farmingdale, August 28, 1883. His father was a mason and contractor
of Long Island, and the son has followed somewhat in his footsteps, becoming
a prominent builder. One of his chief personal interests is in the Long
Island Historical Society and the Huntington Historical Society. He worships
in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is active in
humanitarian and civic circles.
On November 25, 1907, at Farmingdale, Alanson Ketcham married Augusta
C. Eckert, daughter of Charles C. and Eliza (Hubner) Eckert. Mr. and Mrs.
Ketcham are the parents of four children; 1) Mahlon, born September 26,
1908. 2) Duryea, born June 18, 1910. 3 ) LeRoy, born June 11, 1912. 4)
Kathryn M., born July 11, 1919.
Business brought John Kluge to Greenport in Long Island's Suffolk County in
1905, for a comparatively short stay, but evidently the attractions of that
historic little seaport exerted their influence over him, for in 1910 he
returned, established himself in business, and remained to become the first
mayor of Greenport incorporated village, and one of its most popular and
Mr. Kluge was born at Jersey City, New Jersey, on September 29, 1878, a son
of John Kluge, a barber by trade and his wife Catherine (Gau) Kluge. The
elder John Kluge conducted his business in Hoboken, New Jersey. The younger
John was educated at the public schools there and in Jersey City. He
perceived the future of the automobile in the earliest days of its
development, and since 1901 has been continuously connected with the
development of that form of transportation, in one way or another. For a
time he worked in New Jersey in connection with the electrical problems of
the automobile business. His first visit to Greenport in 1905 was for the
purpose of repairing cars. When he returned in 1910 it was to enter the
garage business, and in that year he built the garage on Front Street which
he continues to occupy at the present time.
Progressive, efficient and popular, Mr. Kluge became an influential public
leader in his adopted community, and in the Spring of 1926 was elected, as
already noted, the first mayor of the village of Greenport, for a six-year
term. In 1938 he was re-elected, and at this writing he still fills the
chief public office of Greenport, commanding the respect and confidence of
his fellow-citizens by his ability, integrity and devotion to public good.
During World War II he was an official of the civilian defense set-up in the
town of Southold. For the past twenty-five years Mayor Kluge has been an
active member of the Greenport Club. He is also a veteran in Masonry,
holding membership in the Peconic Lodge No. 349 of the Free and Accepted
Masons and in the Kismet Temple, of Brooklyn, New York, of the Ancient
Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member of the Methodist
John Kluge married Winifred Wells, a native of Southold, Suffolk County, New
York. Of this marriage there are four children, all of whom are boys: 1)
John, who graduated from the Greenport High School. 2) Walter, who was born
in Jersey City, New Jersey, and graduated from High school at Greenport. 3)
Arthur, who was born in that part of Jersey City known as Jersey City
Heights. Like his brothers he is a graduate of Greenport High School. 4)
Frederick, who was born at Greenport, Suffolk County, New York, and
graduated from high school there before entering the United States Army in
1935, as a private. By subsequent promotions he became a chief warrant
officer and then, while overseas with the late General George H. Patton, a
lieutenant. The holder of numerous citations and three battle stars,
Lieutenant Kluge is now with the United States First Army.
LEWIS, Edwin Henry
He was born at Port Washington, New York, on August 26, 1892, Edwin
Henry Lewis is the son of George and Clara Lewis. He was educated in the
public schools of Port Washington, and early became employed in local
concerns. He has had a vast nautical experience, being known as Captain
Lewis, and he eventually founded the Lewis Transportation Corporation. This
enterprise operates five vessels and transports all the petroleum products
for the Lewis Coal and Oil Company of which he is a stockholder. Fraternally
he is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; a member of the
Port Washington Kiwanis Club, and the Manhasset Bay Sportsmen's Club. He
attends the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is generous in his contributions
to religious and charitable works. On November 28, 1913, at Port Washington,
New York, Edwin Henry Lewis married Jennie Whaley, daughter of Benjamin and
Grace Whaley. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis are the parents of six children, all of
whom are married, except the youngest daughter; Anita; Edna; Edwin, Jr.;
Grace; Gladys; and Catherine.
Before the two brothers George, born in 1869 and Frank Lewis of Port
Washington, entered into one of the most highly competitive enterprises in
the world, the marketing of oil, they were "baymen," harvesters of the sea
where they obtained clams and oysters for market, from which they obtained
a fine livelihood from the cultivation of shellfish. Port Washington is part
of a natural harbor, which Long Islanders claim is the lovliest found on the
Atlantic Coast. When George Henry Lewis was eighteen years old he owned a
boat which he named the "Shamrock," Shortly afterward he formed a
partnership with his brother, Frank, and together once a week they set out
in their craft, laden with shellfish, bound for the New York markets along
the East River. As their business flourished the Lewis brothers sold the
"Shamrock," and built a larger craft which they named the "Gladys L." The
brothers becoming advanced in years and their business was thriving, when
misfortune befell them. It became illegal to take shellfish from Manhasset
Bay and neighboring waters. The brothers were untrained for any other
business but that which involved the operation of boats. It was George who
first suggested thaty they head the boat to the coal docks in New Jersey.
Thus they entered the coal business, about which they knew nothing and for
which they owned no equipment. Before long the Lewis brothers had invested
in trucks and they were delivering coal to outlying residential sections as
well as to Port Washington. Now that the business was well established, a
new threat was imminent. One of the residents had installed an oil burner
and in a matter of a few short months many homes had installed similar
equipment. The brothers George and Frank immediately launched plans to enter
the oil industry. The brothers formed the Lewis Coal and Oil Company. Since
the death of George Henry Lewis in 1941, the now substantial industrial
enterprise is operated by his three sons. Captain Edwin Henry Lewis,
president of the Lewis Transportation Company. A younger brother John M.
Lewis is vice president of the Lewis Coal and Oil Company. The third is
Harvey W. Lewis, president and general manager of Lewis Coal and Oil
Company. Frank Lewis retired at the age of seventy-two.
LINKLETTER, George Onderdonk
He was the son of Justus O. Linkletter and Annie Brinkerhoff (Onderdonk)
Linkletter was born June 25, 1880, on the Onderdonk estate at Manhasset,
where he still resides in the same house in which he was born.
The Onderdonk roots were among the earliest planted by the Dutch settlers,
and of their line were two significant branches, one remaining in Hempstead
and vicinity, the other moving up into New York State. Both branches are
represented in George O. Linkletter's family tree.
In the old Hempstead Harbor home Judge Hendrick Onderdonk was host to
General George Washington in the days of his Presidency. This house has
passed from the family possession. This Hendrick built the paper mill at
Roslyn, probably the first in New York State. Some of the paper there
produced is still to be seen, the water mark clearly distinguishable. The
paper mill still stands, also the grist mill.
The Linkletter family tree shows many of the early Holland Dutch names of
New Amsterdam settlers and of Long Island: Hardenbroeck, Brinkerhoff,
VanDerVoort, Onderdonk, with others in collateral lines.
From the Orkney Islands came the mariner, James Linkletter who married at
the First Presbyterian Church, New York City, in 1761, Catherine
Hardenbrook, daughter of Gerardus Hardenbrook and Heylte Cooley. James
Linkletter moved his family into Orange County where he is listed as serving
in the militia during the Revolution, as did two others of his Linkletter
kinsmen who had settled in New York.
Linkletter history in the Orkneys goes back to the fifteenth century when
among the early "Roithmen" was the Viking Criste Linckletor, as the name
developed, Linklater and Linkletter. His titles "Godman" (gentleman) and
"Roithman" (Assemblyman) indicated his status, as did his being listed among
the odallers or landholders of "the Earl's kin." From this Criste came the
Linkletters of Housbie in Birsay who are the ancestors of the James
Linkletter who came to New York and from whom George O. Linkletter is
directly descended. History shows these Linkletters were jurors and baillies
in Orkney and were one of the important families of the islands.
Catherine, wife of James Linkletter, was also of a family whose name appears
in New York records with some prominence. At the time when pure drinking
water was difficult to be had in the city, the Hardenbrooks owned a spring
which was called "Tea Water Pump," supply fresh water for a small sum to its
patrons. This spot became a fashionable gathering place and the "Tea
Garden," was much liked by the British officers during their occupation of
the city. It is recorded that after the Linkletter family went into Orange
County, Catherine appealed to the British commanding officer for a pass
permitting her to return to New York to collect the revenue due her from the
tea water spring. Not until the canal was drained and Canal Street built
over the bed, was suitable drinking water made generally available to the
city residents who had previously been forced to use canal water, unless
able to purchase the spring water. The Hardenbrook spring was at the corner
of Chatham and Roosevelt streets.
From Orange County the Linkletters spread to other parts of New York State
and some went farther West. Justus O., father of George O. Linkletter,
became associated with drug store interests in the Chicago area and
elsewhere over a period of years, then spent his later life in Manhasset. He
married twice, both his wives being Onderdonk sisters, daughters of Horatio
Gates Onderdonk and his wife Elizabeth Schenck also an Onderdonk; Annie B.,
mother of George O. Linkletter, died when he was about five years of age,
and his stepmother was his aunt, Catherine Elizabeth Onderdonk.
George O. Linkletter was educated at Saint Paul's School, Garden City, a
graduate in June 1898. He graduated from Princeton University with a degree
of Bachelor of Science, June 1902, and two years later from New York Law
School in New York City with a degree of Bachelor of Laws. He was admitted
to the New York State bar in June, 1904.
The following lists are the organizations to which he belongs, his interests
have been varied, representing promotion of religious, civic and general
community advancement in his native Manhasset, his county and his state, as
well as in matters pertaining to our Federal Government. He is a member of
the Princeton Club of New York, Manhasset Bay Yacht Club, Princeton Campus
Club of Princeton, New Jersey, and the Masonic Club of New York City.
He also holds membership in the following societies: Sons of the Revolution,
St. Nicholas Society, St. Nicholas Society of Nassau Island. St. Andrew's
Society, Burns Society, Nassau County Historical and Genealogical Society.
Mr. Linkletter is a member of the Society of Colonial Wars in the state of
New York, the Order of the Founders and patriots of America and the New York
Genealogical and Biographical Society. He is a member of the Free and
Accepted Masons. Paumanok Lodge, No. 855. at Great Neck, of which he was
Master in 1908, Melchizedek Chapter, No. 273, at Glen Cove of which he was
High Priest in 1910, Trinity Commandery, No. 68 Knights Templar at Flushing,
of which he was Commander in 1918, Adoniram Council, No. 36, Royal and
Select Masters at Flushing, of which he was Master in 1920, Grand Commandery
of the State of New York, of which he was Grand Commander 1927-28, Grand
Council of Royal and Select Masters of the State of New York, of which he
was Grand Master in 1927-28. He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective
order of Elks.
During a long and active business career George O. Linkletter has served as
director and vice president of the Bank of Nassau County at Great Neck and a
director of the First National Bank of Mineola. He now is a director of the
Port Washington National Bank and Trust Company, the Manhasset Safe Deposit
Company and has recently retired as a director and secretary of the Nassau
County Cancer Committee. He is a life member of the Agricultural Society of
In his early days he played baseball representing several North Shore
villages. He served as a volunteer fireman in Manhasset for many years and
was secretary for several years. He has been president of the Manhasset
Board of Trade, the Manhasset Exchange Club and the St. Paul's School Alumni
Association, and treasurer for many years of the last named organization.
During World War I, Mr. Linkletter served as campaign manager for the Red
Cross drives. He was vice chairman and chairman of all the War Loan
campaigns, he served in the Sheriffs' Reserves, Home Defense Corps and was
first lieutenant in the Manhasset Company of the New York State Guard. He
was treasurer of the Manhasset Bay Branch of the American Red Cross and was
awarded a Red Cross service button. He holds "Privileges of the Post for
life" in George A. Fowler Post of American Legion in Great Neck.
Mrs. Linkletter, who was Elizabeth Kearsley Wysong of Charles Town,
Jefferson County, West Virginia, comes from notable families, early settlers
in Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania: the Forrests, Browns, Kearsleys and
Wysongs. They were married February 21, 1914, at the Wysong homestead in
Charles Town. A Forrest ancestor served in the Revolution and several appear
in lists of officers in the Confederate Army during the War Between the
States. One of these was her grandfather, Major George William Tate Kearsley
who descended from one of the Presbyterian settlers of Pennsylvania in the
Carlisle region. It is said that one ancestress who came in 1608 to
Jamestown, Virginia, "Mistress Forrest" was the first gentlewoman to arrive
there and might well be called the "First Colonial Dame."
Like her husband, Mrs. Linkletter has varied civic and social interests. She
is a member of the James Henry Parker Chapter, United Daughters of the
Confederacy and has been a member in the following: Great Neck Women's Club,
and the Manhasset Health Association, past president of the Manhasset Branch
of the Needlework Guild of America, treasurer Cow Neck Branch, Women's
Auxiliary to Nassau Hospital, and directress of the Altar Guild of Christ
Church. Mrs. Linkletter has established eligibillity for the Society of
Colonial Dames of America.
The children are: Elizabeth Ann, wife of John T. Ricks: they have two
daughters, Elizabeth H Ricks and Justine L. Ricks; George O., Jr., who
married Lydia Martin of Philadelphia. They have one daughter, Sandra Joan.
He served in World War II as staff sergeant and saw service in the Aleutians
and Germany over a period of five years; James Wysong, who married Harriet
Mordt, and they have two sons, George O. II and James W., Jr., a first born
having died in infancy. He served as second class seaman in the late war and
was stationed continuously at Patuxent River, in the Naval Air Transport.
Justus O., who was connected with the air line in a civilian capacity
during the war, married Esther T. Crosland; they have a daughter, Sarah
Elizabeth and a son Justus O., Jr.
Tregellas@cox.net (Kim Tregellas - Requester)
On March 12, 1889 two brothers Gilbert E. and Arthur G. Loper started their business careers b y erecting a planing mill on West Broadway,
Port Jefferson. Arthur Gould Loper was born July 11, 1866 at Setauket, son of Gilbert Hicks and Mary Emily (Gould) Loper,
his father a former contractor and builder of houses at Sag Harbor, his mother a native of Lake Grove. His father passed away June, 1889,
his mother in April, 1913. On October 4, 1921, Gilbert E. Loper died and the firm name was changed to Loper Brothers Lumber Company,
Gilbert H. Loper, son of Gilbert E., as well as Arthur Gould Loper's son, Carroll M., being admitted to the firm.
On February 14, 1893, at Setauket, Arthur Gould Loper married Lizzie A. Hawkins,w ho was born here April 1, 1871, daughter of
Israel B. and Anna (Smith) Hawkins, both of whom are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Loper are the parents of four children, all born at
Port Jefferson: 1) Helen Gould, who married Forrest Heberlig, coal dealer of Port Jefferson, and is the mother of two daughters:
Jean and Muriel. 2) Gertrude Louise. (3) Carroll Merwin, associated in business with his father. 4) Mildred Frances.
Requester : Aine
LUKERT, Louis A.
The late William J. Lukert, a native of Germany who was brought to the
United States in boyhood, was an industrious, ambitious and ingenious man.
Originally settled in Brooklyn, New York, subsequently he moved to Center
Moriches where he engaged in the manufacture of shoes for which, despite the
difficulty of competition with the products of the big factories, he found a
market by resolutely going after it, loading his product on a horse-drawn
wagon and driving it about the countryside. He looked about for another
business, and in 1893 he and a partner started to raise ducks for the
commercial market on a farm at Eastport. This venture proved eminently
successful, and since the death of William J. Lukert, in 1935, three of his
sons have continued to carry on and to expand the business. This
partnership was dissolved after a few months trial and in 1894 he moved to
Moriches to continue duckraising.
William J. Lukert married Annie E. RUMFT, who died in 1940. They were
the parents of six sons and six daughters, namely Ralph, Theodore, William
G., Harold R., John M., Louis A., Emma, Angela, Isabelle, Pauline, A. Mabel
and Marian P. the latter three deceased. Louis A. Lukert was born at
Moriches on October 7, 1900. His education was begun in the public school at
Moriches and continued at Stuart High School in Florida, from which he was
graduated. After leaving school he appears to have taken his place at once
in the rapidly-growing family business of raising and marketing the choicest
Long Island ducks and ducklings, together with his brother Ralph and
Theodore. Louis A. Lukert is one of the most substantial citizens of that
section of Suffolk County known as "The Moriches", he is a director of the
Center Moriches Bank.
At Brookhaven, On September 1, 1922, Louis A. Lukert was married to
Leola L. Newey, a daughter of Samuel and Lillian (Lamb) Newey of that place.
The children of this marriage are: a) L. Boyd, who was born at Moriches
August, 1923, and Ronald A. born at Moriches in February, 1926.
MAGEE, Jr. Raymond L.
Four generations of Magees have farmed the same land at Water Mill, in the
town of Southampton. And Raymond L. Magee, Jr., the present owner and
cultivator of the land, is one of the most prominent farmers in Suffolk
County. He is active in cooperative farming activities and in the Roman
Mr. Magee was born at Bridgehampton, September 9, 1921, the son of Raymond
L. and Nora (Grimes) Magee. Raymond L. Magee, Sr. was born in Deerfield, New
York, 1888, educated in Southampton public schools and followed the
occupation of farming during his lifetime. He was a member of the Roman
Catholic Church. In 1915 he married Nora Grimes of Genesee, Pennsylvania.
Raymond L. Magee, Jr., was one of six children, all living. His grandfather,
John Magee was born in Deerfield and followed the occupation of farming.
Raymond L. Magee, Jr. is a graduate of the East Hampton High School. On the
death of his father in 1944, he inherited the two hundred and seventy acres
comprising the farms in Water Mill and Sagaponack and there he raises
potatoes exclusively. The farm was originally owned by his grandfather John
Magee. Mr. Magee is a member of the Suffolk County Farm Bureau and is a
trustee of the Bridgehampton Roman Catholic Church.
He married June Meschutte, daughter of Stephen and Emma (Sayre) Meschutte,
on October 31, 1942. They have three children: Sharon L., born August 13,
1943; Patricia L., born January 17, 1945, and Raymond L., born August 29,
1947. Mr. Magee's hobby is owning and training trotting horses.
MAHER, Edward A.
The business acumen which has brought notable success to Edward A. Maher of
Hempstead is perhaps an inheritance from able and successful forbears. His
grandfather, also named Edward A., who was born in Albany, New York, in 1848,
became a power in the business and public life of that city serving two terms
as mayor, before coming to New York City to assume the presidency of the Third
Avenue Railroad Company, which he headed for a quarter of a century. This
first Edward A. Maher, who died in 1920, was the father of Thomas A. Maher,
born at Albany in 1872. He took up his residence in the borough of the Bronx,
New York City, became a power in politics, and served as deputy registrar of
Thomas A. Maher, who died on October 17, 1944, married Seraphina Monaghan, a
native of New York City, born in 1875. She died on April 15, 1917. The second
Edward A. Maher, son of Thomas A. and Seraphina (Monaghan) Maher, was born in
New York City on June 5, 1899. His early education was at St. Augustine's
Academy. He received one of the coveted appointments to the United States
Naval Academy of Annapolis, Maryland, from which he graduated with the class
of 1921. Meanwhile he had served in the United States Navy during the first
World War, as a junior officer. Subsequently he became a naval aviator, with
the rank of ensign, and continued to serve in the Navy until 1926. In that
year he resigned his commission and entered the general contracting and
heating installation business at Hempstead, under the name of E. A. Maher, Inc.
Perceiving the trend of the times toward the use of oil as a fuel both in the
home and in commercial and industrial plants, Mr. Maher in 1930 founded the
Maher Oil Company, dealing in fuel oil at retail. Of this company he became
president, and has so remained to the present time. Growing with the
phenomenal growth of Nassau County as the most populous suburban area adjacent
to metropolitan New York, this company has enjoyed success from the beginning,
and can anticipate an even greater volume of business in the post-war era as
the pace of new residential construction accelerates.
With the coming of World War II, Mr. Maher was re-commissioned on December 7,
1941, as lieutenant commander in the United States Naval Reserve, and served
for the duration of the conflict, receiving from Admiral Jacobs a citation for
"valuable services for aviation armament development in time of war." Upon his
honorable discharge from the service, Mr. Maher returned to the management of
his business and to active participation in the civic and social life of the
community. He is a member of the Bradford Turner Post of the American Legion
at Garden City, and active in the affairs of the Rotary Club of Hempstead. Mr.
Maher and his family are communicants of the Roman Catholic Church of St. John
in Garden City. He belongs to the Cherry Valley Club, and his hobbies are golf
and trap shooting. In 1946 Mr. Maher was elected President of the Hempstead
Rotary Club. In Politics he is a member of the Republican party.
On January 16, 1924, Edward A. Maher was married to Joan Williams of Mt.
Kisco, Westchester County, New York, Mrs. Maher is a daughter of John and
Julia (O'Brien) Williams. Her father was a noted builder, the most important
of whose constructions are the Fifty-ninth Street bridge and the Croton Reservoir.
Edward A. and Joan (Williams) Maher are the parents of two children. 1. Edward
A., Jr., who was born on August 2, 1927. 2. Stuart Thomas, born on October 2, 1937.
A.J. Logan (Requester)
Farmingdale, Long Island, one of the state's most eminent authorities
and writers on historical subjects, has been for a number of years the
official historian of Nassau County, as well as the historian of the Village
of Farmingdale. He is prominently associated with a number of learned
societies, and is the author of three books on the subjects of his research.
Born in the village where he lives today, on September 4, 1889, Mr.
Merritt is a son of Jesse and Pauline (Willis) Merritt. His father was born
in 1839, and his grandfather in 1796. Both voted for Abraham Lincoln for
President, theirs being for three generations a staunch Republican family.
The house in which Mr. Merritt was born, was built by his ancestors in the
year 1699 on land purchased by them from the Indians, part of which he now
owns, and has been in the ownership of the descendants ever since. Mr.
Merritt's father, also named Jesse, was a son of John C. and Phebe
(Albertson) Merritt, and an agriculturist by occupation, a life member of
the Queens County Agricultural Society, and secretary of the Long Island
Farmers Club. A prominent citizen of his community, he served as a trustee
of the school district for thirty years and for twenty-five years was clerk
of the Bethpage Religious Society of Friends. His wife, Pauline Willis, was
the youngest child of Charles and Abigail Willis.
Mr. Merritt received his education at the Friends Academy, Locust
Valley, at the Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute, and Brooklyn Law School. From
1917 until 1924 he was clerk of the Nassau County Board of Supervisors and
during this period he saw military service, being a veteran of the 7th New
York Infantry Regiment (107th Federal), Company C, which outfit participated
in the Mexican Border affair in 1916. During World War I, he was attached to
G-3, 27th Division and served in France and Belgium. He worked on the
division's war diary. World War I. He received three awards; the Victory
Medal with three stars, the Cross of Honor and the Mexican Border Medal.
Mr. Merritt has been official historian of the village of Farmingdale
since 1920, and official historian of Nassau County since 1936. He is the
author of three books: "Two Hundredth Anniversary of Matinecock Meeting,
Locust Valley, Long Island, 1724-1924"; "Essays on Walt Whitman"; and
"Story of Nassau County, New York." These have received favorable reviews in
"New York History" and the "Saturday Review of Literature." He also has
written a number of articles appearing in the "Nassau County Historical
Society Journal" and the "Long Island Historical Society Journal."
A life member of the New York State Historical Association, Mr.
Merritt has belonged to this organization for twenty-two years. He has been,
since 1936, councillor of the Long Island Historical Society and is a member
of the Friends Historical Association and Honorary curator of the Friends
Historical Library at Swarthmore College, Swarthmore, Pennsylvania. He is
vice president of the Benjamin West Society at the same address. Mr. Merritt
is also chairman of the Joint Committee of Records for the New York Yearly
Meetings of the Religious Society of Friends. He is an honorary member of
the George Washington Society of Alexandria, Virginia, and of Phi Alpha
Theta, national honor society in history. Other memberships include: the New
York Historical Society: the American Lodge of Research (New York); the
Colonial Historical Society; the New York Genealogical and Biographical
Society (New York City); the American Association for State and Local
History; the American Historical Association; the Bibliographical Society of
America; the Typophiles; and the Grolier Club. He is a director of the
Nassau County Historical Society.
Mr. Merritt has been a member, since 1919, of the Morton Lodge in
Hempstead. Free and Accepted Masons, which lodge was founded in 1797,
becoming 1921, a charter member of the Bethpage Lodge in Farmingdale. He
served as its secretary for two years and he is a corresponding member of
the American Lodge of Research, with which he has been affiliated since 1934.
On April 3, 1917, Jesse Merritt married Mabel Elva Witte, the ceremony
taking place at 535 Second Street, Brooklyn, the Rev. Vedder Van Dyck, now
Bishop of Vermont, officiating. Mrs. Merritt is a daughter of Theodore and
Jeannette (Thurston) Witte, her maternal grandmother being a Hawkins. Mr.
and Mrs. Merritt are the parents of two daughters: 1. Jean, born in 1920, a
graduate of Swarthmore College. She is married to Andre Hubbard and resides
in Farmingdale. 2. Jessica, born in 1924, a graduate of Friends Academy,
Locust Valley, who also attended Swarthmore College. The Merritt homestead
is on Merritt Road in Farmingdale.
David Bridge (requester)
MULLER, Frederick H.
Highly esteemed as a lawyer by his colleagues at the bar and by his
numerous clients. Frederick H. Muller is even better known to the general
public of Center Moriches, Suffolk County, as one of the younger leaders in
the political affairs and the business and civic progress of that village.
Mr. Muller is a son of John and Anna (Brockman) Muller. John Muller
took up his residence in Center Moriches in the year 1919, and has remained
there, a prosperous farmer in an area that is still partly agricultural. The
son of John and Anna (Brockman) Muller whom they called Frederick H. was
born in the Borough of Brooklyn in New York City, on August 7, 1910. Thus he
was still a youngster when the family moved to Center Moriches, and after
attending public grade school at Moriches, he entered the Center Moriches
high school, from which he graduated with the class of 1926. Following this,
he attended Alfred University for three years before entering the Columbia
University Law School to prepare himself for the career at the bar upon
which his ambition was fixed. From that law school he received his degree of
Bachelor of Laws in 1933, and the following year he was admitted to the bar
of the State of New York.
Mr. Muller established his law office in the village of Center
Moriches soon after his admission to the bar, and there he has continued in
general practice to the present time, enjoying a lucrative business with
many important clients. He has also become a factor in banking in that part
of Suffolk County, and is a member of the board of directors of the Center
Mr. Muller belongs to the Suffolk County Bar Association, and to the
Center Moriches Rotary Club, of which he is a past president. His political
beliefs are indicated by the fact that he was a charter member of the
Suffolk County Republican Club. He is a Presbyterian in religion. His
fraternal affiliation is with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is
fond of gardening as a recreation.
In June, 1936, Frederick H. Muller was married at Center Moriches to
Astelle Reeve, a daughter of the late Arthur Reeve and his wife, the former
Arletta Ross, both of whom were natives of Suffolk County. Of this marriage
there are four children, all of whom have been born at Center Moriches: 1)
Frederick Arthur, in December, 1937. 2) John Bartlett, in November 1940.
3) Robert Bruce in October 1944 and Dorothy Mae, born March 29, 1947.
Terry Lynn Copeland (requester)
MURRAY, Rt. Rev. Monsignor Thomas F.
The year 1948 was exceptionally notable in the life of the Rt. Rev. Monsignor
Thomas F. Murray, pastor of St. Patrick's Church, Huntington, for it marked
the fortieth anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood; the
twenty-fourth year of his service of St. Patrick's Parish, and his elevation
to the rank of Domestic Prelate by His Holiness, Pope Pius XII.
Monsignor Murray was born in Albany, New York, on July 31, 1881, the youngest
of the five children of James and Mary (Heaney) Murray. His father, a stone
mason, was a native of Illinois. His mother was born in New York City. The
family moved to Brooklyn in 1889, where he attended St. Joseph's Parochial
School (Pacific Street). Upon his graduation with honors from St. Francis High
School and College, Brooklyn, he entered St. John's Diocesan Seminary in 1903
and was ordained by Bishop Charles E. McDonnell on April 25, 1908 at St. John
the Baptist Church, Brooklyn. His first appointment was at St. Thomas Aquinas
Church (Ninth Street), where he served as an assistant until 1916. On March
24th of that year, he was assigned as curate to St. Patrick's Church (Kent
Avenue). His first pastorate came on December 21, 1917, when he was appointed
to St. Anne's Church at Brentwood, Long Island. At that same time he became
also the chaplain of St. Joseph's Convent and Academy in Brentwood. Here the
Most Reverend Bishop Molloy authorized him to build St. Anne's Parochial
School which was completed in 1923 and opened in September of that year.
On February 11, 1924, Monsignor Murray was appointed to St. Patrick's,
Huntington, and came to his new parish on March 1st, to become its fourth
pastor, a position he has ably filled for the past twenty-four years.
A most able pastor, administrator and educator, St. Patrick's has grown
greatly under his ministrations, in properties, buildings and services,
religious and educational, rendered the parish. All this in addition to
spiritual growth. The parochial school had more than four hundred and fifty
pupils in 1948. Indicating the appreciation of the career of Monsignor Murray
by the Church, is the following letter, written about the occasion of his
elevation to the rank of Domestic Prelate by Pope Pius XII, on February 3,
March 25, 1948
Dear Monsignor Murray:
It is indeed a source of genuine gratification to announce to you that our
Holy Father has graciously deigned to confer upon you the dignity of Domestic
Prelate, with the title of Right Reverend Monsignor, and I am pleased to
present at this time the Papal Brief of official designation.
This ecclesiastical honor is bestowed in recognition of your notable priestly
zeal in promoting the sanctification of souls and of your very faithful
devotion to the advancement of works of religion, education and charity.
Permit me to extend to you most cordial felicitations in recognition of this
well merited distinction which you have received from the Supreme Pastor of
Christendom. I desire also to express the prayerful hope that you will be
favored with future years of divine blessing and aid in your priestly labors,
so as to realize a rich spiritual fruitage in your holy ministry and merit
divine approval and reward in time and in eternity.
Sincerely yours in Christ,
Thomas E. Molloy
BISHOP OF BROOKLYN
NEU, Hetty Armenia
A native of Bay Shore, where she was born on April 9, 1877, Mrs. Hetty
Armenia (Smith) Neu, the wife of Edward Theodore Neu of Lynbrook, Nassau
County, comes of notable ancestry in both family lines, and indeed through
her mother, can trace her lineage back not only to early settlers of Long
Island, but to some of the first white settlers on the eastern seaboard of
the North American continent. The Hubbards, her mother's family, settled in
Hingham, Massachusetts, in 1635, and some of them are known to have come to
Southampton, at least as early as 1748.
Although Hubbard is the most usual spelling of the name of this
family, it is found in ancient records, as Mrs. Neu has learned from
genealogical records in her possession, in a number of forms, including
Hoberd, Huberd, Hubert, Hoebard, Haburd, Hubird, Hubbert, Hubard and
Hulbert. It is believed to have been derived originally from the old Danish
name Hubba. In the newspapers, the "Nassau Daily Review-Star," of July 12,
1940, the story of the most distinguished member of this family, Captain
John Hulbert___sometimes also called Hubbard___is related.
Among the historical items displayed in the Long Island regional
exhibit at the World's Fair in Flushing Meadows in 1939 and 1940 was a flag
which was properly the object of much reverent attention. It is said to have
been the first flag of stars and stripes flown during the war of the
American Revolution, and records indicate that it was carried by Captain
John Hulbert in 1775. These records show that Captain Hulbert was a
ship-builder, and Mrs. Neu surmises that the flag may have been made by
members of his family to be flown from the stern of one of his vessels. It
is known that Captain Hulbert raised a company of volunteers in East
Hampton, Bridgehampton and Southampton, in June and July, 1775, to protect
four thousand head of cattle on the Montauk grazing lands, from British
raiders, the safety of this large herd of live stock being of great
importance for the provisioning of the Continental army. In September, 1775,
Captain Hulbert and his company joined the American forces at Fort
Constitution on the Hudson River, and subsequently went north and fought in
the battle of Ticonderoga. Assigned to escort British prisoners of war to
Philadelphia, Captain Hulbert's company, tradition has it, carried this flag
with them on the journey.
Captain Hulbert, or Hubbard, married Elizabeth Arthur at Huntington,
on January 25, 1748, as Mrs. Neu related in the "Nassau Daily Review-Star"
of the date cited above. Many descendants of this marriage are identifiable
today, and some of them trace their ancestry through branches of the family
that have wandered far from Long Island. The Suffolk County Historical
Society in 1940 received letters from Miss Adelaide L. Hurlbert of
Wethersfield, Connecticut and from Mrs. W. B. Heck of Owensboro, Kentucky,
containing information which showed them to be among these descendants.
Still living on Long Island are, in addition to Mrs. Neu, her daughter Mrs.
Charlotte Neu Crandell, her grandson Raymond Crandell, her sister Mrs.
Frances Davison of East Rockaway, and her brother Lorenzo D. Smith of
Captain John and Mrs. Elizabeth (Arthur) Hulbert had a son. Jeremiah,
born in Southampton, as family Bible records show. He married Esther Rogers
of East Hampton, by whom he had nine children, all born in Southampton. In
1812 he moved to Bay Shore and built a home on part of a farm facing what is
now Brook Street; this house has been moved to Second Street, where it is
still standing. Lewis, one of the nine children of Jeremiah and Esther
(Rogers) Hulbert (or Hubbard) married Josephine Peterson and among his
children was one Seth Rogers Hubbard. He is known to have been at one time
the keeper of the famous Fire Island lighthouse, from which all ships making
the port of New York were first reported.
Seth Rogers Hubbard married Betty Ann Abrams of East Rockaway, and
they had a daughter, Sarah Adelia, who married Oliver Winfield Smith of Bay
Shore. To this couple there were born ten children, three sons and seven
daughters, of whom the oldest was named Hetty Armenia. She attended school
in East Rockaway, and on July 21, 1901, was married to Edward Theodore Neu
Mrs. Hetty Armenia (Smith) Neu is a charter member of the Anne Carry
Chapter, of East Rockaway, of the Daughters of the American Revolution,
which was founded twenty-five years ago, and for the past twenty years she
has been historian of that chapter. She is affiliated with the
Congregational Church of East Rockaway.
Edward Theodore and Hetty Armenia (Smith) Neu are the parents of five
children: 1. Charlotte Elizabeth Smith, who was born on March 24, 1902. 2.
Olive Margaret, born on March 8, 1904. 3. Charles Edward, born December 9,
1906. 4. Anna Vail, born on October 1, 1910. 5. Frank Arthur, who was born
on May 10, 1917. This young man, who was a member of the National Society
of the Children of the American Revolution, splendidly vindicated his
lineage during the second World War. When his country needed his services
and the call to duty came, he joined the United States Army, becoming a
technical sergeant in the Air Corps. He had completed nineteen missions with
the Eighth Air Force when he fell a victim to the tragic chance of war. He
was shot down and killed over Doelzig, Germany, on November 30, 1944. For
his gallantry in the performance of his duties, Sergeant Frank Arthur Neu
had been awarded the Bronze Star with two oak leaf clusters.
David Bridge (requester)
Mr. Norris was born in Montreal, Canada, on December 10, 1878, the son
of James S. and Eleanor (Waud) Norris, and as a young boy attended the
Tucker School in Montreal. Later he studied at McGill University. In 1906
Mr. Norris became affiliated with Norris and Company, and two years later he
was president of the Norris Grain Company, which has branches in Chicago,
New York, Kansas City and Winnipeg. Highly regarded in other fields of
finance, Mr. Norris is also occupied with business duties as director of the
following; First National Bank of Chicago, Chicago Rock Island & Pacific
Railroad Company, Toronto Elevators Ltd., Norris Cattle Company, Madison
Square Garden Corporation and Upper Lakes & St. Lawrence Transportation Co.,
Ltd. He is also a trustee of the Atlantic mutual Insurance Company. Mr.
Norris was president of the Chicago Stadium Corporation, and Olympia Stadium
Corporation in Detroit, Michigan. Mr. Norris has for a number of years
belonged to the National Golf Links of America at Southampton. He is also a
member of the Racquet and Tennis Club in New York; the Chicago Racquet
Club; the Chicago Club; Bath and Tennis Club, and Everglades Club of Palm
Beach. On February 20, 1919 he married Marguerite Loris, by whom there are
three children: Mrs. Arthur R. Kneibler, Jr., Miss Marguerite A. Norris of
Lake Forest, Illinois, and Bruce A. Norris of St. Louis, Missouri. Mr.
Norris' son, James D. Norris, by his late wife, Ethel Carlisle Dougan
Norris, resides at Mattituck and at Coral Gables, Florida.
ORMSBY, Walter M.
No cloistered scholar, but an active participant both in the cause of
progress in education, and in the civic affairs of his community, is Walter M.
Ormsby, who since 1936 has ably filled the position of district supervisor of
schools in the second supervisory district of Long Island's Suffolk County.
Years of useful experience as an active teacher eminently fitted Mr. Ormsby
for the tasks and duties of his supervisory role.
The son of a prosperous farmer, the late Walter Gillett Ormsby, and of his
wife the former Bertha Clair, who is now also deceased, Walter M. Ormsby was
born at Alfred's Station in upstate New York, on October 26, 1905. His father
before him was also a native of Alfred's Station, and with his wife, is buried
there. The young Walter M. Ormsby attended the Alfred High School, from which
he graduated in 1922, and went on to Alfred University, where he took his
degree of Bachelor of Science with the class of 1926. In the year of his
graduation he began teaching mathematics in the summer school of Alfred University.
In 1926 also began Walter M. Ormsby's association with the schools and school
system of Suffolk County, when he came to Long Island as a teacher of mathematics
at the Patchogue High School. Here he remained until 1929, and during a part of
that time, from 1927 to the end of his stay at the Patchogue High School, he
served also as vice principal of that school. In 1929 he accepted a call to the
position of principal of the Bellport Union Free School in the town of Bellport,
Suffolk County, where he remained until 1932. Meanwhile he had been pursuing his
studies toward a Master's degree at the Teachers' College, a part of Columbia
University in the city of New York, and from this institution he received his
degree of Master of Arts in 1930.
In 1932 Mr. Ormsby was appointed principal of the high school at Bridge Hampton,
a post which he held until June, 1934. In the latter year he went to Bayport to
accept the principalship of the high school there, and there he served until June,
1936. It was in 1936 that Mr. Ormsby received the appointment to the post of
district superintendent of schools in Suffolk County's second supervisory
district, thus becoming one of the key men in one of the most progressive and
up-to-date school systems in the country, serving the educational needs of a
group of prosperous and thoroughly American communities, whose historic roots
go back in some cases more than three centuries, despite which they always
remain in step with the advancing times, with their ideals unchanged and their
purposes fixed on the unfolding future. The supervisory post which he accepted
in 1936, Mr. Ormsby, who completed the course requirements for his Doctor of
Education degree in Graduate study at New York University in New York City
from 1938 to 1942, has continued to fill with notable ability and sucess to
the present time.
Mr. Ormsby is a member of the National Education Association and also belongs
to the New York State Teachers Association and to the American Association of
School Administrators, as well as to the New York State Association of District
Superintendents of Schools, of which latter organization he was elected president
for the term of 1947-1948. He takes an active part, too, in local civic affairs,
particularly as a member of the Patchogue Rotary Club in which he held the office
of president in 1941-1942. He is a member of the Domino Yacht Club of Patchogue
and has sat on its board of governors, and he is a member of the board of
directors and was president of the Suffolk County Council of Local Agencies, 1944-46.
His religious affiliation continues to be with the Second Alfred Seventh Day
Baptist Church at Alfred Station, New York. For recreation Mr. Ormsby alternates
between the placid pleasures of gardening and the more strenuous exercise of golf.
At Bay Shore, Suffolk County, New York, Walter M. Ormsby was married on
June 24, 1931, to Dorothy Rose Coombs, of that village, who is a daughter of Mr.
and Mrs. George H. Coombs. Mrs. Ormsby is a registered nurse, a graduate of St.
Luke's Hospital in New York City. Of this marriage there were three children;
1) Richard Kent, who was born at the Southside Hospital in Bay Shore on March 16, 1937.
2) Lynne Clair, born at Bay Shore on February 20, 1940.
3) Bruce Gillette, who was born on March 23, 1935 and died on February 4, 1936.
Robert Gillette (requester)
Among the leading Citizens of Suffolk County's fine old village of
Sayville, Elwell Palmer, who has made his home and conducted his business
there since 1930, is noted for his success in a variety of related
activities, as a lawyer, a realtor and a specialist in investments and
A native of Brooklyn, New York, where he was born before that city
became a borough of Greater New York, Elwell Palmer is a son of George W.
and Jane R. (Elwell) Palmer. George W. Palmer was born in the State of Iowa,
to which his parents, English-born Benjamin and Mary Jane F. (Efford) Palmer
had migrated prior to the Civil War. Mrs. Jane R. (Elwell) Palmer was a
native of Brooklyn, where her father, James W. Elwell, was a citizen of
prominence. Elwell Palmer was born on August 6, 1889. After Graduating from
the Polytechnic Preparatory School in Brooklyn, he attended the Sheffield
School of Yale University, at New Haven ,Connecticut, from which he received
the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy upon his graduation with the class of
1910. Having chosen a career in the law, he entered the Law School of
Columbia University in New York City, and from this institution received his
Bachelor of Laws degree in 1914. Admitted to the bar of the state of New
York in that same year, he practiced until 1930, specializing in real estate
law. His career was interrupted during World War I when he entered the
United States Army. Holding the rank of a second lieutenant, Mr. Palmer saw
active service in France for some eighteen months.
In 1930 Mr. Palmer moved to Sayville and established the business in
real estate, real estate securities and other investments and securities,
which he still manages with great success. He takes part in Business and
civic councils as a member of the Sayville Rotary Club. His religious
affiliation is with St. Ann's Episcopal Church.
At Brooklyn, New York, in January, 1922. Elwell Palmer was married to
Marjory Cleaveland, a daughter of John and Grace M. (Law) Cleaveland of that
Borough. Of this marriage there are five children: 1) George C., who was
born on December 24, 1922, at Brooklyn. After attending St. Paul's School at
Garden City, Nassau County, he became a student at Princeton University in
Princeton, New Jersey, and graduated therefrom magna cum laude. During World
War II he served in the United States Naval Reserve with rank of Lieutenant
junior grade. He graduated from the Harvard School of Business
Administration, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, in February
1948. 2) Nancy, born in Brooklyn on May 29, 1924. A graduate of St. Mary's
School at Garden City, she attended Mt. Holyoke College at South Hadley,
Massachusetts, for three years before becoming the wife of Lieut. Thomas P.
Knapp of the United States Naval Reserve, the ceremony taking place at
Sayville in January, 1947. Also 3) James Elwell, born in Brooklyn on
February 24, 1927. Like his older brother George C., James Elwell Palmer is
a graduate of St. Paul's School in Garden City, and also served in the
United States Naval Reserve during World War II. He is now a student at
Yale University, being at this time a member of the sophomore class. 4)
Anita, born on October 28, 1928, at Brooklyn. Having graduated from St.
Mary's School in Garden City with the class of 1946, she is at this writing
a member of the sophomore class at Bennington College in the Vermont city of
that name. 5) Richard, a twin of Anita, born in Brooklyn on October 28,
1928. He is now a student at the Forman School in Litchfield, Connecticut.
PATIKY, Joseph G., Dr.
A skilled surgeon and an adept student of forensic medicine, Dr.
Joseph G. Patiky of Huntington Station is coroner of Suffolk County and
chief of the surgical staff of Huntington Hospital as well as surgeon to two
fire departments in Suffolk County. A veteran of World War I, he served the
nation as a medical examiner for the Selective Service System in World War
II. Dr. Patiky was born in New York City on June 12, 1893, the son of Elias
and Jennie (Kass) Patiky. While he was still an infant his family moved to
Long Island, settling at Kings Park. He was educated in the elementary and
high schools of Northport and at New York University and Bellevue Hospital
Medical College. He received his degreee of Doctor of Medicine from the
last-named institution in 1916, and then interned at Volunteer Hospital in
New York City and the Newark City Hospital at Newark, New Jersey.In World
War I, Dr. Patiky was commissioned a lieutenant in the Navy Medical Corps
and served until some time after the war. He was discharged in 1919, and
became a surgeon on staff of Huntington Hospital. Dr. Patiky rose to be
chief of the hospital's surgical staff and in 1947 assumed the office of
Coroner of Suffolk County. He also served on the Huntington Board of
Education for approximately nine years. He is a member of the American
Medical Association, the New York State and Suffolk County Medical Societies
and the Associated Physicians of Long Island. He is affiliated with the
Huntington lodges of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the
Junior Order of United American Mechanics. Dr. Patiky married Agnes M.
Crooke. They are the parents of three children; Charlotte, Ruth and Delores,
all born in Huntington. Ruth, the second born, is now Mrs. Richard A. Lareau
of Huntington and the mother of a daughter, Noel.
PELLETREAU, Robert H.
Son of an illustrious father, Robert H. Pelletreau has won his own
place of leadership at Patchogue and a wider area of Suffolk County. He is
not only a prominent attorney, but vice president of the Patchogue board of
education, a former secretary of the village planning board and a director
of the John T. Mather Memorial Hospital of Port Jefferson. He is, in
addition, active in banking circles and major civic enterprises. In World
War II he gave distinguished service in the United States Navy.
Robert H. Pelletreau was born at Patchogue on December 29, 1908, the
son of the late Robert S. and Mary W. (Rogers) Pelletreau, the former a
native of East Moriches and the latter of Bridgehampton. The elder Mr.
Pelletreau, who died on April 7, 1943, served Suffolk County as its
surrogate from 1921 to 1937. A leader in the Republican party, he was a
member of the New York State Constitutional Convention in 1915 and a
delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1924. For years he was one
of Suffolk County's foremost lawyers, with headquarters in Patchogue. His
career is summarized in "Who's Who in New York," 1937. A member of the
family, William S. Pelletreau, was the author of a history of Long Island
Robert H. Pelletreau was first educated in the public schools of
Patchogue. Following graduation from the Patchogue High School he attended
Philips Andover Academy at Andover, Massachusetts. In 1931 he was graduated
from Yale University with the degree of Bachelor of Arts and in 1934 from
the Yale Law School with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. Admitted to the New
York State bar in January, 1935, he launched his legal career in Patchogue
as a partner of his father. The firm became known as Pelletreau and
Pelletreau in 1938 and retains that name despite the death five years later
of the senior partner.
Mr. Pelletreau's career was interrupted by World War II. Commissioned
a lieutenant in the Navy, he made so distinguished a record that he was
awarded the Secretary of the Navy's commendation ribbon. After the war he
made a quick adjustment to civilian life and resumed his practice. He is
vice president , counsel and a trustee of the Union Savings Bank of
Patchogue, president of the Rotary Club of Patchogue, 1947-48, a member of
the Domino Yacht Club, the Yale Club of New York, the University Club of
Washington, D.D. and the Suffolk County, New York State and the American bar
associations. He is a director of the Suffolk County Bar Association. He is
active in these organizations as well as on the board of education, the
planning board and in the Patchogue Congregational Church, of which he has
been a trustee.
On March 24, 1934, at Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts. Mr. Pelletreau
married Mary Pigeon, daughter of Richard and Emma (Kelley) Pigeon. Mrs.
Pelletreau's father is former governor of the New York Stock Exchange. Mr.
and Mrs. Pelletreau are the parents of four children: Robert Halsey, Anne,
Richard Pigeon and Susan , twins.
PETROCCIA, Michael A.
An indication of the standing Michael A. Petroccia has achieved among his fellow citizens for his work on behalf of the underprivileged,
in boys' work and welfare in general, has been his eloection as an Honorary Citizen of the famous Boys Town near Omaha, Nebraska, and as
an Honorary Member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars. Mr. Petroccia, a successful attorney of Glen Cove, is also a leader in the Benevolent
and Protective order of Elks, the Community Chest, the Chamber of Commerce and the Neighborhood Association.Michael A. Petroccia was born
in Glen Cove on February 26, 1903, son of the late Rocco and Philomena (Parrella) Petroccia. In 1921 he graduated from the Glen Cove High School.
To prepare for the bar he studied in the School of Law of Fordham University, from which he was graduated in 1924 with the degree of Bachelor
of Laws. Admitted to the bar the following year, he practiced in New York City exclusively for a year. Then, in 1927, he returned to Glen Cove
and opening offices there, has since been conducting a general practice not only in his native community and its general vicinity but in
New York City as well.Mr. Petroccia, active in numerous civic and public affairs, was a member of the Nassau County Republican Committee
for six years and still is an influential Republican. He is a director of the Brookville syndicate, Inc. He has twice been Exalted
Ruler of the Glen Cove Lodge, No. 1458, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and in the official year 1935-1936 was District Deputy of
the Elks organization. He is a member of the Nassau County, the New York State and the American bar associations, the Knights of Columbus,
the Emerald Association, Friends of Mercy Hospital, Sons of Italy, the Loyal order of Moose, of the Circus Saints and Sinners in New York City,
the Brookville Country Club and the Glen Cove Chamber of Commerce. he is a member of St. Rocco's Roman Catholic Church.
Mr. Petroccia married Alice D. Walsh, daughter of James and Mary (Young) Walsh of Brooklyn, on September 11, 1929.
MEYER, Pierre Hewitt
Born February 18, 1882, in Carthage, N.Y. Married Alice Etta Hayward of Mount Vernon, N.Y., on September 26, 1912.
There is one son, Hayward Charles Meyer, born in 1919, now in the United States Navy.
Mr. Meyer is a son of charles Julius Meyer and susan Cornelia de Peyster. In the maternal line he is a direct descendant
(8th generation in America) of Jean (Johannes) de Peyster, who came to America on a visit between 1645-1647, returned to Holland
again and came to America for permanent residence, probably in 1650. He was married on December 17, 1651, in New Amsterdam (New York),
to Cornelia (Lubbets) Van der Elburch, daughter of Lubbert Van der Elburch and Marie Macque. He was a wealthy important merchant and
shipper at the time he settled here. His son, Abraham, married his second cousin, Catharine de Peyster, on August 5, 1684, in Holland.
He was Mayor of New York from 1691 to 1695 and Treasurer of New York and New Jersey, from 1706 to 1721. His son, Pierre Guillaume de Peyster
was married on Dec. 19, 1733, to Cornelia Schuyler, and their son, Pierre Guillaume de Peyster, married Bethia Hall, of Hull, England,
on May 29, 1771. They were the parents of William Sheriff de Peyster, the great-grandfather of Pierre Hewitt Meyer, who is the
18th generation of the de Peyster family...see the July and October issues (27 pages) of the New York Genealogical and Biographical Record.
William Sheriff married Mary Schuyler Roosevelt, daughter of Johannes Roosevelt and Mary Schuyler. Johannes was the son of Captain
Jacobus Roosevelt, also the ancestor of the Theodore Roosevelt branch of that family . Mary Schuyler was a daughter of John Schuyler
and Anne Van Rensselaer, and a granddaughter of Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, and Marie Van Cortlandt.
Through the wife of Captain Jacobus Roosevelt, Mr. Meyer is also a descendant of the Bogert, Van Schaick, du Trieux, Van Imbrock,
de la Montagne, de Forest and several other Holland and Huguenot families.
In 1914, Pierre Hewitt Meyer organized the Consolidated Merchants Syndicate, Inc., and since that time he has been President of
this Association of Merchants, which specializes in 5 cents to $1.00 merchandise. He is also President of the C.M.S. Wholesale Chain
Corporation, wholesalers of 5 Cents to $1.00 merchandise and the Chain Store Fixture company, Inc.
Clubs and organizations: Larchmont Shore Club; Pelham Country Club; New York Athletic Club; New York Rotary Club: Clearwater Yacht Club;
Society of Colonial Wars; St. Nicholas Society. Address: Mount Vernon, New York.
Requested by Taylor (a Meyer Descendant)
POOR, Charles Lane
The Long Island village of Dering Harbor has had one of the most
distinguished men in American science as its mayor for the past twenty-nine
years in the person of Charles Lane Poor, who among his accomplishments has
invented a number of navigational devices. Students of the late 1880s will
remember Mr. Poor as a tutor of mathematics at City College of New York, who
later taught astronomy at Johns Hopkins, and has been professor of celestial
mechanics at Columbia University since 1910; now professor emeritus.
Dr. Poor was born in Hackensack, New Jersey, on January 18, 1866, son
of Edward Eri Poor and Mary Wellington (Lane) Poor. He received his Bachelor
of Science degree from the City College of New York in 1886, and four years
later was awarded his Master's degree. In 1892 he received his Doctorate
from Johns Hopkins University. While working towards his Master's degree Dr.
Poor taught at City College, and when he joined the faculty of Johns Hopkins
as instructor of mathematics in 1891 he was studying for his Doctorate.
After Dr. Poor had been at Johns Hopkins for a year, he was appointed
associate in astronomy, then associate professor, serving from 1895 to 1899.
At the turn of the century we find Dr. Poor editor at the New York Academy
of Sciences, a post he held until 1906, and as a partner of J. Harper Poor
and Company, remaining with that firm from 1901 to 1904.
Then Charles Lane Poor returned to university life by accepting a post
on the faculty of Columbia University in 1903 as lecturer and professor of
astronomy. For seven years he taught students who came from various parts of
the country all he knew about the science in which he excelled.
In 1908 the first of a series of books on astronomy and related
scientific data appeared, written by Dr. Poor. This first book, titled "The
Solar System," was followed by another treatise, "Nautical Science,"
published in 1910. Five years later he completed "Sumner Line Tables," and
in 1918, "Simplified Navigation" was off the press. When relativity was a
word still outside the ken of the average layman, Charles Lane Poor had
written a book, "Gravitation Versus Relativity," released in 1922. This
volume was followed by a number of publications on relativity showing up the
many errors in the theory and in the writings of its followers. His interest
in racing yachts led him to write for the New York Yacht Club a manual on
"Rules and Regulations for the Construction of Racing Yachts," published in
1928. Approximately ten years ago he wrote his latest work, "Men Against the
Rule," which appeared in 1937.
Esteemed for his knowledge, his research and his inventive genius, Dr.
Poor has been made associate fellow of the American Academy of Arts and
Sciences, and a fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society. He holds
membership in the American Mathematics Society. Since 1896 he has belonged
to the New York Yacht Club, and served on many of its committees for some
On April. 19, 1892, Dr. Poor married Anna Louise Easton, and they are
the parents of three children: 1) Charles Lane. 2) Alfred Easton. 3)
POOR, Edmund W.
Joining the Grumman Aircraft Engineering Corporation upon its
organization in 1930, Mr. Edmund W. Poor has maintained an important
position in the aviation industry and now serves as treasurer and director
of this well-known company. Mr. Poor is a native of New York City, born
September 12, 1904, the son of Charles Lane and Anna Louise (Easton) Poor.
Mrs. Charles Poor, mother of Edmund W. Poor, was born in New York City and
Charles Lane Poor was born in Hackensack, New Jersey in 1864. In former
years a professor of celestial mechanics at Columbia University. Charles
Lane Poor is now retired.
A graduate of Columbia University in the class of 1927, Edmund W. Poor
received the Bachelor of Arts degree. His formal education included two
years of study at Williams College preceded by attendance at St. George's
School at Newport, Rhode Island, class of 1923, and in the public schools of
New York City.
In 1928 Mr. Poor entered the field of industry, becoming associated
with the New York Rubber Company in Beacon, New York, and in 1929 with the
Loening Aeronautical Engineering Corporation of New York City and in 1930
transferred to the Grumman Aircraft Engineering Corporation where he has so
notably demonstrated his ability in the ensuing years.
An active participant in community life Mr. Edmund W. Poor is the
treasurer of the village of Dering Harbor on Shelter Island. He is a
Republican in politics and is a member of the Episcopal Church. Memberships
in the Chi Psi freaternity, the SoBay Golf club, and the Labrador Retriever
Club occupy much of Mr. Poor's leisure, and his hobby, sailing, is
intensified by an active membership in the New York Yacht Club.
Edmund W. Poor married Catharine B. Wynkoop of Bath, New York, January
12, 1924. Mrs. Poor is the daughter of Dr. Henry J. and Belle (Avery)
Wynkoop. Mr. and Mrs. Poor have two children: 1) Edmund W., Jr., born
November 7, 1934. 2 ) Henry W., born May 20, 1939.
POST, Arthur Wood
Mr. Post was born at Westbury on August 27, 1886, the son of John Wood
and Phoebe (Hicks) Post. His father was a farmer. Arthur Wood Post was
educated in the Brooklyn Polytechinic Preparatory School from which he was
graduated in 1904, and in the Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute, from which he
was graduated in 1908 with the degree of Electrical Engineer.
A year after completing his training, he entered the employ of the
American Telephone and Telegraph Company. This was in September, 1909. He
began in the plans department, specializing in long distance research and
planning, and remained in that specialty with constantly increasing success
and value until his retirement September, 1946.
At Westbury he has been treasurer of the school board and later a
trustee. He is also a life member of the American Institute of Electrical
Engineers, the North Hempstead Country Club and Phi Kappa Psi fraternity.
His religious association is with the Society of Friends.
Mr. Post married Ethel M. Albertson, daughter of John Augustus and
Mary (Willis) Albertson, at Westbury on October 29, 1913. They are the
parents of two children, Richard, born January 26, 1915 and Arthur Willis,
born May 3, 1918.
Richard graduated from Swarthmore College in 1936 with a Bachelor of
Science degree in mechanical engineering: he married Helen M. Shilcock of
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, and they have three children: 1)Richard Willis, 2)
Barbara, 3) Margery. He has been with Bethlehem Steel Company at Sparrow
Point, Maryland for the past ten years.
Arthur Willis Post graduated from Swarthmore College in 1940,
receiving the Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering. He
married Margaret P. Wood of Ridley Park, Pennsylvania. During World War II
he served three and one-half years in the United States Navy being promoted
from the rank of ensign to that of Lieutenant, senior grade. He is with the
American Telephone and Telegraph Company located in Newark, New Jersey.
PROIOS, George A.
Identified with the field of real estate and insurance since the beginning of
his business career, George A. Proios, since 1938, has operated his office at
Lake Ronkonkoma, and also maintains an agency at Jamaica.
He was born in Smyrna, Asia Minor, February 6, 1897, son of Achilles and
Despina Proios, the former of whom was engaged in general store keeping in his
native country. George Proios came to the United States while a youth, after
completing his education in the elementary and high schools of his native
land, and also preparing for his business career by attending a business
college in Greece. He came to Lake Ronkonkoma in 1919, and from 1925 to 1938,
commuted to his insurance and real estate business in New York City. In that
year, he opened his agency at Lake Ronkonkoma, in which he also serves as
public accountant, and maintains his office at Jamaica, in charge of his son
Achilles. In addition to his real estate and insurance interests, Mr. Proios
purchased in 1943 the Village Bar & Grill. He is Fire Commissioner of
Centereach Fire District, member of the Centereach Fire Department, member of
the Smithtown Square Club, president of the Suffolk County Greek-American
Club, and a member of the Greek Orthodox Church. Fraternally he is a Free and
Accepted Mason, Suffolk Lodge No. 60, of Port Jefferson, Long Island, and
member of the Ahepa fraternal organization, and for recreation derives
pleasure and relaxation from business duties in the outdoor sports of hunting
George A. Proios married at Lake Ronkonkoma, October 16, 1921, Angela
Parathyra, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Parathyra, and their children are: 1.
Achilles, born June 9, 1922, a graduate of Smithtown High School, and the Pace
Institute, served in the second World War from September 14, 1942 to November
of 1945, as staff sergeant of the 8th and 9th Army Air Forces in Europe, now
associated with his father in business. 2. John, born in Patchogue, July 26,
1924, a graduate of Smithtown High School, served during World War II in the
United States Navy, as radar operator aboard the aircraft carrier, "Belleau
Wood," in the Pacific Theater of War from June 1944 to May 1946. He is now
associated with his father in the local agency. 3. Alexander, born at Bay
Shore Hospital April 4, 1927, a graduate of Smithtown High School, and now
serving in the United States Army of Occupation as a member of the military
police in Belgium. 4. Mary D., born at Bay Shore Hospital August 18, 1935.
PULVER, Clarence W.
Suffolk County's auditor is Clarence W. Pulver, a leading Republican
since 1925 and operator of a large bottled gas business, with branches in
Riverhead and Bridgehampton. Mr. Pulver is also a director of the
Bridgehampton National Bank and active in various fraternal organizations,
especially the Masonic.
He was born in Sag Harbor on September 10, 1893, the son of the late
Fred S. and Lillian Gertrude (Hildreth) Pulver. His father, a prominent
citizen of Suffolk County, was once county clerk and a United States
marshal. He died in 1935. The mother died in 1944.
Clarence W. Pulver was educated in the public schools of Sag Harbor,
being graduated from the Sag Harbor High School in 1912. Even before he left
school, he began to work on a butcher wagon. On completing his schooling, he
apprenticed himself in the toolmaker's trade as an employee of Joseph Fahys
and Company, Sag Harbor. For twelve years he was a toolmaker, after which he
entered the automobile business as a salesman. For a year and one-half he
was with Tucker and Murray Garage Company in Bridgehampton.
In 1924 Mr. Pulver established himself in the bottled gas business in
Bridgehampton, where today his main office and principal warehouse are
located. He now also has showrooms and bulk storage plants at Riverhead. The
enterprise, constantly expanding, is known as Pulver's Bottled Gas Service.
In 1925 Mr. Pulver became a member of the Suffolk County Republican
Committee of which he is treasurer, and he is a member of the National
Republican Club. He has continued active with that influential political
group ever since. In January, 1939, he became county auditor and this office
he retains. He is a member of the Sag Harbor Lodge, Free and Accepted
Masons, and the Royal Arch Masons, the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, the
Knights Templar and the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine.
He is a Noble of Kismet Temple, Brooklyn. He is also a member of the
Foresters of America, the Southhampton Lodge of the Benevolent and
Protective Order of Elks and founder member and trustee of the Southampton
Country Club. He is a member of the Bridgehampton Board of Education for
fourteen years and has been fire commissioner for fifteen years. He worships
at the Presbyterian Church in Bridgehampton.
Mr. Clarence W. Pulver married Katharine Rogers, daughter of Dr.
and Maud (Hastings), Rogers, of Bridgehampton, in that community on October
24, 1916. They have two daughters___Lois, born July 10, 1918, and Ruth, born
December 29, 1921. Lois Pulver and Ruth Pulver were both educated in the
Bridgehampton High School and both are graduates of Skidmore College at
Saratoga Springs, New York. Lois married Robert Hinkle and is the mother of
two daughters, Sandra Lee and Cynthia Gale; the Hinkle family lives at
Schenectady. Ruth married Raymond W. Enstine of Southampton, and has one
son, Raymond W. Enstine, Jr.
PURICK, George Butler
Mr. Purick was born April 28, 1877, at Blue Point, Long island, son of
Julius H. and Clara M. (Butler) Purick. His father was associated throughout
his life with the Long Island Railroad, until his retirement.
George Butler Purick received his early education in the schools of Port
Jefferson, Long Island, and in 1900 was graduated from the Oneonta Normal
School, Oneonta, New York. He attended Brown University at Providence, Rhode
Island, for a year, and received his pharmaceutical degree at the New York
College of Pharmacy, part of Columbia University, in New York City in 1913.
Following his preliminary education, and before his attendance at
Columbia University, Mr. Purick taught school for three years at Commack,
Long Island, and for four-and-a-half years at Smithtown Branch. After having
received his degree at Columbia, he established a drug store enterprise at
Smithtown, and ran it until 1924. during this period the pharmacy grew and
prospered, due in no small measure to the excellent business judgment and
managerial ability of Mr. Purick. Later he entered the insurance business
and gained a reputation in that field. Today he is known and admired for his
business acumen and foresight.
Mr. Purick has a record as a public official. In 1910 he was elected
to the position of assessor, and held this post for a two year period. In
1919, he was elected justice of the peace, and served his community wisely
and unselfishly until 1926. For seventeen years he served as committee clerk
in the New York State legislature in Albany, New York.
Mr. Purick is active in many phases of community life. He holds
membership in the Free and Accepted Masons, Suffolk Lodge No. 60 at Port
Jefferson. Mr. Purick attends the Smithtown Branch Methodist Church, and for
many years has done Sunday School work there. He has always enjoyed
teaching, and his tolerant nature has made him very well adapted to this
On July 25, 1906 at Smithtown Branch, George Butler Purick married
Nellie E. Darling, daughter of Sylvester and Ella (Hall) Darling, and they
became the parents of the following children: 1. Harold, who was born August
28, 1907. 2. Ruth, who was born June 21, 1909.
Note: Husband is a direct descendant (great great grandson) of
Julius H Purick and Clara M Butler.
Well-trained in the academic knowledge necessary in the field of pharmacy
and possessing many years of practical experience in the pharmaceutical
trade, Mr. Louis Ramo brought a valuable service to the city when he opened
his pharmacy in Farmingdale in 1934. Mr. Ramo, son of Peter and Lena
(Abruzzo) Ramo, natives of Brooklyn, was born in Brooklyn August 24, 1908.
He received his formal education in the public schools of Brooklyn and
Rockville Centre, graduating from South Side High School in 1926.
Deciding upon a career in pharmacy he matriculated at Columbia University
and received his degree as Graduate in Pharmacy in 1930. This period of
study was followed by eight years with the Long Beach Pharmacy at Long Beach
and four years with the Kelso Pharmacy at Merrick. Then Mr. Ramo, under his
own name, founded his present pharmacy as an agency of the Whalen Drug
Company where he has developed a reliable business now employing five people.
In community life Mr. Ramo attends the Roman Catholic church and is a member
of the Rotary Club. He is a sportsman, enjoying fishing as a hobby.
In July, 1937, Louis Ramo married Edith Zima, daughter of Emil and May
(Kritl) Zima of Merrick.
RAYNOR, Josiah C.
Member of families which since the pioneer days of Long Island have
distinguished themselves in the affairs of the entire region, Josiah C.
Raynor of East Moriches has achieved an independent record of distinction as
a leader in the numerous vital activities in which he has participated
throughout the course of a long life. The successful operator of an
insurance business established by his father the year when he, the son, was
born, Mr. Raynor has made his name known in such civic and welfare movements
as fire prevention and control, youth development, law enforcement and
cemetery maintenance. Except for a short period during his youth he has
spent his entire life in his native East Moriches and Suffolk County.
Mr. Raynor was born at East Moriches on September 2, 1877, the son of
Jehiel S. and Julia (Culver) Raynor. Both the Raynor and Culver families
pioneered on the island. Josiah Raynor was educated in the Grammar school at
East Moriches and at the Albany High School, Albany, New York, from which he
was graduated. Soon after leaving the high school, he became a clerk in a
department store at Albany. Later he did similar work in a Schenectady
department store. Moving across the line into Massachusetts, he spent a few
years at Springfield as publication manager of a booklet called The Pocket
In 1908 Mr. Raynor returned to East Moriches and there became
associated with his father in the insurance business. The firm, one of the
oldest on the island, and one of the longest of its kind in the same family,
was established by the elder Mr. Raynor in 1877. When the son joined it, its
name was changed to J.S. Raynor and Son.
Since those early days of association with the firm, which afterward
on the death of his father was to become his own, Mr. Raynor has been active
in all major projects in East Moriches and the county. He was fire chief for
ten years at East Moriches. Since 1931 a member of the Board of Fire
Commissioners he was in 1946-1947 chairman of that body. He is a director of
the Suffolk County Council, Boy Scouts of America, a trustee and treasurer
of the Mount Pleasant Cemetery Association and a Deputy Sheriff of Suffolk
County. He is former president of the East Moriches Civic Association, a
director of the Suffolk County Association of Insurance Agents,
secretary-treasurer of the Hunters Garden Association and being a
Republican, is a member of the Timber Point Club. In addition, Mr. Raynor is
vice president and a director of the Center Moriches Bank.
Mr. Raynor married Edith Howe, daughter of Burton and Edith (Smith)
Howe, of Amityville. Mrs. Raynor's father was once Sheriff of Suffolk
County. Mrs. Raynor is as prominent as her husband in civic and social
affairs at East Moriches. She is especially active in the Girl Scout
movement. Mr. and Mrs. Raynor spend their winters in Florida.
REEVE, Millard Irving
Long in the banking business in Suffolk County, Millard Irving Reeve is now
cashier of the National bAnk of Lake Ronkonkoma. He was born in Port
Jefferson on September 30, 1900, son of the late Albert Henry Reeve, who was
a merchant in that community, and of Annie (Atkins) Reeve, a native of
England who came to the United States as a girl and who soon after moving to
Port Jefferson became the wife of the merchant. The elder Mr. Reeve died in
1938. His widow continues to make her home in Port Jefferson.
Millard I. Reeve was educated in Port Jefferson's elementary and high
schools, graduating from the latter in 1921, and at Brown's Business College
in Brooklyn. From 1923 to 1927 he was with the Keystone Coal and Supply
Company at Port Jefferson. In 1927, he joined the staff of the First
National Bank of Port Jefferson, and in the next fifteen years held various
positions in that institution. In August, 1942, he resigned to accept a
position with the National Bank of Ronkonkoma. In January, 1943, he was
appointed cashier of this bank, the position he holds today.
Mr. Reeve is an honorary member of the Port Jefferson Volunteer Fire
Department and a member of the Suffolk Lodge No. 60, Free and Accepted
Masons, and the Lions Club, both at Port Jefferson. He worships at the
He married Thelma Layton Wheeler of Stillmore, Georgia, and they are the
parents of a son, Layton Wheeler Reeve, born in Stillmore in 1924. Young Mr.
Reeve is a graduate of Georgia Military College. In World War II, he served
as a turret gunner in the Army Air Forces in the Pacific Theater of
Operations, with the rating of staff sergeant. After the war, he entered
George Washington University, Washington, D.C.
ROBERTS, SR., Samuel Henry
To the late Samuel Henry Roberts, Sr., of Port Jefferson, is credited the
development of the Thomas Wilson Company, Inc., old American lace house,
into "one of the largest and most progressive manufacturing firms of its
kind in the United States." Mr. Roberts was general manager of the Port
Jefferson plant and vice president of the company. He was also a leader in
the Rotary Club of Port Jefferson and was a member of the Brookhaven Zoning
Board of Appeals.
Mr. Roberts was born in England, near Long Eaton, on December 25, 1870, the
son of William and Mary (Carter) Roberts. After completing his education,
Samuel Roberts, Sr., worked in the textile industry. In 1903, after he had
married and become the father of three children, Mr. Roberts brought his
family to America.
He immediately entered the lace manufacturing field. In 1916 he established
the firm of S. H. Roberts and Son, Lace Manufacturers, at Alton, Rhode
Island. His son, Samuel H. Roberts, Jr. was his partner. In 1921 father and
son moved their plant to Port Jefferson. There the firm name was changed to
Port Jefferson Lace Company. But the new firm was later merged with the
Thomas Wilson Lace Company, Inc., which had been founded in 1839. From the
time of the merger until his death. Mr. Roberts guided the firm through the
period of its greatest growth. In 1937 he was named to the Brookhaven Zoning
Board of Appeals and in the 1920s he became a charter member of the Rotary
Club of Port Jefferson, which he not only helped organize but served as a
director and treasurer for several years. He was also active in the Wood
River Junction Congregational Church and the Independent Order of Odd
Fellows, having been a member of the Port Jefferson Lodge.
Mr. Roberts' wife was the former Kate Newton, daughter of William and Kate
(Brecknock) Newton, also of Long Eaton, England. They were married in that
community on October 27, 1895. All three of their children were born there:
Vivien Roberts, in 1897, Katherine Beryl Roberts, on October 16, 1898, and
Samuel Henry, Jr., on April 5, 1901. Mrs. Roberts died in 1941. In addition
to the children, Mr. Roberts is survived by two grandchildren, Warren Carter
Roberts and Doreen Joyce Roberts; three sisters, Annie of New York City, and
Bertha and Mary of England, and three brothers, Arthur, of Charleston, Rhode
Island, and George and William, of England.
Mr. Roberts died on October 12, 1945, two months before his seventy-sixth
birthday. He had been ill and confined at Mather Memorial Hospital for
nearly six months. Funeral services were conducted in the Presbyterian
Church at Port Jefferson on October 15, 1945, with the Reverend Ray Kiely
officiating. Interment was in the Roberts family plot at Cedar Hill
Cemetery, Port Jefferson.
John Leadbeater (Requester)
ROBERTS, JR., Samuel H.
His father's partner in the lace manufacturing business since he was fifteen
years old, Samuel Henry Roberts, Jr. has followed in the senior Mr. Roberts'
footsteps to the present day. He is now manager of the Port Jefferson mill
and second vice president of the Thomas Wilson company, one of the oldest
lace making firms in the United States.
Mr. Roberts was born at Long Eaton, England, on April 5, 1901, the son of
Samuel H. and Kate (Newton) Roberts and the grandon of William and Mary
(Carter) Roberts. Samuel Henry Roberts, Sr., who at the time of his death in
October, 1945, was in his seventy-sixth year, was general manager and vice
president of the Thomas Wilson Company, with whom he had merged a firm he
had himself founded. The family came to the United States in 1903.
On completing his schooling, Samuel Henry Roberts, Jr., joined his father in
the formation of the firm of S.H. Roberts and Son. Lace Manufacturers, at
Alton, Rhode Island. This was in 1916, when he was only fifteen years old.
Five years later he and his father moved their plant to Port Jefferson,
where they renamed the company Port Jefferson Lace Company. Later, they
merged their firm with the Thomas Wilson Company, which had been established
in 1839, and Mr. Roberts, Jr., was superintendent of the consolidated firm's
plant at Port Jefferson until 1946. during this period his father was
general manager and vice president. In 1946, the younger Mr. Roberts was
appointed manager of the Port Jefferson mill and elected second vice
president of the company. He is a member of the Suffolk Lodge, No. 60,
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and the St. George Golf Country Club.
Mr. Roberts married Katherine Gladys Petty, daughter of Merwin and Ada
(Davis) Petty, at Port Jefferson Station on August 18, 1923. They have two
children: Warren Carter, born May 25, 1924, and Doreen Joyce, born February 26, 1928.
John Leadbeater (Requester)
ROBINSON, Elbert W.
Aside from his success as a lawyer, Elbert W. Robinson is prominent at
Southampton through his activity in the Masonic order, the Presbyterian
Church and his home front work in World War II, especially as chairman of
the town of Southampton War Finance Committee. Mr. Robinson was born in
Southhampton on January 21, 1908, the son of Harry C. and Etta A. (Ruland)
Robinson. The elder Mr. Robinson, a native of Aquebogue, was a plumbing and
heating contractor in Southhampton. He died on November 7, 1938. The mother
is a native of Center Moriches. Elbert W. Robinson received his early
education in the public schools of Southampton and was graduated from the
Southampton High School. He did his prelegal work at Washington and Lee
University from which he was graduated in 1931 with the degree of Bachelor
of Arts. For a year before entering law school he served a clerkship in the
office of Harry M. Howell, Southampton lawyer. In 1935 Mr. Robinson was
graduated from the Albany Law School with the degree of Bachelor of Laws.
Admitted to the New ;York State bar in 1936, he established himself in
general practice in Southampton and has since become a leading member of the
Suffolk County Bar. Mr. Robinson is a past master of the Old Town Lodge, No.
908, Free and Accepted Masons, at Southhampton, and treasurer of the board
of deacons of the Southhampton Presbyterian Church. As chairman of the
Town's War Finance Committee he led successful War Bond drives for the
United States Treasury and participated in other essential wartime
activities. He is a member of the Suffolk County Bar Association, the New
York State Bar Association, The Chancery Society of Albany Law School, Alpha
Sigma Phi and the Rotary Club of Southampton. He was elected president of
the Rotary Club 1947-48. is a member of the Suffolk County Republican Club,
Inc. (Timber Point), the National Republican Club in New York City and the
Long Island Past Masters Association. Mr. Robinson married Margaret Le
Fevre, of Brooklyn and Shoreham in Southampton, on November 15, 1938. They
are the parents of one daughter, Carolyn Ross Robinson, born in Southampton
on December 27, 1943, and a son Elbert W., Jr., born September 22, 1947.
ROBINSON, George A.
He was born in Sayville, on February 4, 1888, he was the youngest son
and namesake of Dr. George A. Robinson and Amelia (Foster) Robinson. His
father was greatly beloved as a practicing physician for many years in
Sayville; a Republican in politics, he was a local leader, member of the
assembly, and active in all public affairs. The son not only greatly
resembled him in personal appearance, but like him was an athlete, a crack
shot and an all-round good sportsman. George A. Robinson entered business
early with the Barrett Company as a salesman and for sixteen years was
associated with them, for several years as sales manager. For the last six
years he had been connected with Gordon and Whitney, stock brokers in Wall
Street, New York City. Mr. Robinson was very fond of Long Island,
particularly of Sayville, and for some years had been active in the
promotion of real estate heareabouts. He was president of the G.A. and W.B.
Robinson Company, vice president of the Sayville Heights Realty Company and
vice president of the William B. Robinson Company. Fraternally he was
affiliated with the Connetquot Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; and was a
life member of the Island Hills Golf Club. George A. Robinson married
Lillian Halsey, and they became the parents of a daughter, Lillian. News of
the untimely death of George A. Robinson on November 30, 1936, shocked and
caused deep regret among his host of Sayville, and New York friends.
ROETTINGER, M.D., Walter Frank
Aside from his growing reputation as an orthopedic surgeon and general
practitioner, Dr. Walter Frank Roettinger is known for his work as school
physician at Lake Ronkonkoma and as an active trustee of the Lake Ronkonkoma
Free Public Library. He is connected with various Suffolk County institutions.
Dr. Roettinger was born in Brooklyn on March 5, 1911, the son of Frank and
Ruth (Bowden) Roettinger. Both his parents were born in Brooklyn, and his
father spent forty-six years in the employ of the Long Island Railroad.
The family moved to Lake Ronkonkoma from Brooklyn in 1918. There the future
medical man began his education. In 1927 he was graduated from the
Hicksville High School and in 1934 from Long Island University, Brooklyn,
with the degree of Bachelor of Science. In 1938, he received the degree of
Doctor of Medicine from the University of Syracuse Medical School.
After a two-year internship at Nassau Hospital in Mineola, Dr. Roettinger in
1940 established himself in practice at Lake Ronkonkoma as physician and
surgeon. He has since become attending surgeon and member of the medical
board at the John T. Mather Memorial Hospital, Port Jefferson, and attending
surgeon in Orthopedics at St. Charles Hospital, Port Jefferson. He is also
attending physician at the Suffolk County Sanatorium at Holtsville and
physician to four schools. He is a member of Suffolk Lodge, Free and
Accepted Masons, Port Jefferson. Dr. Roettinger was appointed in February,
1948 as surgeon for the Sperry Gyroscope Company's experimental station
located at MacArthur Field, New York. In addition to his membership on Free
Public Library board of trustees, he is active in the Suffolk County Medical
Society and a member of the New York Medical Society and the American
Medical Association, also the American Academy of General Practitioners.
Dr. Roettinger married Alwyne Jenks, daughter of the late Lee and Daisy
(Hartig) Jenks, at Baldwin, Long Island, on September 15, 1940. Three
children have been born to Dr. and Mrs. Roettinger; Nancy, at Nassau
Hospital, on July 18, 1941; Alwyne, at John T. Mather Memorial Hospital, on
July 4, 1943, and Walter Frank, 11, at John T. Mather Memorial Hospital, on
March 31, 1946.
ROWSOM, M.D., Albert F.
For almost two decades Albert F. Rowsom has ministered to the health of the
residents of Nassau County as one of the leading practicing physicians in this
area. Specializing in obstetrics and gynecology, Dr. Rowsom's reputation is
based on sound and progressive medical practice and on the understanding of
human nature so necessary to successful treatment.
A Canadian by birth, Dr. Rowson was born in Ontario on February 28, 1901. He
is the son of Horton, deceased, and Jane (Hewitt) Rowsom. His father born in
Lyn, Ontario, was a farmer who recognized the need of education and devoted
his life to achieving that goal for his son. His mother is a native of Smiths
Dr. Rowsom, after receiving his public school education in Brockville,
Ontario, graduated from Queens University at Kingston, Ontario. Following his
graduation in 1926 from this university, Dr. Rowson interned for over a year
at Nassau Hospital. Impressed by this section of the United States and already
known for his medical acumen, Dr. Rowsom was appointed resident physician at
North Country Community Hospital at Glen Cove. Then in 1928, Dr. Rowsom "hung
out his shingle" in Locust Valley and has in the intervening years become
well-known in this area. Keenly interested in children, Dr. Rowsom, as Locust
Valley school physician, is largely responsible for the excellent health
record in the school system. He is also on the staff of the North Country
Dr. Rowsom keeps abreast of modern medical advancements by membership in the
county, state and American Medical associations, as well as in the Nassau
Surgical Society. Active in the Masonic Order, he is a member of the Queens
Lodge, No. 578 at Kingston, Ontario, and of the Glen Cove Lodge No. 580. He is
an active participant in the functions of the Nassau Country Club and is a
member of the Republican political party. He and his family worship at the
On June 30, 1931, Dr. Rowsom married Florence (Garlock) Rowsom, daughter of
George and Mary (Hine) Garlock. They are the parents of two children. 1. Mary
Jane, born June 11, 1933. 2. George Horton, born August 9, 1935.
Angela Rowsom (Requester)
RUDIGER, Harry H.
Efficient and popular, Harry H. Rudiger is one of the better-known
businessmen of Mineola, respected alike for his business ability, his
personal qualities and his participation in civic affairs. Although he was
born in the borough of Manhattan, New York City, Mr. Rudiger has been a
Long Islander since boyhood. His father, the late Renfrew B. Rudiger, who
married Lena Eismann, was a well-known conductor on the Long Island
Railroad. It was this circumstance, doubtless, that led the family to become
residents of Richmond Hill, which, though situated in Queens County and
therefore a part of Greater New York since 1898, is still an integral part
of Long Island, retaining to this day many of the characteristics of a
typical Island village.
Born in New York City on December 2, 1902, Harry H. Rudiger was
educated at the grade and high schools of Richmond Hill, graduating from
high school with the class of 1919. His first employment was in sales work
for the H. J. Heinz Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, whom he
represented in New York City. After six years with the leading condiments
company, Mr. Rudiger entered the motor car field as sales manager for
Hempstead Motors, which held the Ford agency in that community. This
association lasted for twelve years, until, in 1941, Mr. Rudiger joined Dade
Brothers in Mineola as their traffic manager, handling war goods, planes and
Mr. Rudiger is interested in boy scout work and was formerly very
active in that organization. He is now a leading member of the Hempstead
Rotary Club. Golf is his favorite game, and he belongs to the Hempstead Golf
Club. He is a member of the Republican party, and of the Lutheran faith.
At Hollis, on June 21, 1929, Harry H. Rudiger married Molly Bender, of
Richmond Hill, a daughter of Adolph Bender and his wife. Of this marriage
there are two children: 1) Ruth M. born on November 15, 1933, 2) Raymond
Renfrew, who was born on October 27, 1939.
Ruth McKay (Requester)
RYSKO, Adolph J.
As a substantial business man and citizen of Cutchogue, Adolph J.
Rysko is well known and popular. He was born in this Suffolk County town, on
February 20, 1914, son of the late Antoine and Sophie (Pawlueszk) Rysko. His
father who died on August 16, 1945, was an exceptionally skilled
agriculturalist. Adolph J. Rysko was educated in Cutchogue schools, the
Southold High School and the Southold Academy. His first employment of note
was with the local store of the Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company, where
he learned the principles and practice of successful merchandising, and won
promotion to the post of manager. In 1940 he established his own widely
known firm, Rysko's Market, dealer in meats and groceries. Several years
later he purchased his present business headquarters at Main and Suffolk
streets, Cutchogue, which includes five stores and several apartments. He is
vice-president of the Cutchogue Chamber of Commerce, is much to the fore in
the Cutchogue Fire Department. His favorite recreation is golfing, as a
member of the North Fork Country Club. He worships in the faith of the
Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church. On January 23, 1938, Adolph J. Rysko
married Helen Stubelek, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Stubelek, of
Southampton, and they have one son: Philip, born at Greenport, August 30,1941.
SAMMIS, Byron T.
The Sammis family is one of the oldest on Long Island. Byron T. Sammis is
the operator of an insurance agency at Huntington which, when established
by a member of the family, was a pioneer in its field in Suffolk County.
He is a leader in the political, civic and fraternal life of the community.
Mr. Sammis was born in Northport on December 29, 1899, the son of Gilbert B.
and Mildred (Robbins) Sammis, both of whom were also born at Northport.
Mrs. Sammis died in 1941 and is buried at Freehold, New Jersey. When Byron T.
Sammis was eight years old, the family moved from Long Island to the New
Jersey Community. The elder Mr. Sammis has been a farmer there since then,
Byron Sammis was educated in the Freehold public schools. From 1919 to 1922
he returned to Huntington and established his present business. In March, 1942,
he purchased the insurance agency of Thereon H. Sammis, which is not only a
pioneer in Suffolk County but one of the oldest agencies in the representation
of insurance companies in the United States. The firm is now Sammis and Smith,
General Insurance, with offices at 381 New York Avenue,l Huntington, New York.
In the development of his business, Mr. Sammis has come to be one of the most
active and best known citizens of Suffolk County. He is a member of the board
of managers of the Huntington Young Men's Christian Association, and is
secretary-treasurer of the H.B.M. Parking Corporation. He is also secretary
and a director of the Huntington Business Men's Association and is president
and a director of the Huntington Chamber of Commerce, 1947-48. He was secretary
of the Lions Club of Huntington for thirteen years. He is also a member of the
Suffolk County Insurance Agents Association and of Jephtha Lodge, No. 494,
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at Huntington. With his family he attends
the First Presbyterian Church of Huntington.
Mr. Sammis married Lillian A. Sammis, daughter of Jacob H. and Carrie (Howell)
Sammis, at Huntington on September 30, 1922. They are the parents of two children:
Quentin Byron, born May 16, 1924, and Vera M. Born October 26, 1926.
The son, a graduate of Huntington High School and Georgia School of Technology,
with the degree of Electrical Engineer, served in the navy in World War II and
was commissioned an ensign. Vera Sammis, a graduate of Huntington High School
and Mrs. Skinner's Secretarial School, was in 1947 a student at Boston University.
SAMMIS, Alfred B.
Architect of Huntington, New York, born June 14, 1879, represents the eighth
generation in descent from John Sammis (1640-1693). He is the son of Charles G.
Sammis and Lucy E. Sammis. He married Marjorie Andrews of Conneaut, Ohio, and
has one son, Alfred B. Sammis, Jr.
Bob Sammis (requester)
The citizens of Suffolk County associate the name of Isidore
Scheinberg not only with the legal profession but with vital, civic, welfare
and religious work. Successful as a lawyer, Mr. Scheinberg is also a leader
among lawyers. He is a director of the Suffolk County Trust Company at
Riverhead and of the Riverhead Chamber of Commerce.
Mr. Scheinberg was born in Austria on January 20, 1900, the son of Mr.
and Mrs. Henry Scheinberg. Brought to the United States in his infancy, Mr.
Scheinberg was reared in New York City. After completing the elementary and
high school education, he attended the City College of New York and New York
University. In 1926 he was graduated from Brooklyn Law School with the
degree of Bachelor of Laws and in 1927 with the degree of Master of Laws.
The higher degree was awarded him summa cum laude.
Mr. Scheinberg was admitted to the bar of New York State in 1928. On
January 1, 1931, he joined J. Harry Saxstein in forming the law partnership
of Saxstein and Scheinberg, with offices in Riverhead. The firm flourished
until Mr. Saxstein's death on May 7, 1939. Until January 1, 1941, Mr.
Scheinberg maintained an independent practice. At that time the present law
firm of Scheinberg and Wolf was formed. Mr. Scheinberg specializes in
surrogate, corporation, banking and taxation law. Besides being a director
of the Suffolk County Trust Company, he is the Bank's Attorney. He was
appointed in the fall of 1946 as special counsel to take full charge of
preparing propositions for submission to the tax payers in connection with
acquisition of lands, developing same into parking fields and making other
public improvements in the town of Riverhead and to conduct condemnation
Prominent in the bar, he is a director of the Suffolk County Bar
Association and chairman of its committee on legislation and law reform.
Among his civic activities have been leadership in financial campaigns on
behalf of the Suffolk Council of the Boy Scouts of America and the proposed
new hospital for Riverhead, as well as for Temple Israel of Riverhead. He is
a trustee of the temple.
Mr. Scheinberg married Sophie Sturm, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Philip
Sturm of Brooklyn, in that borough on April 9, 1932. Three children have
been born to the marriage: Henry, at Southampton on July 12, 1933; Shepard
M., at Southampton, on August 18, 1937, and Hinda Lois, at Greenport on
November 12, 1944.
SCHELD, Herman C.
A native Long Islander, born at Richmond Hill, in the County of Queens, on
June 11, 1890, before that village became a part of the Borough of Queens, and
a part of Greater New York, Herman C. Scheld has remained a Long Islander both
as a businessman and as an exceptionally active and useful participant in
civic, political and religious affairs and movements for the progress and
betterment of the community.
Mr. Scheld's father, the late Louis J. Scheld, was a native of Germany, born
in 1851, who came to the United States in 1875 and engaged successfully in
farming and dairying at Richmond Hill until his death in 1904. He married
Margaret Oberglock, who was born in Richmond Hill and died in October, 1924.
The young Herman C. Scheld, after attending public school in Richmond Hill,
studied at the New York Electrical Trade School in New York City. Everything
electrical interested him, and it was inevitable that he should make the
electrical field his career. After being for several years in the employment
of various electrical companies, in 1922 Mr. Scheld, in partnership with
another man, formed the Greenpoint Electric Equipment Company, of which he
became vice-president. This association lasted until 1930 when the Geeco
Electric Equipment Corporation was formed with Mr. Scheld as president. The
offices and yards of the corporation are located on property purchased by Mr.
Scheld in 1923, in the village of Franklin Square, Nassau County. Under his
able and farseeing management the Geeco Electrical Construction Corporation
has expanded and prospered. The great volume of construction that went forward
in the suburban areas of Long Island until the shortages of material and labor
due to the Second World War caused a temporary halt, will be surpassed in the
post war era, and the Geeco concern is well prepared to get its share of this
During the first World War, Herman C. Sheld was in the armed service for nine
months with the 22nd infantry, holding the rank of sergeant. He is now a
member of Franklin Square Post, Number 1014, of the American Legion, which
post he helped to organize. He has served, and is now president of the
Franklin Square Chamber of Commerce. In the field of community affairs., Mr.
Scheld is a past president of the Munson Hook and Ladder Company of Franklin
Square, and a past president also of the Franklin Square Club. His fraternal
connection is with Morton Lodge, Number 63, of the Free and Accepted Masons.
First Among Mr. Scheld's interests, however, is the work and services of the
Lutheran denomination. He is one of the original members of the Ascension
Lutheran Church of Franklin Square, where he has been superintendent of the
Sunday School for the past twenty-four years, and where he also serves as a
councilman. His devotion to his religion has caused him to be drafted for
services to the church beyond the bounds of his own parish. He is president of
the Brotherhood of the United Lutheran Synod of New York, which is the
authority of that church for the States of New York, Connecticut, New Jersey
and a part of Pennsylvania. He is a former president and at present serves as
secretary of the Lutheran Laymen's Association of Nassau and Suffolk Counties,
and he is a member of the Lutheran Society of New York City.
In politics Mr. Scheld is a Republican, and has been a county committeeman of
that Party for the past sixteen years. His hobbies are church work and raising
On September 11, 1917, Herman C. Scheld was married to Henrietta R. Messing of
his native Richmond Hill, a daughter of Jacob and Marie (Bolk) Messing. Of
this union there is one child, a daughter, Helen Marie. She attended the
public grade and high schools of Franklin Square and subsequently took her
degree of Bachelor of Science in Education from Wittenberg College at
Springfield, Ohio. She is now teaching school at Franklin Square
SCHIFFMACHER, C. Ellis
Within five years after he had begun the practice of law, and two years after
he had established himself in Great Neck, C. Ellis Schiffmacher had achieved
such prominence that when the Kiwanis Club of Great Neck was chartered by
Kiwanis International, he was made its first president. Formerly in practice
in Manhattan, he has been in Great Neck since 1937, at first with a partner,
Mr. Schiffmacher was born at Lynbrook on November 9, 1908, the son of Joseph
Louis and Edith May Schiffmacher, the former a retired building contractor. He
first went to grammar school in his native Lynbrook and afterward to the New
York Military Academy, from which he was graduated in 1927. The following two
years he spent at Trinity College. In 1929 and 1930, he was at New York
University. He then went to St. Lawrence University and Brooklyn Law School,
receiving his degree of Bachelor of Laws in 1933.
Admitted to the bar in 1934, Mr. Schiffmacher entered practice as a member of
the staff of Weller, Rogers, Bergen and Rochford, attorneys for the Bank of
the Manhattan Company. He remained with this law firm until 1937. The year he
formed the law partnersh;ip of Dodge and Schiffmacher at Great Neck. This
continued until 1940, when he went into independent practice. His reputation
is extensive and his clientele large. Aside from the Kiwanis Club, Mr.
Schiffmacher is a member of the Great Neck Republican Club, the Sands Point
Beach and Tennis Club, the New York State Bar Association and the New York
State Title Association.
He married Rita Aletha DeVoe, daughter of William F. and Marian Luyster DeVoe,
at Baldwin, on August 18, 1934.
--Note: Edith May Schiffmacher was the sister of Calvin Abrams &
Mamie Johnson. Calvin and Mamie were Married Jan 28, 1891 and they had several
times printed in the newspaper & I am offering $10 reward for a copy of the
article titled "both in their teens", it was printed between Jan 28 & Feb 6
1891. It's not in the Sentinel,Brooklyn Eagle and Southside observer. I
currently have a copy of the article it's almost 12 inches in length and 3
inches wide, however, it's "missing" a quarter size section where
relationships are given.
It's been the most fustrating thing for over 20 years now. Edith's parents were
William Riley ABRAMS & Arthusia DOXSEY.
website of requester
SCHWENDLER, William T.
Devoting most of his life to the study and practice of
aeronautical engineering. William T. Schwendler, who resides in Farmingdale,
has been, since 1940, executive vice-president and director of the Grumman
Aircraft Engineering Corporation, one of the leading aircraft manufacturing
companes in the world. William Schwendler the son of Carl and Emilie B.
(Klein) was born April 1, 1904, at Winfield, Long Island. His father, a
native of Berlin Germany, came with his parents to the United States, in
1881, at the age of five. Emilie Schwendler, born in Winfield in 1879, died
September 28, 1927.
Mr. Schwendler received his degree of Bachelor of Science in
Mechanical Engineering at New York University in 1924. He was first employed
by the Chance Vought Corporation in the summer of 1923 as a detail
draftsman. One year later he began a career which was studded with
promotions in the Loening Aeronautical Engineering Corporation. From 1924 to
1930, a span of only six years, Mr. Schwendler rose from a detail draftsman
to a project engineer, to the chief project engineer, and finally to
assistant general manager. Then in 1930, he became one of the organizers of
the Grumman Aircraft Engineering Corporation in the capacity of chief
engineer and in 1940, in recognition of his ability and outstanding
contributions to the success of his company, he was appointed a vice
president and director, and executive vice president and director, July,
1946, to date.
He is a Fellow of the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences; a member
of the Society of Automotive Engineers; a member of the Phi Kappa Tau
fraternity; a director of the Bethpage Federal Savings and Loan Association
and a member of the North Hempstead Country Club; Honorary member of Pi Tau
Sigma, an honorary engineering fraternity. William Schwendler married Mabel
R. Jorden, daughter of William Jorden and Alwine Peiper of West Englewood,
New Jersey, on October 20, 1933, at Teaneck, New Jersey. They are the
parents of three children: 1) Olga E. born 1934, 2) Hazel A. born 1937 and
3) William T., Jr. Born 1940.
Debbie Schwendler (requester)
SEMKE, R. William
Mr. Semke has become one of the most successful businessmen in the
South Shore area of Long Island, and a key figure in the transportation
system serving a score of communities and thousands of Long Island
residents. Mr. Semke's father, John Frederick Semke, was born in Germany,
and came to this country when he was fifteen years of age. After many years
spent in the butcher business in Brooklyn, he moved to Hempstead in Nassau
County, and satisfield the desire he had long cherished to be a farmer. John
Frederick Semke, who is now dead, married Adelheid Behrje, like himself of
German nativity, and also now deceased. Their son R. William Semke was born
at Hempstead on July 30, 1897. He attended the public school at Hempstead
and also learned farming and tried his hand at a number of trades, finally
becoming a butcher and presently rising to the managership of the Circle Market.
It was in the second decade of this century that the motor bus came
rapidly to the fore as a modern means of transportation. Young R. William
Semke saw the need of such transportation among the widely-scattered South
Shore communities. Home-seekers from metropolitan New York were eagerly
thronging to Nassau County, a period of great growth of population was
evidently on the way, but this movement was restricted by the inadequacies
of transportation between places not directly on one of the branches of the
Long Island Rail Road. In 1918 R. William Semke purchased his first bus and
put it into operation between Hempstead and Rockville Centre. The public
response justified his calculations, and Mr. Semke purchased additional
buses and opened up other routes.
Today Mr. Semke is president of Semke Bus Lines, Inc.; Dileo Bus
Lines, Inc.; and Mack Brothers Transfer Company, Inc. Under these corporate
names he operates a total of twenty-eight buses, and at the present terminal
and service station located on Sewell Street in Hempstead, employs thirty
people. His brother Frederick Semke is treasurer of the three corporations;
also another brother, Nicholas E. Semke is general manager, purchasing agent
and superintendent of equipment. At this time Mr. Semke is directing the
erection of a new and improved terminal, which will also be located on
Sewell Street. Mr. Semke is an active member of the Hempstead Rotary Club.
He belongs to Morton Lodge, No. 63 of the Free and Accepted Masons and also
to the Consistory, and holds the Thirty-second Degree in Masonry. His other
fraternal affiliation is with Lodge, No. 1485, of the Benevolent and
Protective Order of Elks. In politics he is a member of the Republican
party. In religion he is a Lutheran and a member of the Church of the
Epiphany of that denomination.
On June 10, 1925, R. William Semke was married to Anna Rohdenburg, a
daughter of Henry G. and Martha (Hashagen) Rohdenburg. Mrs. Semke's father
for many years operated the Hempstead Pure Food Market, a very well-known
and successful business establishment.
SHAW, Frederick W.
A native of Oceanside and the son of a native of that brisk little Nassau
County village, Frederick W. Shaw has found his birthplace and home
community the satisfactory setting of a career that has brought him success
in the legal profession and in the banking business, and has made him one of
the leading and most highly regarded of Oceanside's citizens.
Mrs. Shaw's father was the late Lorenzo D. Shaw, born in Oceanside and for
many years prior to his death in 1944, superintendent of public schools in
that village. Lorenzo D. Shaw married Eliza A. Wood, a native of Baldwin,
Nassau County, who is still living. Of this marriage Frederick W. Shaw was
born on December 15, 1887. His education began in the public school of
Oceanside, continued at the high school in near-by Rockville Centre from
which he graduated with the class of 1907. The law was his early choice of a
career, and he prepared himself for that profession at Syracuse University
in Syracuse, New York, where he took his degree of Bachelor of Laws in 1910.
In the following year he was admitted to the bar.
Mr. Shaw hung out his shingle in his native Oceanside and there he has
continued to have his office as well as his residence to the present time.
In his practice he has represented many important clients, and his standing
is high at the bar of Nassau County.
Mr. Shaw has long been a leader in the banking field in that section of the
county, and is today the president and a member of the board of directors of
the Oceanside National Bank, the only banking institution in that village.
Organized in 1923, the Oceanside National Bank in 1928 moved into the
handsome modern bank building which it continues to occupy today. In
addition to Mr. Shaw the officers are Christian Binner, vice president;
Rufus H. Smith, vice president; Oliver Proctor, vice president; Ferdinand
Rebenstreit, cashier; Louis B. Krummenacker, assistant cashier; and the
directors are given as Christian Binner, Fred Shaw, John A. Wright, Frank
Ploth, Rufus H. Smith, Sanford Story and Ferdinand Hebenstreit.
Mr. Shaw is a member of the Episcopal Church, in which he sits on the board
of trustees. In politics he is an independent.
On August 17, 1913, Frederick W. Shaw married Eleanor Pearsall, of
Oceanside, a daughter of Alexander A. and Eleanor (Ghee) Pearsall. Of this
marriage one child has been born, a daughter, Winifred, who is now the wife
of Leon Cota, of Oceanside, by whom she is the mother of a son, John Frederick.
SIBEN, Sidney R.
Still well on the youthful side of middle age, Sidney R. Siben of
Central Islip and Bay Shore is concededly a leader of the Suffolk County
bar, and as a trial lawyer specializing in criminal cases is noted far
beyond the borders of that county and is considered in fact one of the
ablest advocates in the state of New York.
A native of Central Islip, Suffolk County, Mr. Siben is a son of Max
and Bessie (Bean) Siben. His father, a native of Russia, now a retired
merchant, came to the United States in 1890 and settled in Framingham,
Massachusetts. There Sidney Robert Siben was born on February 11, 1911. He
attended and graduated from the Eastern District high school in the borough
of Brooklyn, New York City, after which he attended New York University in
that city, taking his degree of Bachelor of Science there in 1931. Having at
this time decided that the legal profession was his vocation, he continued
his studies at the New York University Law School, where he received the
degree of Bachelor of Laws in 1933.
Admitted to the bar of the State of New York in 1934, Mr. Siben
established himself in the general practice of the law in Central Islip and
in Bay Shore. Here he has built up a lucrative practice, specializing, as
noted above, in trial work and criminal cases. In addition, Mr. Siben serves
as legal representative for the Veterans Administration for Suffolk County.
In 1938 he accepted public office as assistant county attorney for Suffolk
County, and continues to serve in this position at the present writing. He
belongs to the Suffolk County Bar Association and the New York State Bar
Association, and also holds membership in the American Bar Association and
New York County Lawyers Association. He has been a member of the Suffolk
County Association for the past ten years.
During the Second World War, Mr. Siben served in the court martial
division of the Engineer Corps of the United States Army. He is affiliated
with the Bayshore Chamber of Commerce, and was elected president of the Law
Alumni of New York University.
Active in local business and civic affairs, Mr. Siben serves as vice
president and as a member of the board of directors of the Chambers of
Commerce at Central Islip, and also belongs to the Lions Club, in which
group he holds the office of secretary. He belongs to the American Legion
and is attached to the veterans service office of that organization. He also
serves as vice president of the Ross Sanitarium and is president of Middle
Country Realty Corporation, one of the largest investment realty
corporations in Long Island. He is fond of outdoor life and finds his
recreation in golf, boating and fishing. He is associated with the Suffolk
County Baseball League and acts as attorney and first vice president of the
Sidney R. Siben has three brothers, namely David W., Walter and Aaron
Siben. During the Second World War David W. Siben, who lives in Bay Shore,
served with distinction in the United States Army. He was awarded the Silver
Star and three Purple Hearts for his gallantry in action, and is now
classified as a disabled veteran. Walter Siben, who was born at Central
Islip, also answered the call to the colors of the United States Army. He is
now a practicing attorney and counselor at law associated with Sidney Siben.
Aaron Siben has also served in the United States Army, and is a college
In the city of New York on March 25, 1936, Sidney Robert Siben married
Estella Suffin, a daughter of John and Elizabeth Suffin. Sidney Robert and
Estella (Suffin) Siben are the parents of two children; 1. Stephen, who was
born in Bay Shore, Suffolk County, New York, in March 1938. 2. Constance,
born at Bay Shore in June, 1941.
As a business executive and progressive citizen John Somyak has made his
mark in the Rockaways section of Long Island. Starting as a newsboy as a lad,
he has devoted more than forty years' service to the public in the distribution
of newspapers and other publications on an ever increasingly large scale.
Patriotic and civic-minded, he has gone actively into politics and is one of
the notable Democratic party leaders in his home county.
Mr. Somyak was born in Baltimore, Maryland, on February 10, 1889, son of
John and Teresa Somyak his father an expert cabinetmaker who, reared abroad,
received the usual compulsory European training. Seeking a larger freedom
and opportunity he came to the New World and ultimately settled in the upper
South. Their son of this account was educated in the public schools and
began to contribute to his own livelihood at the age of thirteen years, as a
newsboy. When fifteen years old he secured the agency for "The Evening
Journal," and, as has been indicated, Mr. Somyak went on to acquire the
exclusive rights for the distribution of all new York, Brooklyn and Long
Island papers, daily and Sunday editions, extending east over the whole of
Long Island from he city line to the end of the island, both north and
south shores. All this was not accomplished in a day or months, but by work
covering four and more decades. In 1925 he organized the Rockaway News
Supply Company, a corporation of Rockaway Beach, of which he is the
president and driving force. In 1933 Mr. Somyak built the present plant at
Valley Stream, which is the official headquarters of the above-mentioned
To public affairs Mr. Somyak has devoted a great deal of his time and
energies. No worthy project that makes for the benefit of Long island and
especially of the Rockaways fails to enlist his hearty cooperation and
frequent leadership. He was the "Democratic party leader of the Rockaways"
and was president of the West End Democratic Club, and the founder of the
John Somyak Democratic Club. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Elks
Club, belongs to the New York Athletic Club, and worships at St. Francis de
Sales Roman Catholic Church, of Rockaway Park.
At Detroit, Michigan, on January 31, 1915, John Somyak married Anna Gordon,
daughter of Meyer and Rose Gordon. Mr. and Mrs. Somyak are the parents of
three children: 1. Arthur John, born June 27, 1917. 2. William Henry, born
August 4, 1921. 3. Alice Elaine, born November 16, 1923.
email@example.com (Requester: Janiced Somyak)
STONE, Mead Wilmer
As co-owner of George Malvese and Company of Garden City Park, Mead
Wilmer Stone is contributing much to the agricultural, commercial and
industrial development of a large section of Long Island, for his firm is
one of the largest of its kind--a farm and construction machinery
organization. He is a director of the Central National Bank of Mineola and
of the Bank of Hempstead. He is a leading Rotarian of the Mineola Garden
City area. During World War I he was an officer in the United States Navy.
Mr. Stone was born on Staten Island on March 5, 1893, the son of Medad
Elisha and Emma Sterling (Bones) Stone. The elder Mr. Stone was President
of the Tucker Company, wholesale hardware firm with headquarters at 75
Murray Street, New York City. Mead W. Stone was educated in the Staten
Island Academy, from which he was graduated in 1909, and at Cornell
University, from which he received the degree of Mechanical Engineer in
On completing his education, Mr. Stone became a research engineer for
the Studebaker Corporation. He was with this concern until 1917, when he
entered the Navy as a lieutenant junior grade. He served with the Navy until
1919. After his discharge, he joined the staff of the Cleveland Tractor
Company, Cleveland, Ohio, as a sales engineer. On January 1, 1923 he formed
a partnership with George Malvese and they have been in business together
ever since. Their present location is on the Jericho Turnpike at Garden City
Park. Mr. Stone attends the Cathedral of the Incarnation at Garden City.
Mr. Stone married Lillie Seemann, daughter of Frederick C. and Elise
(Garbe) Seemann, at New Brighton, Staten Island, in May, 1917. They have
four children: Elise Emma, now Mrs. C. Robert Bell; Mead Wilmer, Jr., Jean
and William Frederick. The Stone family makes its home at Garden City.
SWENSON, Jr., M.D., Albin W.
One of the younger physicians of Suffolk County, whose career began
with a long tour of active duty in the medical corps of the United States
Navy, Dr. Albin W. Swenson, Jr., has, since his release from the service,
established himself in private practice at Patchogue, and has already won
the confidence of a widening circle of patients, and demonstrated his sound
qualifications arising from a thorough grounding in medical science, as well
as from his invaluable wartime experience.
Dr. Swenson's father, Albin W. Swenson, Sr., is a native of
Rutherford, New Jersey, and employed by Crucible Steel Company of America,
with his office in Harrison, New Jersey. He married Frances B. Pinchin, a
native of that city, and there on December 15, 1915, their son, whom they
named for his father, was born. Prior to moving permanently to Sayville, the
Swenson family for some twenty years had spent their summers there. Albin
W., Jr., began his education at St. Lawrence's Parochial School in Sayville,
and continued it at St. Francis Xavier High School in New York, from which
he graduated before entering Fordham University in that city. From Fordham
he received the degree of Bachelor of Science upon graduating with the class
of 1937. Having already decided upon a medical career, he studied at the New
York Medical College, connected with the Flower Fifth Avenue Hospital, in
New York, and from this institution received his degree of Doctor of
Medicine in 1941.
After an internship at St. Mary's Hospital in the borough of Brooklyn,
New York City, Dr. Swenson entered the United States Navy Medical Corps as a
member of the United States Naval Reserve. Holding the rank of a lieutenant
commander, he saw active service in the European Theater of Operations,
being present at four invasions, and later he also served in the Pacific
Theater. He received his honorable discharge on April 4, 1947, and shortly
thereafter opened his office in Patchogue.
Dr. Swenson is a member of the medical staff of the John T. Mather
Memorial Hospital at Port Jefferson, Suffolk County, and Southside Hospital.
He belongs to the Suffolk County Medical Society and to the American Medical
Association. Fond of outdoor sports, he holds membership in the Bellport
Country Club at the Long Island village of that name, and his favorite
recreation is a game of golf.
On June 9, 1941, Albin W. Swenson, Jr., was married at Bay Shore, to a
Genevieve Gardner of Brightwaters, who is a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. C.
McCarthy. Of this union there are two children: 1) Karen born 1943 and 2)
Albin W. III, born 1947. Both of these children were born at St. Mary's
TOMPKINS, Howard C.
The role of the civil engineer and surveyor has obviously been an important
one3 in the recent decades of the phenomenal growth of Nassau and Suffolk
counties as a suburban area and a region of homes, business centers and new
industries small and large. The firm of George H. Walbridge Company of
Babylon has long been engaged in this vital work of remodelling eastern Long
Island, transforming it from a region of broad farms and leisurely villages
into an aggregation of alert, brisk, very much up to the minute communities.
Since the death of Mr. George H. Walbridge, this old firm continues
operations under his name but under the capable direction of Howard C.
Tompkins and Bazil C. Kime.
Howard C. Tompkins was born on December 16, 1881, at Chicago, Illinois,
during his parents' temporary stay in that city in connection with his
father's business. The late George W. Tompkins was a native of Poughkeepsie,
Dutchess County, New York, who was associated with the mercantile business
of Wilson Brothers of Chicago. His death occurred in Brooklyn, New York, and
he is buried there. His wife, and mother of Howard C. Tompkins, was the
former Jeanette Campbell of Voluntown, Connecticut, a daughter of Dr. Harvey
Campbell, whose father was also a physician in Voluntown. Dr. Harvey
Campbell served for some time in the Senate of the Connecticut State Legislature.
Howard C. Tompkins attended and graduated from the Cascadilla School at
Ithaca, New York, and later attended Cornell University in that same city,
from which he was graduated in 1903, with the degree of Civil Engineer. For
a time he practiced as an industrial engineer at Baltimore, Maryland, in
partnership with Richard K. Meade. The Baltimore period of his experience
extended from 1910 to 1920. In the latter year Mr. Tompkins came to Long
Island to enter into association with the late George H. Walbridge at
Babylon in Suffolk County, where he also established his home. Following Mr.
Walbridge's death, in 1931, Mr. Tompkins took over the business and
continued its successful operation. In 1945 he formed a partnership with
Bazil C. Kime, and these two competent civil engineers and surveyors today
constitute the ownership and management of George H. Walbridge Company, ably
maintaining the standards established by the founder of the firm many years
ago. Mr. Tompkins is a member of numerous engineering societies. His
religious affiliation is with the Episcopal Church.
In the borough of Brooklyn, New York City, on October 6, 1909, Howard C.
Tompkins married Lu Harrison, a native of Brooklyn and a daughter of
Americus Harrison and his wife. Of this marriage there are two children: 1)
John H., who was born at Brooklyn, New York, in 1912. After graduating from
the high school at Babylon he entered Princeton University at Princeton, New
Jersey, from which he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts, on graduating
with the class of 1933. During World War II John H. Tompkins served in the
United States Army, which he entered as a private. While in active service
in the Pacific Theater of Operations he was advanced to the rank of captain,
which he held at the time of his honorable discharge. He is now employed
with the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey. He is married, his wife being
the former Hope Coffey of Babylon, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Coffey.
This young couple are the parents of one child, Hope, who was born at the
Brooklyn Hospital in Brooklyn, in October, 1942.
Also 2. Janet, who was born in Baltimore, Maryland, on November 28, 1916.
She graduated from the Babylon High School and subsequently married Sherman
Hoyt of Cooperstown, New York, the ceremony occurring in 1940. Of this union
there is one child, Sherman, Jr., who was born at New York City in July,
1942. The Sherman Hoyts now make their home in Babylon.
The Tooker name has long been prominent in Suffolk County. Ernest W. Tooker
a leader at the bar, was once assistant postmaster of Port Jefferson,
president of the Riverhead Board of Education, vice president of the Suffolk
County Trust Company and trustee of the Riverhead Savings Bank. Today his
son, Clyde Tooker practices law at River-head is a trustee of the Riverhead
Savings Bank and a man who saw service in World War I and was chairman of
the North Fork chapter of the American Red Cross blood donor service in
World War II.
Clyde Tooker was born at Riverhead on October 28, 1896. His mother was the
former Etta F. Doane. The elder Mr. Tooker was a native of Port Jefferson
and a graduate of Amherst College and Albany Law College. He had, in his
preparatory school days, attended Williston Academy at Easthampton,
Clyde Tooker was graduated in 1918 from Amherst College with the degree of
Bachelor of Arts. Four years later he was graduated from the Columbia
University School of Law with the degree of Bachelor of laws. Between
degrees he was with the United States Army Ambulance Corps, Section 599, as
a private, first class. He saw action in both Italy and France.
Admitted to the bar of New York State in 1922, Mr. Tooker established
himself in practice in Riverhead, where he now has offices at 108 East Main
Street. He specializes in surrogate court work though his practice is a
general one. In addition to his Red Cross and bank activities, he is a
leader in the Rotary Club of Riverhead. In the club year 1945-1946, he was
Rotary's president. He is also a member of the Suffolk County and the New
York State bar associations and of the Masonic order. His church is the
On March 24, 1921, at Riverhead, Mr. Tooker married Amy L. Luce, daughter of
Orvis H. and Winifred L. (Hallock) Luce, the former once president of the
Suffolk County Trust Company. Mr. and Mrs. Tooker are the parents of three
children: Elisabeth J., born August 2, 1927; Robert L., born June 21, 1929,
and Margaret A., born January 12, 1933. The first two are graduates of the
Riverhead High School. The eldest, Elisabeth was in 1946 a student at
Radcliffe College, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Mrs. Tooker graduated in 1917
from Cornell University with the degree of Bachelor of Arts and is a
graduate of Smith College. She has been serving for a number of years on the
Riverhead Board of Education; is a member of the Suffolk County Young
Women's Christian Association and the Red Cross home service; is co-chairman
of the general canvas for the Riverhead Hospital Drive and a member of the
Riverhead Library Association.
WOOD, Clarence Ashton
A member of the New York State bar, has attained an established reputation
as a painstaking researcher and narrator in the field of Long Island
History. A native of Long Island, among his ancestors on his father's side
was a King's attorney on nearby Martha's Vineyard. "Squire" Frederick Chase,
one time keeper of Little Gull Island lighthouse who first envisaged what is
now Shelter Island Heights, was his great-grandfather. His paternal
grandfather, Captain Jarvis Wood, a whaler of Greenport, was a descendant of
Jonas Wood, an early settler at West Hills in Huntington town.
Born in Setauket, September 16, 1873, Clarence Ashton Wood was the son of
Carrie J. (Smith) Wood, of that place, and John Oakley Wood, a seaman of
Greenport. Soon after his mother's death, when he was but little more than
four, his sea-going father was accidently drowned at Hampton Roads. The
orphan was cared for by an aunt and then by his grandfather at Greenport
until he was thirteen.
At Southold, where he again now resides, the lad lived among other than
blood relatives on the farm of Eli W. and Julia (Tuthill) Howell. When not
yet seventeen, he became the teacher of the village school at Quogue, in the
fall of 1890. After a year in this obscure post, he ascended life's ladder
step by step, first at Laurens in Otsego County as principal of a small
school and then as principal of Pompey Academy near Syracuse. In that
historic institution, Jennie Jerome, the American mother of Winston
Churchill. Great Britain's wartime prime minister, received her first schooling.
By his own unaided efforts, this scion of Long Island mariners attained a
dozen academic degrees, including graduate degrees in the field of pedagogy,
theology, philosophy and law. He is a Bachelor of Divinity, Master of Arts,
of Pedagogy and of Law twice over and a Doctor of Philosophy. He graduated
at Oneonta State Normal College. Albany State Teachers College, University
of Buffalo, American University, University of Maine, Illinois Wesleyan
University, Syracuse University and University of Chicago.
After an absence of more than half a century forty-two of those years in the
service of the state. Mr. Wood in the fall of 1943 returned to his native
Island and now maintains a home in the village of Southold, about a mile
from the farm on which he lived in his youth. In the month of his return to
Long Island, there appeared in the "Long Island Forum" an article about the
first train to Greenport in 1844 written by Mr. Wood while still in Albany.
This account of the extension of the Long Island Rail Road through the
island found appreciative readers in every part of the country and is now
considered an essential item of Long Island's printed history.
Mr. Wood has been twice married, first to Mary Ann Page of Oneonta, a
classmate there. After her death and his return to Southold, he married
Clara Adelia Horton, a contributor during many years to island and
metropolitan newspapers. She died July 4, 1947. He has four married
daughters, eight grandchildren and a great-granddaughter. The daughters are
Mrs. John O Russell, of Syracuse, New York; Mrs. Laurence M. Warner, of
Roselle Park, New Jersey; Mrs. Cora Wood Becker of Cambridge, Massachusetts:
and Mrs. George R. Raab of Rockville Centre
Practicing law in Hempstead since 1926 and before that for a number of
years in New York City, Jeremiah Wood is a well-known figure in the life of
this community and its vicinity. In addition to this he is well-known in the
political circles, having been among oher things lieutenant-governor of the
State of New York. He holds many other important positions in Nassau County
Jeremiah Wood was born in New York City, September 27, 1876, the son of
Jeremiah Morgan and Mary S. (Patterson) Wood, both born in New York City,
and both deceased. His father was assistant postmaster of New York City and
later a deputy collector and cashier of the Custom House.
When Mr. Wood had attended the public schools of his birthplace and had
graduated from Brooklyn High School, he attended Brooklyn Polytechnic
Institute and then went to the Law School of Columbia University from which
he was graduated in 1898 with the degree of Bachelor of Laws.
After being admitted to the bar of the State of New York, Mr. Wood was
engaged in the practice of law in New York City up to 1926. In that year he
moved to Hempstead as the senior partner of firm of Wood, Gehrig and
Wilklow, and has been engaged in the general practice of law here. In
connection with his profession he is a member of the Nassau County Bar
Association. Other business ventures are as director of the Central Nassau,
Inc. and president and director of Franklin Shops, Inc.
A member of the Republican party, he was a member of the New York State
Assembly in 1912, lieutenant-governor of New York State in 1921 and 1922
attorney for the State Controller on transfer tax matters in Nassau Counmty
from 1914 to 1920 and attorney for the Town of Hempstead from 1926 to 1938.
He is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, Lynbrook Lodge, and
he worships at the Methodist Church.
On June 18, 1900, Jeremiah Wood married Cora E. Stacy in Brooklyn.
firstname.lastname@example.org (Janet Wood - Requester)
WYSONG, Charles N.
An attorney for nearly forty-five years, of which close to forty years have
been spent in Nassau County. Charles N. Wysong stands in the first ranks of
the elder generation of lawyers practicing at the bar of that county.
A native of Forest Hill, Harford County, Maryland, where he was born on June
15, 1881, Mr. Wysong was brought to Long Island in childhood and attended
the public school of Port Washington and the Friends' Academy before
preparing, with a private tutor, to enter the Law School of Columbia
University, where he studied until 1902. He graduated and received his
degree of Bachelor of Laws, however, from the New York Law School. Admitted
to the bar in 1903, he began his practice in New York City in association
with Eastman and Eastman. Later he was associated with the Title Guarantee
and Trust Company and with the New York Title Company in that same city. In
the year 1905 Mr. Wysong joined the firm of Payne and Scudder of Mineola,
Nassau County. Later he established his office in Port Washington, where he
has continued in independent practice until the present time, representing
many important clients.
Mr. Wysong, a Democrat in politics, has twice held public office, first as a
justice of the peace of the town of North Hempstead, and later, from 1910
to 1913, as district attorney of Nassau County, an office of great
responsibility. He is a member of the Nassau County Bar Association and of
the New York State Bar Association. He is a director of Port Washington
National Bank and Trust Company and vice president and trustee of Roslyn
Savings Bank. His clubs are the Columbia University Club of New York City
and the Manhasset Bay Yacht Club. Mr. Wysong is an ardent Mason, a member of
Lodge No. 1010 of Port Washington, Free and Accepted Masons, of the
Consistory, and of Kismet Temple of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of
the Mystic Shrine, located in the borough of Brooklyn, New York City. A
Protestant Episcopalian in religion, Mr. Wysong holds the office of senior
warden of St. Stephen's Church.
On June 2, 1909, Charles N. Wysong was married to Eleanor McCurdy Wysong. Of
this union there are two children: 1. Charles, Jr. 2. Betty Forrest.
Tregellas@cox.net (Kim Tregellas - Requester)
Source: Long Island- A History of Two Great Counties Nassau and
Suffolk..Personal and Family History. Vol: III
Publisher: Lewis Historical Publishing Co., Inc...New York
Transcribed by Miriam Medina
Return to LONG ISLAND Main
Return to BROOKLYN Main